Squash, the tofu of the vegetable world.

Or…I found another place to hide squash.

I microwave baked a sweet potato the other day, and it was too much to eat in one sitting.  As I was getting ready to put the leftovers in the fridge, I looked over at the squash that had been picked that day.   Hmmmm.  The wheels started turning. 

I had tried mixing butternut squash into a sweet potato pie, and my sweet potato pie loving son knew with the first bite that something was different.  Could I fool him this time?  It was worth a try.

I took the leftover sweet potato and mixed it with some shredded squash that I microwaved for a few minutes.

I mixed it with the mixer, but you could still see yellow bits of squash.  That would not do.

After buzzing it in the blender there’s no evidence of the squash hiding out in the filling.  I had to hurry up and get it mixed before my son got a peek at the yellow bits because he wanted to know what I was whipping up.  “Oh, a sweet potato pie.” 

While I was at it, I mixed up a filling using just squash as a sweet potato substitute for the pie filling.

The final product tasted like rice pudding…without the rice.  Or bread pudding…without the bread.  It wasn’t terrible, but I’ll try sneaking some squash into the next rice pudding I make.

And my son, the connoisseur of  sweet potato pies, didn’t notice a thing.

Happy Gardening Sneaking in a Vegetable!!

p.s.  I just had a serving of the “squash pie” and after a couple days in the fride it’s tasting pretty good to me.

 

10 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    August 3, 2010 at 11:20 am

    I bet it was good, even with a little bit of squash snuck in there!

    • August 3, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      The sweet potato pie was very good. The squash “pie” had to grow on me. I’ll probably try it at least once more with a crust instead of the way I cooked it this time. I sure hope my sweet potatoes in the compost bin produce a few good ones.

  2. meemsnyc said,

    August 3, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Hahahahaha, what a great and yummy way to get your kids to eat veggies!

    • August 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      Wish I had thought of stuff like that when they were younger. If I had a little one to raise these days, they’d never get baby food from a jar. I’d be a food blending, food grinding mama from the first bite.

  3. thyme2garden said,

    August 3, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    What a sneaky mama you are. 🙂

    • August 4, 2010 at 7:50 am

      Well, I’m usually pretty honest, but I’ve got to get rid of those squash somehow.

  4. August 4, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I’m going to grate zucchini into my next meatloaf mixture. I’ll bet it makes it nice and moist without changing the flavor at all.

  5. August 4, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I made some mini sweet potato pies one time like this. It was AMAZING 🙂


Leave a Reply

