Harvest Monday_9-20-10

I’ve been kind of MIA…spending more time working.  Didn’t want to let another Harvest Monday go by, though, so here’s what I’ve harvested over the past two weeks:

Before we get to  the current stuff, here’s one I missed last time..08-31-10 (2) …two of the last cantaloupes.  I’ll update my harvest tally (eventually) to show the weights, but both of these were ripe and juicy.  They’re worth growing, even with the aggravation of dealing with those *&^# squirrels.

Over the last two weeks I’ve harvested tomatoes, peppers and okra.

The big picture and the first of the smaller pictures are me having fun with my veggies.  They are the same day’s harvest.  The bigger picture looks to me like a Zulu warrior mask, and the other one looks like a crazy happy skull.  I’ve gotten kind of lazy about weighing and photographing everything, so I know I missed at least a couple cherry tomato harvests.

Picture 2 of the smaller pictures taken was a few days after I pulled a lot of the tomato plants from the yard (9-14-10), that’s why there are small green Brandywines included.  And the bell peppers are coloring up.  They’re not sizing up, but they are getting some color. 

I’m slowly doing things here and there to get the garden ready for winter.  I picked all of the peppers (harvested yesterday, 9-19-10)…09-19-10…for a total of 11 pounds 4 ounces from the 11 plants.  Not terrible considering I’ve got enough in the freezer already to last me until next summer and I made a bunch of stuffed peppers which I froze and slowly pulled out of the freezer and consumed each and every one of them. 

I dug up the pepper plants and gave them to my friend, Master Gardener Gregory Bratton, who, by the way, was chosen as one of the 2010 Garden Crusaders in the Gardener’s Supply Company contest.  The names will be announced in November on their web site.

Gregory is doing a hoop house over the winter and he’s planning on putting the pepper plants in there to see if he’ll be able to harvest a warm season veggie in the cold temperatures of the winter in the hoop house.  It will be interesting to see what happens.

I wasn’t disappointed with the Big Berthas.09-19-10 (4) These three were growing on one plant, and the biggest two were 9.3 ounces and 9.l ounces.  The actual plant was at least five feet tall.  I’m six feet and it came to just past my shoulders.  I’ll be hunting down this variety next year (hybrid, won’t save seeds).

I also picked yesterday some collards from my one remaining plant and some of the Russian kale (which I was so anxious to cook I forgot to photograp), some stalks of celery from the three plants…

09-19-10 (5) …which weigh next to nothing when you remove the leaves from the stalks, and a few pods of okra, which went into the pot with the greens. 

I’m down to cherry tomatoes, Swiss chard, and waiting as long as I can for the sweet potatoes.  EG harvested his sweet potatoes and did great.  I’m hoping I’ll get something decent when mine are harvested.

That’s it for my latest harvests.  Share what you’ve harvested.  Stop by Daphne’s Dandelions, link up with Mr. Linky, and tell the blogosphere what you’re harvesting in your neck of the woods.

Happy Gardening!!

12 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    September 20, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Wow, you did great with bell peppers this year! It’s good to hear that the last 2 cantaloupes tasted great, even if the squirrels were a real nuisance…Can’t wait to see your sweet potatoes later!

  2. September 20, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I loved the video. All that anticipation to see what you’re going to come up with next. I don’t think I’ll ever hear anybody else say, “Dang, this one’s too big” referring to a sweet potato. LOL.

  3. Daphne Gould said,

    September 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Those peppers look wonderful. I wish I had that many to freeze for winter soups. Yum.

  4. Emily said,

    September 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    What fun harvest photos. Your melons look awesome too.

  5. debiclegg said,

    September 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I love the ART WORK that you create from your harvest!! My kids are fascinated!! Your Big Bertha peppers did great! I was impressed with the size of some of mine.

  6. kitsapFG said,

    September 20, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    You got a really nice pepper harvest over all! Fun pictures too. You are very creative in your presentations of your harvest. 😀

  7. thyme2garden said,

    September 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I love your harvest art! I’m still waiting for my one melon (well, technically two, but the second one is much smaller), but yours look great. All those peppers and tomatoes are impressive!

  8. September 21, 2010 at 5:35 am

    Thanks, everybody. And an extra thanks to you, Daphne, for coming up with the idea and hosting Harvest Monday. I’ve had to cut down on my gardening and blogging time so that I can concentrate on getting more work done…to make up for playing in the dirt all summer 😉 but I thoroughly enjoy catching up on Harvest Mondays.

  9. September 21, 2010 at 8:35 am

    You have won the award for most creative presentation of vegetables in this week’s Harvest Monday. Very cute. I’m also impressed by Big Bertha.

    • September 21, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      Awww shucks. And award for lil’ ole me? I gladly accept. (big smile on my face). And Big Bertha really lived up to her name, didn’t she.

  10. tempusflits said,

    September 24, 2010 at 4:50 am

    Late coming through here but your pictures and darling and your peppers are awesome. I had good luck with growing jalapenos. Loved them. Hope to put out more varieties next year.

    • September 24, 2010 at 5:10 am

      Thanks. Glad you did well with your jalapenos. My second batch had no heat at all. I thought they might magically transform and get hot when I cooked them (jalapeno poppers), but nope.


Leave a Reply

