Harvest Monday_08-16-10

Harvest Monday, hosted by Daphne of Daphne’s Dandelions, a chance to post pics of the produce you’ve garnered from your garden.   Take a few minutes to visit her site and view the varied veggies grown by gardeners around the globe.

For me it’s Harvest Tuesday.  Baby needs a new pair of shoes so I have to force myself to spend less time on all things garden related and concentrate more on getting some work done.   But I couldn’t miss out on Harvest Monday since I can shamelessly show off my little harvests.  So here’s mine.  (no tally today as I haven’t taken the time to put in the numbers).

A couple brandywine tomatoes, a couple Big Bertha peppers, one squash, some cherry tomatoes.  The full sized tomatoes came from the Early Girl plant.  I took most of them off so I could harvest them before the squirrels got another one.  Horrible little beasts!!!

Harvested 8-9-10

One jalapeno pepper, okra pods, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers, squash, a few yard long beans and the first beans from the newest planting of bush beans.

A few kale, collard and brussles sprout leaves, one okra pod, one brandywine tomato, one early girl tomato, cherry tomatoes and…

…MY FIRST CANTALOUPE/MUSKMELON

This is the first melon to set.  I was walking past and noticed that the melon was on the yellow side.  When I went to pick it, the stem had already come apart from the melon.  It was perfect.  So sweet and the juices were almost as thick as syrup.  I hope the others are half as good as this one.

Happy Gardening!!

8 Comments

  1. August 17, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    What a great harvest! That melon looks sooooo good, makes me wish I’d planted some this year. I love your pictures.

    • August 18, 2010 at 5:45 pm

      Forgive me again, Guys. I thought I had responded already. Trying to play catch-up with work is frying my brain a little.

      Oh, it was sooooo good. Of course part of what made it good was that I grew it all the way from seed. Such fun.

      I’d love to see you grow some melons. You’ve got enough room to let them go crazy. They didn’t take any special care and the bugs didn’t really bother them either.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    August 17, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Nice harvest, Cheryl! Oh, I bet that cantaloupe was good….

  3. Prairie Cat said,

    August 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I wish I had enough of a harvest to make designs with! 🙂

    Congrats on the melon, it looks delicious. Hopefully there are many more tasty delights in your future.

    What do you do with your okra? Just pickle it?

    • August 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      Your day will come, don’t worry. There are a few more melons out there that I’m looking forward to.

      The only thing I use okra for is to season greens. A few of the pods got really big, but for what I use them for it doesn’t matter. I do occasionally like fried okra, so I’ll probably put the batter on a few and freeze them and see how that works out. The plants themselves are really pretty too.

  4. meemsnyc said,

    August 22, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    I love how you “pose” your veggies. That melon does look good. I have to grow melons next year!

    • August 23, 2010 at 12:15 am

      Thanks. I’m liking playing with my food.

      I’ve gotten more set melons per plant with the cantaloupes versus the sugar bay watermelons. If the squirrels don’t discover them I’m all good.


Leave a Reply

