Harvest Monday_August 9, 2010

It’s Harvest Monday, hosted by Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelions where every Monday you get to brag on you blog ‘bout the beautiful bounty you’ve been bagging from your back yard.  Leave a link at Daphne’s and then bounce by and see what others have bagged.

~  ~  ~

Not a whole lot to show off this week.  Plus I got a little lazy about documenting the harvests, so a few things got harvested but not weighed.  So far this year my  2010 Harvest Tally as of 8-8-10 is 1990.65 ounces which  converts to 124.4 lbs. so far in less than 175 square feet.  

If I had planned better I know I could have done better.  I should have mowed down the strawberries right after they finished (found this out last night), then I could have interplanted them with something.  I should have planted pickling cucumbers so they could climb on the fence.  I should have started fall season crops so they’d be ready to transplant now.    Oh, well.  There’s always next year.

Here’s one that didn’t get weighed.  Can you tell what that is?08-07-10

A Brussels sprout.  Not the nice compact head you’ll see in the grocery store.  This came from one of the two plants grown from seed that are left.  The others slowly died and were removed.

This Brussels sprout plant…08-08-10 (10)

…has only marble sized sprouts and is much taller than the other one.  I’ve read that the sprouts that mature in hot weather form loose heads.  Sprouts that mature in cool weather form tighter heads and the taste is improved.  They can even go through a frost, which will also improve their flavor.  I’m going to be patient.

I tried some of the leaves (you cook them like collards), and they weren’t terrible.  They’d blend right into a pot of mixed greens.

Speaking of collards, I’m down to two, maybe three collard plants.  They just kept croaking on me during the summer, so I pulled the others up.  The leaves are nice and big, though.  Four leaves made enough for a dinner side dish and a portion to be frozen for later.

08-05-10 (3)

Here’s something funny.  You know how trees planted near a fence will grow into the fence and it’s impossible to remove it?  Well, I have a honeydew melon that had the same bright idea.

08-08-10 (5)

I remember having to fight to get this same melon out of the hole in the fence so that I could put it in the sling.  This is what I found yesterday.  That baby is in that hole, and I can’t get it out.  What’s worse is that is the only honeydew that has set and started growing.

Don’tcha love my sling?  I didn’t have any extra pantyhose laying around and I had the time to sling the melons, so I used what I had…old mix-matched socks that have been taking up space forever.  I cut a hole in the area that would be near the front ankle and extended it to make a slit, stuck the melon in the slit and tied it to the fence.  The melon has twisted counter-clockwise where the knot that was on the top is now on the left and the part that cradles the melon is on the right.  I don’t have to worry about this one falling off, though.  I’ll have to cut it off when/if it matures.

Only two harvest pics for this week.  We have collards in the background, (clockwise), Russian kale, Early Girl tomato, cherry tomatoes, okra, a few bush beans, Armenian cucumber, squash, my first watermelon, and stevia leaves. 

08-05-10 (4)

Brandywine tomatoes (the largest was 14.3 oz), one Big Bertha and two California Wonder peppers, a couple okra pods, a couple squash and lots of cherry tomatoes.

08-08-10 (8)

I pulled out one of the squash plants to gain a little planting real estate.  I’ll throw some lettuce seeds down there, or peas.  Haven’t decided.  I’m thinking that once the watermelons ripen I will take down the other two squash plants, level the dirt and try to grow cool season greens under plastic.  Once it gets cold enough, I’ll just cut the tomatoes down to soil level.  That’s the rough plan anyway.

Happy Gardening!!

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,

16 Comments

  1. johanna said,

    August 9, 2010 at 9:49 am

    You’ve got some nice vegetable art going there also. I just finished photographing 3 kale leaves in a fan position when i came up to check the computer. Checked your blog and low and behold the same photo with collard greens. How funny. Everything looks really good.

  2. tempusflits said,

    August 9, 2010 at 10:13 am

    That’s an amazing melon story. Otherwise, it’s a good looking harvest.

    • August 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      It’s going to be interesting seeing what happens with the melon. I’m going to pretend like it’s not a big deal, but dammmmmm!

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    August 9, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Aw man….I hate it when things grow through the fencing material. I’ve had several tomatoes do the same thing – but never a melon! Hehe…That’s gonna be interesting at harvest time…

    • August 9, 2010 at 2:28 pm

      This is a first for me. And that thing grew so fast. I’m out there every day obsessing over every plant and I still missed it. Bummer.

  4. Robin said,

    August 9, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    You are doing great with only about 175 square feet. I only have about 230. One can get very creative when there is a lack of space.

    That melon is too much….can’t wait to hear how you harvest it.

    Very nice photos.

    • August 9, 2010 at 6:27 pm

      I plant stuff really close together and do a lot of inter-planting and containers, but I’d sure love to have enough space to give everything more room so things could get really, really big and I could have more, more, more.

      That melon is the craziest thing.

      Thanks. I love looking at pictures of vegetables, mine and everybody else’s.

  5. August 9, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Yummy harvest!! I love your “sling” for your melon! LOL!

    • August 9, 2010 at 6:28 pm

      Necessity is the mother of invention. I could tell you stories with some of the things I’ve made do with.

  6. thyme2garden said,

    August 9, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    OMG, I can’t believe your melon is growing through the fence hole. And that ol’ sock sling is just the best ever! I could not tell that it was a brussels sprout in that picture – I might have guessed some sort of broccoli foliage.

    • August 9, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      It might be Karma getting me. If I had left it on my neighhbor’s side when it was little it would be just fine and I (probably) would have shared with her.

      I hope it was clear in the post, but the picked brussles sprout came from the other plant, not the one pictured. I just wanted to show off this plant because it’s taller. If you zoom the screen, you can just barely see the little sprouts along the stalk.

  7. Angela Moll said,

    August 10, 2010 at 2:19 am

    Planning for a super productive garden is so hard. After the fact we can see what we should have done, but it is so hard to see it when it is the moment of doing it. It is like this for every gardener. In any case, you had a very abundant harvest, you sure know how to optimize your small space. One of my melons is doing exactly as your is, I need to get myself a sling too.

    • August 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Hopefully I’ll plan better for next year. It’s easier for me to work with a clean slate. The newest bed I absolutely love because I was able to start from scratch and plant what I wanted where I wanted, but in each of the other three I had to work around things already planted. The first bed has the Stella D’Oro daylillies, the second bed has the strawberries, and the third bed has the squash. I got the most poundage, though, from the third bed with the squash and tomatoes and earlier in the season lots of lettuce and some chard.

      I guess growing melons on a fence has its hazards.

  8. Daphne said,

    August 10, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I have to giggle at your melon. They always try to do that don’t they? If they can find an inconvenient way to grow they will. In the past I’ve grown my cucumbers in a metal mesh and they always would get stuck. This year I’ve got them on jute and they are so much easier.

    • August 10, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      I’ve got the Armenian cukes on some netting near the stairs and it’s working out fine, except now the foliage is looking terrible.

      I sure hope a couple more of the honeydews set. It would be too bad if the only one that makes it I have to share with a fence.


Leave a Reply

