Armenian Cucumber_from seed to table

It’s not usual that a plant does better in a pot than it does in the earth with so much room for the roots to spread, but this Jalapeno pepper (seeds compliments of Granny)… 

…outperformed his in-soil counterpart.  (The peppers were harvested and included with the 7-19 Harvest Day post).

In the lower right corner is the in-ground pepper.  It’s actually perked up a little over the past week and has a couple peppers growing and a few flowers.  Maybe it got a little jealous of the other pepper and decided to work a little harder.  And please excuse my mess.  I started thinning out the strawberry plants last night.

The tomato I’m holding is a clone (“EG style”) from one of the cherry tomato suckers I stuck in the ground.  This plant is about four weeks old and is putting on flowers already.

But on to the subject of today’s post.

Armenian Cucumber

  • a/k/a Yard Long Cucumber   
  • a/k/a Serpent Cucumber  
  • a/k/a Snake Melon  

 The Armenian cucumber is not actually a cucumber.  Botanically it belongs in the melon family.  The cucumber can grow up to three feet long and three inches wide, but they are most flavorful if harvested at 12 to 15 inches.  If grown on a trellis, the fruit will grow straight.  If grown on the ground, however, the fruit can grow curled and/or coiled, sometimes resembling a snake.  The plant produces both male and female flowers, but the plant is self-fertile.  As the fruit matures the skin turns yellow and has a muskmelon aroma. 

The taste is quite pleasant and there is a nice crunch with each bite, even with very thin slices.  My Armenian cukes were grown from seed started on May 1, transplanted into a pot on May 23rd.  The pot is situated behind a large Brussels sprout plant growing in the planting area on one side of the base of the stairs (if that wasn’t clear, you’ll see what I’m talking about in the pictures that follow).   I attached some netting that my daughter found last year at either a yard sale or marked down onto the stair railing for the cukes to grow up the trellis.  Around the corner from the cukes, still in that same planting area, are a few yard long bean plants. 

The first pollinated fruit appeared on June 1.  Between June 6 and June 15, the fruit grew from approximately 2 inches to over a foot long and about 2 1/2 to 3 inches in diameter. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Armenian Cucumbers, a definite do again for next year.

Happy Gardening!!

8 Comments

  1. tempusflits said,

    July 20, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    And I thought my jalapeno pepper plant was performing well in a container. It is, actually, but it’s not to your standard. Congratulations!

    The Armenian cucumbers are interesting. I’m a gardening newbe, so that I’ve never heard of them doesn’t surprise me. But I’m learning.

    • July 20, 2010 at 8:49 pm

      My standard? Nope. I had good seeds and good luck.

      I was reading somebody’s blog and they said they tried at least one new thing every year, and this and the yard long beans were my new things. I thought I was lucky finding the seeds over the internet. This summer I found the seeds at Family Dollar Store, five for a dollar. Welcome to the wonderful world of gardening.

  2. July 20, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I’m not going to embarrass myself by showing you my jalapenos, also planted in pots. I really should have put mine in a sunnier spot, but with temps in the mid 90s now, maybe they’ll perk up and bear something yet. If not, they are 59-cents a pound at our local Hispanic market.

    • July 20, 2010 at 9:01 pm

      With all of your beautiful plants and tons of produce, you’re allowed one not so great jalapeno, but I’m sure it will perk up for you.

      I think I’ve bought fresh jalapeno peppers only twice in my life when I was trying to make salsa, and the only time I eat them is with nachos and cheese. I’m so looking forward to having nachos and cheese with homegrown peppers.

  3. meemsnyc said,

    July 20, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Wow, that pepper plant looks amazing! Did you use any fertilizer?

    • July 20, 2010 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks for the wow.

      No synthetic fertilizer for the yard…except for at the beginning of the season I sprinkled some all purpose granular vegetable food over the whole yard. My “fertilizer” of choice this year is compost and compost tea. Yes, I actually went out and bought a cheap pond pump and make aerated compost tea.

      Plus, every once in a while I’ll sprinkle some of the natural stuff over the yard: bone meal (for blooms), blood meal (for nitrogen) , alfalfa pellets (nitrogen and growth stimulator), dried molasses (helps beneficial bacteria to multiply). I’ll use a thin layer of grass clippings to mulch, which is supposed to release some nitrogen which helps the leaf growth. I’ll add a little wood ash, but I forgot what it’s good for.

      I’ll bet that was more information than you wanted to know 😉

  4. meemsnyc said,

    July 20, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I actually don’t compost the weeds. I read somewhere that there might be seeds in weeds and that if you throw it in the compost, it will add to the weeds in the garden. We pretty much compost everything else though, fallen leaves, grass clippings, and of course food veggie scraps from the kitchen.

    Do you compost weeds? Does it produce more weeds?

  5. July 21, 2010 at 12:07 am

    I pretty much throw any plant material in there, except if it looks diseased. I try to get to the weeds before they make seeds, so I don’t have too many weeds in the garden beds because of the compost. My biggest problem is the grass sending the runners into the beds.

    I’ve read that high temps in the compost will kill the seeds.


Leave a Reply

