A couple firsts.

First first.  I harvested my first Brandywine.

1 pound, 3.8 ounces. 

I’m going to wait for some more of these to ripen before I decide whether I like them better than the beefsteak I usually grow, because if I had to say based on this first brandywine, I’d have to say I should have planted my usual beefsteak.  But I’m not making that determination today.

That’s the first first, and here’s the second first.

After looking at this watermelon with arrested development (the one between the early girl tomato and the brandywine tomato that’s no bigger than a baseball and hasn’t grown since that crazy squirrel took a bit out of my first bigger watermelon)……I decided that I may as well cut it as see what it looked like since it obviously wasn’t getting any bigger.

A little bit of sweet pink flesh and some fully developed seeds. 

Now I’m wondering if the other sugar baby watermelon, the one that set before the squirrel incident, was ready.

It was heavy for its size and the tendril closest to the melon had totally dried.

How sad to open it up and see this.The pink flesh was nice and sweet.  Heck, the white flesh was nice and sweet.  If I closed my eyes, I couldn’t taste any difference between the white and pink.  So, what did I do?

I ate it……and it was good.

Happy Gardening!!

8 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    August 5, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    That’s a nice brandywine tomato ya got there! I really like the flavor of them, and will grow them from now on. It’s sad to see melons not fully ripe when they’re supposed to be. I’ve encountered the same thing several times.

    • August 5, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      In all honesty for the brandywine I tasted it before it had turned red. I just got a little too excited. Some of the others are turning now. I’ll try to have more patience.

      The watermelon was really tasty, so I wasn’t too disappointed.

  2. meemsnyc said,

    August 5, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Yum, watermelon! The brandywine looks great!

  3. Thomas said,

    August 5, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I’ve been really tempted to pick one of my sugarbaby watermelons as well. Since this is my first year growing them, I really have no idea how to gauge where they are at. Maybe I’ll bite the bullet this weekend and pick one of them.

  4. August 5, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I hope you have better luck than I did.

    I did read that another test for ripeness is to run your fingers over the flesh. If you feel ridges, that’s an indication of ripeness. It didn’t quite work for me, but I’ve got three more to experiment with.

    Let me know if you decide to pick one of yours. I’d love to know how it goes.

  5. Emily said,

    August 8, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Beautiful Brandywine. I’m still waiting on my big tomatoes. Another few weeks to go unfortunately.

    • August 9, 2010 at 8:04 am

      This is my first time growing the Brandywine. The first two did get kind of large, but there aren’t that many on the plant. I think next time I’ll go back to my growing on a single stem instead of letting them grow like they want to.

      I can relate to the waiting. A few weeks can be touture waiting on things to ripen.


Leave a Reply

