Nature usually finds a balance…and other random thoughts.

Tomato horn worm, bad.  Braconid wasp eggs, good.Found this guy this evening as I was watering the garden.  I don’t have to worry about it now because it’s on death row.  The hornworm is a living incubator for the wasp eggs, and when the eggs hatch the worm will be dead or dieing.

A few random thought as I contemplate the wonder that is life.

Gladioli bulbs are so worth growing

You CAN grow grapes in a container

It pays to keep your camera handy.  You never know when you’ll see something totally weird but oh so cool.

Squirrels should be wiped from the face of the earthor at the very least my back yard.

Happy Gardening!!

10 Comments

  1. johanna said,

    August 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Worm – Yuck
    Gladiola – beautiful
    Grapes – cool
    Thing – hmmm
    squirrels – they should be assigned to parks only

  2. meemsnyc said,

    August 11, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Wow! I’m so impressed that you are growing grapes in a container! Amazing. Yeah, hate squirrels! We have a pack of them galavanting in our yard, and I swear they scheme together to cause havoc on our yard! That horn worm is so fascinating with those eggs on it’s back!

  3. August 12, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I only wish I could take the credit for the grapes. I saw this for sale in one of the big box stores. Mine started as a ten-inch cutting that I wasn’t sure was going to make it but now has a good amount of foliage on it. I hope in the next two years to see grapes. I would have posted a picture this morning, but the batteries died in the camera.

  4. Prairie Cat said,

    August 12, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I’ve been looking at gardening blogs lately and came across yours.

    That’s a fantastic picture of the tomato horn worm. I remember picking those things off of my aunt’s tomato plants when I was 5. They were literally as large as my hands at the time.

    Hopefully it doesn’t do too much damage before the eggs hatch!

    • August 12, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks. I like capturing little snippets of nature.

      My first reaction was to take a twig and push it off of the plant, but it wouldn’t budge. That’s when I looked it up on the computer and “they” recommended letting it stay around until the eggs hatch. I’m (mumble, mumble, mumble) years old and won’t touch them. You were pretty brave handling them at 5.

  5. Angela Moll said,

    August 14, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Nice to see a parasitized hornworm! In my garden I’ve only found them healthy and ravenous…

    • August 14, 2010 at 8:50 am

      I found another one yesterday and it had more eggs on it than the first one. I still haven’t found any just crawling around. Lucky me…so far.

  6. August 14, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Ah squirrels. I remember someone calling them tree-rats and I thought it was rather insulting to rats… but then I learned how to keep them mostly off my produce and we formed a truce until acorn raining season begins and then I try to stay out of the oak tree dripline.

    • August 14, 2010 at 8:53 am

      I bow to you greatness if you’ve found a way to live with those horrible little creatures. Care to share?


Leave a Reply

