Harvest Monday_August 30, 2010

There’s slim pickin’s ‘roun these ‘ere parts.  Not a whole lot to show off for this Harvest Monday, hosted by Daphne at Dandelions.  But will I let that stop me?  Never.  And you should participate too.   Remember, all harvests, big and small.

I’m down to cucumbers, tomatoes, a few beans and the occasional greens.  I let my disgust with the squirrels affect my judgment again.  I didn’t realize how disgusted I was at the lost of my watermelons, but after that is when I cleared out the squash area, which I recently replanted with a few lettuce, chard, radish, turnips and mustards.  A few days ago, I pulled the bushy marigold and patio basil plants from the newest bed.  I also harvested the volunteer cantaloupe and cleared out the vines.  The thought today is to pull the three cherry tomatoes in that bed when the majority of the tomatoes ripen, and in the meanwhile throw some lettuce seeds in the bed.  If the mood is still with me, it will be easy enough to cover the bed and keep things going into the fall.

I kind of forgot to show the videos of the rest of the garden tour, so here they are…even though today the garden is looking much different than when the video was taken.

And the volunteer cantaloupe?  6 pounds 4 ounces of unripened almost garden goodness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yes, I put the cantaloupe’s weight into my 2010 Harvest Tally as of 08-29-10 because, well, I need all the pounds I can get.  We can also say it balances out the ripe watermelons that the squirrels got that didn’t get weighed.  2765.4 ounces which converts to 174.83 pounds harvested from my little back yard.

 There is one nice thing going on in the garden……the second round of raspberries are maturing.  I might actually get a chance to eat a few if the ants don’t beat me to them all.

Happy Gardening!!!

27 Comments

  1. kitsapFG said,

    August 30, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Our raspberries are starting their fall crop too and I am delighted as the lower on the vine summer crop was eaten largely by my husband and our chickens (they can reach the lower ones). I am hoping that I get to enjoy some of the fall crop too.

    You always display your harvest pictures so artfully. Such creativity!

    • August 30, 2010 at 8:18 am

      I didn’t know any better, so I cut the growing tip off of some of the raspberries. I probably would have ended up with more. And these are actually bigger than the earlier ones. I envy you being able to have chickens, minus the whole them eating your raspberries.

      Thanks. I figure if I’m not harvesting a bunch of pounds, I’ll compensate with a pretty presentation.

  2. August 30, 2010 at 7:56 am

    You design such interesting photos of your vegetables, I love it. Nice cantaloupe, looks delicious.

    -Brenda

    • August 30, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Thank you. I wish I had held out longer on the cantaloupe. Trust me, it was not delicious. I think in a few weeks it would have been. They really do take a long time to fully mature. I’ve got a few more and I absolutely positively will not touch them until they either separate from the vine themselves or start turning yellow. I have learned my lesson.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    August 30, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Well, even though the cantaloupe wasn’t fully ripe – it was still a good one!

    • August 30, 2010 at 8:25 am

      It was pretty. I didn’t cut it for two days because I enjoyed looking at it, but it was not good…at all. I saved the orange part anyway. I’ll use it as a smoothie base. At least the whole thing won’t go to waste.

  4. tempusflits said,

    August 30, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Lol, I’m a container gardener, and you’re throwing out more than I ever put in! Am with you though on planting fall crops, not your number, of course, but I’m hard at it.

    I think with gardening, hope springs eternal. I’m already looking forward to next year’s efforts.

    • August 30, 2010 at 9:06 am

      No, I love the idea of a fall crop. I have visions of opening the back door, walking through the snow, pulling back the cover on my raised bed and picking swiss chard and clipping off a few green onions to go with my eggs in December, January, February and March. And then going back out and collecting enough greens for a salad to go with dinner. I want to, I really do. I just need to clone myself to help get it done.

      I did have some luck with container lettuce grown under lights in the house winter before last. Hmmmmm. I need to have a conversation with my twin.

  5. Prairie Cat said,

    August 30, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Using the orange part as a smoothie base is a good idea; you might as well get from it what you can, since you put forth the effort to grow it!

    I have been slowly learning that growing something new always has a learning curve. At the very least, next year you’ll be a pro at determining when the melons are ripe!

    • August 30, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      The Big Guy must have felt truly sorry for me. I’ve been obsessively looking at the remaining melons waiting for a hint of yellow. Today when I went out to water the new seeds there was one on the fence that had turned yellow over night. Just the smallest of tugs and it came away from the vine. My neighbor’s friend was cutting the grass and got a chance to see me almost jumping for joy. And, yes, this one was good.

  6. Angela Moll said,

    August 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Thanks for the garden tour! I am so sorry the squirrels caused so much damage. They drive me nuts, they are so voracious!

