Harvest Monday_July26, 2010

Okay, I’m a day late for Harvest Monday hosted by Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelions, but better late than never.  Right? 

Here’s my harvest from June 20 to the 24th.    No weight tally today.  I’ll have to enter the numbers into the database for next week.

Pictured below:  Kale, mustard greens, yard long beans, cherry tomatoes, a few sorry looking blackberries and my first okra pod.

One Armenian cucumber.  Lots of leaves on the plant, lots of flowers, only a few cukes.  They taste good, but the plants aren’t producing a whole lot of cucumbers.

This was a good day for me.  Collard greens, Russian kale, dwarf kale (which I cooked that night, and they were um-um-good).  My first mass picking of peppers.  Quantity over quality.  All the peppers (except the two Big Berthas) were all on the small/medium side.  Also I picked more cherry tomatoes, squash, celery, sage and flat parsley.

Getting down to the last of the yard long beans.  The plants were dieing/dying(?-still not sure how to spell that word) from the bottom, so I ended up pulling the plants.  A couple more Big Berthas, more cherry tomatoes, a few more blackberries and, oh, Joy, another squash.

 What does one do with an over-abundance of squash?

Undercover squash
 Hide it in a delicious frozen fruit smoothie. 

While I was making a smoothie I remembered that Toni at My Square Foot Garden Adventure put vegetables in her breakfast drink.  (If I’m misquoting you, Toni, let me know).  I was also thinking how squash, to me, doesn’t really have a taste, that it takes on the flavor of what it’s cooked with.  Then I was wondering how’d it work out if I used some of the frozen squash as a base for a smoothie.  

I put yogurt, frozen squash, frozen fruit (bananas, cantaloupe and, you guessed it, blueberries) along with enough water for the blender to rotate.  I would have used milk if I had any instead of the water.  It tasted pretty good to me.  My daughter was my unwitting test taster.  I haven’t told her yet that there was squash in the smoothie, but I know she liked it because of the loud slurps she was making getting the last few drops out of the cup with the straw.

Happy Gardening!

11 Comments

  1. meemsnyc said,

    July 28, 2010 at 12:01 am

    You put squash in your smoothie? Wow! Can you taste it?

  2. July 28, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Honestly I couldn’t taste it, neither could my daughter. And I’m not telling her either.

    You couldn’t really taste the cantaloupe either. The blueberries and the bananas had the most pronounced taste.

  3. July 28, 2010 at 12:38 am

    OMG, finally a way to get rid of some of my squash! I’ll have to try it. I’m going to freeze some zucchini cubes tonight, and have a strawberry, blueberry, zucchini smoothie tomorrow!

    Your harvest pictures are so entertaining. I’m always anxious for Harvest Monday to come, even when it’s on Tuesday, so I can see what you’ve photographed 😉

    • July 28, 2010 at 8:19 am

      I’ve sauted them, mixed them with oven baked veggies, grilled them, boiled them, sliced them thin for salad and ate them raw, baked them in squash bread. I’m challenging myself to eat mostly from the garden, or at least not to let anything that I grow get wasted. And wouldn’t you know, there were three more ready today. Gosh I miss my lettuce. I actually broke down and bought some yesterday.

      Of course I’d love to be taking pictures of bushel baskets of lettuce and potatoes and onions like some people I know.

      p.s. I re-read this post. I had said in my comment at Daphne’s for this harvest day that I had used in my post the “late for the party” line that you used in your comment at Daphne’s. I see now that I didn’t, but I sure thought about it. (That’s probably about clear as mud, but I felt compelled to get it out there)

      • July 28, 2010 at 10:31 am

        I’ll let you make the grand entrance to the party with me, but girl, your gardenball gown better not be prettier than mine!

        I’m on lettuce hiatus now. I’ll be buying it for at least a few weeks, ’cause I didn’t put up bird netting with the last batch I set out. I thought the birds had given up on eating it, but no….chomped every one of them to the ground. New ones are set in now, but it will be a while yet.

        • July 29, 2010 at 10:12 pm

          LOL. I promise my gown won’t be prettier than yours.

          The birds don’t bother too much around here. I did see one eat one of the blackberries, which was about 5 percent of the total harvest. Mostly I see them sitting on the fence with worms hanging out of their mouths.

  4. Daphne said,

    July 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Hey better late for the party than not to show up at all. I love your big harvest photo. What abundance. And I never would have thought to put zucchini in a smoothie. Today I’m having zucchini for breakfast (zucchini bread) and zucchini for lunch (tomato zucchini casserole).

    • July 29, 2010 at 10:19 pm

      I tried a zucchini smoothie this morning, and it was pretty good. Orange juice, vanilla yogurt, frozen diced zucchini and frozen blueberries. Made the zucchini casserole tonight, and Mr. G ate 3 helpings. Gave it a thumbs up!

      • July 30, 2010 at 2:27 am

        Oh, yeah. I’ve got orange juice. I’ll try that tomorrow…or technically later today. I’m still holding out for cooler weather for the casserole, though.

  5. July 29, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I have big fun showing off the veggies and seeing what other folks are growing. Such a great idea you came up with.

    Tomato zucchini casserole sounds good, but I just can’t bring myself to light the oven right now. Something to look forward to.

  6. August 3, 2010 at 8:01 am

    […] August 3, 2010 at 8:01 am (Yellow Squash) Tags: recipes for summer squash, sneaking vegetables into dishes, what to do with summer squash Or…I found another place to hide squash. […]


Leave a Reply

