A peek at Walking with the Dinosaurs

My little niece absolutely loves dinosaurs.  When she was little, she had decided she wanted to be a veterinarian when she grew up, but now she wants to be a paleontologist.  She can name more dinosaurs than I even knew existed.

One of the first expensive software programs I ever bought had a dinosaur theme.  Expensive twenty plus years ago was $20, when I was used to paying a few dollars for software.  It was one of those multi-level educational software programs that taught kids how to use critical thinking, how to add and subtract, how to pick out the correct words.  It had a memory game  built into it.  As you progressed through the levels, you learned little factoids about the different dinosaurs and the different time periods.   I’ve always been careful how I spent my money, but I thought this program was worth every penny it cost way back then.  When my kids outgrew it, I passed it on to my niece who had already developed this obsessive love of dinosaurs.

When I ran across the promo for Walking with the Dinosaur, I knew my niece would love it.  She was so excited when I told her about it.  We went to the show Wednesday on opening night.  I was really impressed with how much she knew about the dinosaurs.  As the guy in the show was introducing the dinosaurs by giving a description of them about when they lived, what they ate, their personal characteristics, my niece would calmly say, “That’s a stegosaurus,” or, “That’s a Torosaurus,” or, “That’s an Ankylosaurus.”  “He’s an omnivoir.  He’s a herbivore.  He’s a carnivore.” I must admit, I was a little impressed with how much she knew about dinosaurs.  Suffice it to say she thoroughly enjoyed the show. 

I enjoyed seeing her so happy and the show itself was pretty good, but I’ve got to tell you prices at the concession stand were, in my humble opinion, totally outrageous.  $5.95 for a 16 oz. bottle of sports drink.  And don’t get me started on the price of the souvenirs.  But the little girl was happy, so I’m going to say it was worth it.

Here’s a little clip from the show where mama T-Rex is rescuing her baby:

Happy Gardening making a kid happy!!

2 Comments

  1. meemsnyc said,

    July 30, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    That looks like a fun show! Concessions is ridiculous! Highway robbery!

  2. July 31, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    The show was fun, but I’m glad this week is over. I can finally get a little rest…and not fall asleep at the computer while reading blogs.

    The concession prices were crazy. I don’t feel so guilty anymore when I bring my own snacks, or at least some of them.


Leave a Reply