    • August 30, 2010 at 3:36 pm

      I’m a little embarrassed to say, plus a little guilty, but my aim is getting better and I didn’t see any squirrels running across the fence all evening yesterday or all day today.

  7. Daphne said,

    August 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I’m so missing having fall raspberries. I love them to death. But soon I’ll plant some more.

    • August 30, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      This second crop came much earlier than last year. I remember that the few flowers that did develop never had a chance to fruit before the cold weather hit. I hope you were able to get a few canes from your old place, or at least know somebody close by with a nice healthy patch.

  8. meemsnyc said,

    August 30, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    That canteloupe looks awesome! And a volunteer too, cool! Sorry to hear about the watermelons. I know the feeling, something ate my eggplant and I’m so annoyed.

  9. August 30, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Losing the watermelons really hurt, but the one I got today totally made up for it. And a second one was ready…actually over-ready. Don’t know how that happened.

    It might be a squirrel that got your egg plant. They got mine last year, first the new baby eggplant, and then they got the blooms. I feel your pain.

  10. thyme2garden said,

    August 30, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    It was so nice to “meet” your garden through your garden video! I’m going to have to go back and watch the other video, when my internet connection is a bit better, so I don’t get the video hiccuping. (ugh, hate it when that happens) I somehow missed your harvest post last week, so just read it today. But I got you on my Google Reader now, so missed posts no more! Your Hale’s Best Jumbo seed packet looks EXACTLY like the one that I got from my random craigslist guy, but my seed germinated some weird weed (I posted about it last week, if you’re curious). Is Hale’s Best Jumbo an heirloom? Then I would love to do a seed trade with you so I can try to grow the real deal next summer. I also collected a ton of seeds from a cantaloupe I bought from the farmer’s market, but I don’t know the variety name, or whether it was an heirloom.

    • August 31, 2010 at 12:18 am

      Hate the hiccup too. I usually just walk away and then replay it and it goes smoother.

      I did a quick look for the seeds to see how many are left, but I’m not seeing the package right now.

      I definitely saw your post about the melon plant. I thought I replied to the post saying it looks like something I’ve seen growing on the street, but it could have been late at night and I fell asleep before I pressed the send button and convinced myself that I finished the comment…kind of like I’m doing now.

      I’ll look for the seeds tomorrow when I have a fresh brain to work with.

      • thyme2garden said,

        August 31, 2010 at 8:15 am

        Ha, of course you saw my post, commented, and I even responded to your comment. I think you were the first one to tell me that I most likely had a weed. It was *me* who was tired last night and couldn’t remember the comment conversation that we had. 🙂 No worries if you can’t find the packaged seeds, I thought I read in your last post that you collected seeds from the melon that you ate, in which case I thought you might have lots of seeds from that melon. Maybe you were referring to a different melon? It must have been really late last night, because I just can’t remember anything anymore!

        • August 31, 2010 at 4:52 pm

          With my fresh brain working here, I do have lots and lots of seeds from both melons (the volunteer and the one from 8-15). I’ll be glad to send you some. You can send me your address by e-mail. MoffettCSR@sbcglobal.net

  11. vrtlaricaana said,

    August 31, 2010 at 3:53 am

    I enjoyed the video of your garden, especially part on veggie bed. You grow so many different vegetables on a small area – you are using your garden space in the best possible way.
    So far I never had any luck with growing melons, I can just dream of a volunteer one.

    • August 31, 2010 at 8:13 am

      Thank you. Mel Barthalomew’s book The New Square Foot Gardener (great book, by the way) says that most plants can grow in one square foot of space, so I’m planting close together.

      I started out with four cantaloupe plants that I grew from seed, and one died. They just sat there for a long time and I thought they weren’t going to do anything. Then they took off and covered the whole fence. I think they require a lot of water.

      I’m 100 percent certain that volunteer plant came from the compost. Loves me some compost.

  12. Thomas said,

    August 31, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I’ve never seen a cantaloupe that looked quite like that on the inside. Very interesting! I wonder if it would have slipped from the vine when ripe.

    BTW – Great pics and video!

    • August 31, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      It did look kind of strange. It’s kind of hard to tell from the picture, but it looked like it started to split into two but didn’t quite separate, like a melon and an eighth of a melon on the left, and then do a mirror image on the right, if that makes any sense. If my patience had held out just a few more days I’m sure it would have been fully matured. In the last two days three of the cantaloupes on the fence have matured (and, ohhhhh, the first one was good). One of them had totally slipped from the vine and was hanging there in the stocking.

      Thank you. I’ve seen some really nice pics on your blog. Maybe there’s a video in the future??????

  13. Stevie said,

    August 31, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    love your vegetable art!

  14. debiclegg said,

    September 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Sounds like you are very busy in your garden.


Leave a Reply

