Snowmageddon_02-02-2011

No, I didn’t fall off the face of the earth.  No, I’m not laying in a coma unable to log into my blog.  And, no, I didn’t get buried by

SNOWMAGEDDON

Too bad my niece can’t say the same about her and her neighbors’ cars

WGN was looking for a name for the storm.  They’re calling it the Storm 2011, but I like my niece’s word much better.

SNOWMAGEDDON

We had predictions of anywhere from 12 to 31 inches of accumulation. At Midway the official total is 20.2 inches and counting.  Mother Nature is a force to be reckoned with.  The city had to close down Lake Shore Drive, which is the equivalent of an expressway that travels along Lake Michigan’s shoreline.  At about 7:15 last night, there was a bus involved accident followed by two more accidents, so the city closed down the Drive.  There were many motorists trapped in their cars, and the first reported fatality happened when someone was fond dead this morning along Lake Shore Drive.  A snow emergency has been declared as of this morning.

When I looked out the front window it didn’t look so awful, mainly because I live on a main street and the city keeps the main streets plowed.   But when I walked around the corner to see how bad the snow was on the car port, I got a real feel for the snowfall and the snow drift depth.  I’m almost six feet tall, and the snow in some areas was past my knees.   I made it to the alley and looked at my garage.  My blood started to boil.

Here’s my neighbor’s car port.  Not bad at all.  She can just drive straight out of her garage.  

Here’s my car port

The epitome of RUDENESS!!!.  I like my neighbor, she’s a nice lady, but her snow removal people shot all of her snow right onto my car port.  At least four feet of solid snow on my car port thanks to those rude a%$#ed people.   I swear, I don’t know what I would have done if I had caught them in the act.   I did walk around the corner and tell my neighbor about it.  I prefaced it with “I don’t blame you because you didn’t do it, but…” 

(Walking through knee deep snow will let you know just how out of shape you are.  I sound like I’m about to have a heart attack on the video.)

This is what my back yard looks like.  Notice the almost buried composter.

Also notice the tomato seedlings.  I went to Aldi’s and bought some of the Campari tomatoes.  I usually don’t buy tomatoes because the store bought ones just don’t compare to the ones you grow, but these were actually really good.  I know they’re hybrid, only commercial growers can buy the seeds, but I’m giving them a try. 

They were planted on the 18th three or four seeds to each little compartment.  By the 25th almost all the seeds had germinated and as of today just about all of them have their true leaves.  

I need to thin them out, either cutting some of them to the soil level or, which I will probably do, separate them and put them in their own little pots.

Now, joy of joys, we get to look forward to wind chills of possibly -30 rolling in tonight.

Happy Gardening Appreciating Not Being In Chicago!!

 

8 Comments

  1. meemsnyc said,

    February 2, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    It’s nice to see your seedlings growing while there is a blizzard outside! We were lucky this time and didn’t get much snow, moreso we got rain and sleet. Winter go away already!

  2. February 2, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    My sentiments exactly.

  3. Liisa said,

    February 2, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Good to see you posting!

  4. February 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    On Twitter people came up with some funny names for the storm. I liked Snowprah, SnowtoriousBIG and SnOMG. BTW, on Saturday (Feb 12) there’s a seed swap at the Chicago Cultural Centerr. If you’re interested in attending the details are on my blog attached to this comment. Look for the post with the picture of the bean.

    • February 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm

      I saw your AUA message and signed up for it today.

      SnowtoriousBIG..love that one

  5. April 12, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Let me know how the Campari tomatoes turn out. I couldn’t get mine to germinate last year.

  6. April 12, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Sure will. They’re growing fine. I just wish it was warm enough to put them outside. I’ll have to make time to post some pictures soon.


Leave a Reply

