You heard it here first.

Well, sorta.  Remember when I was moaning and groaning about the squirrels destroying my watermelons and I mentioned my neighbor was growing watermelons in his front yard?   (I deleted his address in the prior post out of respect for his privacy, but he later told me that he didn’t care if it was shown).

 Well, he made it onto ABC News yesterday.  Twenty full-sized melons growing in the front yard…and a spot on the evening news.  Yes, he did have much better luck with his watermelons than I did.

Happy Gardening!!

9 Comments

  1. September 9, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    How cool is that! I wish he were my neighbor.

    So…next spring will you be sitting on your front porch, spitting seeds into your lawn? I can just see it now. Cheryl spitting watermelon seeds, cucumber seeds, sweet pepper seeds. Hey, maybe we should all grow spit gardens next year!

    • September 10, 2010 at 5:14 am

      Love that name…spit garden.

      Maybe I could line the walkway with pepper plants…and have cucumbers growing up the bushes for support…have a few okra plants growing along the side of the building. Uh-oh, the wheels are spinning.

  2. meemsnyc said,

    September 10, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Oh my, that’s a lot of watermelons! Wow!!

  3. meemsnyc said,

    September 10, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I just watched the video. That is so neat that they were from seeds of a watermelon he was eating! And that it was by accident! Wow!

    • September 10, 2010 at 5:17 am

      I think it’s the coolest thing. I was really surprised that there are 20 melons there too. I’ve looked for actual watermelons when I’ve walked by and never saw any. He’s got them well hidden. I sure hope they have time to ripen before the weather gets too cold.

  4. Kathi said,

    September 12, 2010 at 4:17 am

    That’s so great! You wouldn’t guess by the picture how many watermelons there are – well, good for your neighbor, so kids don’t even think about taking some 😉 I love the leaves, they are beautiful! And I think this looks way better than a lawn…

  5. September 14, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I’ve tried to spot the melons whenever I’ve walked past, but I couldn’t see the actual melons. I’m sure the majority of the kids around here had no idea what was growing in that yard, plus they have a tall fence.

    The vines are coming out onto the sidewalk now. He won’t have to worry about cutting grass this year.

  6. tempusflits said,

    September 24, 2010 at 6:10 am

    That is amazing.

    • September 28, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      I think so too. I haven’t had a chance to run into him to see if any of the matured yet. I’m so curious.


Leave a Reply

