Harvest Monday_July19, 2010

I harvested the first Armenian Cucumber, a/k/a Yard Long Cucumber, this week.  My next post will show it going from seed to table.

Here’s my contribution to Harvest Monday hosted by Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelions.  Be sure to drop by and link up and show off what you’re harvesting from your garden.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(2010 Harvest as of 7-19-2010) 1277 oz. converts to 79.83 pounds of produce I’ve harvested from my garden so far.  All the Jalapeno peppers except for three came from one container grown plant (seeds compliments of Granny).  The one in the ground is struggling and I’ve only gotten about three peppers off of it.  I used them to make my first batch of pickled peppers and they’re sitting in the fride now.

I had said the yard long beans were a disappointment, but I probably picked it a little too early.  They get a lot sweeter tasting as they bulk up a little.  Now I’m very happy with them.  Just wish I had planted more and had a better climbing structure for them.

Happy Gardening!!!

10 Comments

  1. July 19, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Good heavens you’re getting a lot of jalapenos! I think I have a total of two, on two plants! Your harvest looks great. Good job (as usual).

    • July 19, 2010 at 11:11 pm

      Thanks. I’m going to have to find more ways to cook squash because that’s the main thing I’m getting these days. I meant to post a picture of the plant with all the peppers hanging on it. I’ll do that next post.

  2. Robin said,

    July 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    I just love your slide show harvest!! This is the first year that I’ve weighed my harvests…it’s just amazing how much comes out of the garden!

    • July 19, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      The slideshow is a wordpress thing. It is kind of nice.

      It really is amazing how things add up, especially if you’re lucky enough to have a lot of space.

  3. kitsapFG said,

    July 19, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    What a fun way to display your harvest! The pictures themselves are interestingly presented, but the slideshow really makes it even nicer.

    • July 20, 2010 at 12:17 am

      Thanks. It’s actually easier than uploading the pictures one at a time. I can select them all and come back when they’ve finished uploading. The only problem is each picture in the post comes up in the slideshow, so you’ll get duplicate pictures. I’m sure there’s a way to avoid that, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

  4. vrtlaricaana said,

    July 20, 2010 at 1:44 am

    This is first Harvest Monday I have seen in a slideshow. It is so interesting. And the harvest is wonderful, I love the peppers especially.

    • July 20, 2010 at 2:04 am

      I like the slideshow too. Last year I had a habanaro pepper plant that did very well in the container. I didn’t grow them this year because they are just toooooo hot for me. I gave them all away to my father-in-law. I grew it more for the pretty plant than anything.

  5. thyme2garden said,

    July 20, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    I like the slideshow presentation, too. The pepper/tomato arrangements are pretty neat, too!


Leave a Reply

