Harvest Monday_August 2, 2010

Another Harvest Monday has rolled around.  Time to show off your harvest, big or small.  Link up at Daphne’s Dandelions and show the blogsphere what you’re harvesting in your piece of paradise.  My 2010 Harvest as of 8-2-2010 so far is1738.4 ounces, which translates to 108.65 pounds of produce using the handy dandy ounces to pounds converter.

I’m getting cherry tomatoes and peppers and, of course, squash.    Not too much else.

I pulled the container yard long beans because the plants were expiring from the bottom up.  They’re supposed to keep on producing the whole season, but these didn’t.  I left the few plants at the base of the stairs so they can go to seed.   The okra plants are finally producing.  There’s only four plants, but that’s enough for me.  I only use the pods in greens and soup.

I was straightening up the garden the other day.  It’s nice to get paid for your hobby with organic vegetables.  I picked (clockwise) a yard long cuke, collard greens, chard, Russian kale, leaves from a turnip plant that started growing when I started watering the garden more, cherry tomatoes, patio basil, dwarf kale, and mustard greens.

Lettuce is on the way.  See that tray under the swing?  I started a few cucumbers and some lettuce.  I also threw a few seeds in some blank spots in the yard, and they’re germinating.  I’m really looking forward to garden lettuce again.

I don’t know how it happened, but I forgot to take a picture of Sunday’s harvest.  Two squash, one okra pod, a few green beans and some cherry tomatoes.

And here’s today’s harvest.  One Armenian cucumber and three okra pods.

and…

…eight bell peppers, two okra pods, and 105 cherry tomatoes.  This round of peppers are bigger than the last group I picked.  I decided to make stuffed peppers, which I’ve never made before.   The recipe called for rice, onions, tomato sauce, garlic, ground beef as some of the mian ingredients.  I didn’t have rice or tomato sauce.  I used a box of Spanish rice and a bottle of spaghetti sauce. 

They were pretty good.

 Happy Gardening!!

8 Comments

  1. meemsnyc said,

    August 2, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Ooh, that stuffed pepper looks ah-mazing. I love how you arrange things so cute for your photos!

  2. August 3, 2010 at 5:32 am

    The weather’s been cooling off in the evenings here, so I didn’t mind turning the oven on. I’m finding that cooking at home is one of the easiest ways of saving money, and growing some of your own vegetables saves even more.

    Glad you like the pictures. I aims to please, ma’am.

  3. thyme2garden said,

    August 3, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Hi Cheryl – you are so talented with arranging your vegetables for their photo-op! I like the look of that armenian cucumber. Was it tasty?

    • August 4, 2010 at 7:59 am

      Thanks.

      The first cucumuber was the biggest and fattest. It was perfect…juicy and sweet. I gave away the second one on the 7-29 picture which was fatter than the third one on the 8-2 picture. The third one was a little overripe. The seeds had started to develop and there was a slight bitterness to it. The package says they’ll grow up to three feet, but I think by then they’d taste terrible.

      The other thing is they’re growing in a pot with big drainage holes sitting on the ground. The pot is probably root bound and needs more watering because cukes require a lot of water.

      The short answer is yes they’re good, but get them before they get too big.

  4. Daphne said,

    August 4, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    You cook just like I do. If I don’t have something I improvise. I tried growing Armenian cukes last year in our dismal weather year and they just didn’t grow. I had one tiny one and that was it.

    • August 4, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      At least you’re getting a lot of cucumbers now. I don’t know what it is this year. I still haven’t planted just plain old pickling cucumbers to make pickles with, and I’m sure it’s too late now. I can’t even catch a sale good enough to make me make a trip to the store.

      Improvising is a good thing. You can come up with the most interesting dishes.

  5. August 4, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Mmmmm! Yummers 🙂


Leave a Reply

