It was Going to the Garbage…now it’s Going to the Garden

Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without.

That’s my recently adopted credo.  So, instead of automatically throwing something out, it goes into my let-me-find-something-to-make-out-of-it pile.

The other day I eyeballed this mini blind.

1-27-09

It had a few broken slats and the twisty wand to open and close the blind had broken off and the string was broken so it wouldn’t go up and down smoothly.  I think we can say it was used up and worn out.  I didn’t want to make it do (it was pretty grungy).  And I couldn’t do without (I’m not a latent exhibitionist), so I had to replace the blind with a new one.

But I didn’t throw it away.  I’ve been reading how you can use old mini blinds to make plant markers with them, so that’s what I did. When I dismantled the blind, I had the slats and a little bit of string.  I haven’t thought of anything to do with the rest of the mind blind.

1-27-09 (2) 

I cut both ends of the slats off at the point where the little hole is that the string was threaded through and I cut the remainder of the slat in half.  You can really bend it back and forth and it will break right in the middle.  Then I cut a point on one end of the slat. 

So, now I have the large size for outside in the garden and the smaller size for inside in the transplant trays or the individual transplant pots.

A while ago I used empty cans to make pen holders.  I used some raised surface border paper (thrift store, 60 cents brand new), water color paint and a sponge.

1-27-09 (3) 

And this is what I came up with.

DSCN1909 

So, now I have some free plant markers and someplace to store them.

DSCN1914 

One more item kept out of the landfill.

Happy Gardening!!!!

5 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    January 28, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Now, that’s a very good use for those blinds…..Cool! Dang, that makes me wish I had some old blinds laying around….I’m impressed. I’ll have to remember that one.

    EG

  2. melissa said,

    January 28, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Oh Cheryl,
    First and foremost that was very cute 🙂 I enjoy reading your blogs so I am glad that you are indeed a blogaholic. Second what pretty pen holders the people at your office must love it, especially since you have enough to share! And your new motto is very nice, it is not something that I would have thought of but making plant markers out of shade’s very creative.
    Good Job 🙂

  3. gardengoodies said,

    January 28, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    EG-Well gosh, Kind Sir, I’m flattered. Since I can’t start growing a bunch of plants like some people I know (wink, wink), I’m finding other things to keep me busy.

    Melissa-That’s what the “old folks” used to say. Wait. Before you say it, I know I’m “old folks” to you (ha, ha, ha). I’m talking about great-great-grandama old folks. And since work is slow right now, I’ll be on the lookout for more cute little projects

  4. January 29, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Isn’t this fun? I wish I’d thought to save my mini blind slats…oh, wait! I have two at the windows right in front of me that need to be shortened! It looks like about ten years worth of plant markers there! I have been saving disposable plastic forks spoons and snapping off the handles to use as markers, but I don’t get those too often.

    I’m buying and drinking Campbell’s Soup at Hand like mad, as I have a project coming up using the containers. If it works as I think it will, stay tuned for the blog around mid-February.

    Granny

  5. gardengoodies said,

    January 29, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Soup cans, huh? You know I’m trying to guess what it is, but I’m drawing a blank. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I know it will be good.


Leave a comment