Harvest Monday_July 12, 2010

Here we are at Harvest Monday again hosted by Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelions, and I just harvested my entire “corn field”…all 14 stalks of corn grow in an approximately 4×8 space shared by a couple of monster hosta plants and globe alium…and one volunteer tomato that’s peeking through at the 7 o’clock position. 

In total, 20 ears of corn (13 picked this morning).

I’m thinking if those  *&%$%&#@ing  earwigs hadn’t eaten all the silks off the corn, the suckers (ears on the right) would have been able to be pollinated and would have produced some decent ears of corn.  But I’ll give them an E for effort anyway because you can see they tried.  Now I’ll have to figure out what to plant in the spot the corn vacated.  If I was a really good square foot intensive gardener I’d already have transplants growing to plop right into the bed.

You see that beige and green container in the first picture (about at the 1 o’clock position)?  That’s my new composter, formerly known as collapsible leaf bag (another FreeCycle find).  I was generating too much glorious garden garbage to let it just go to waste.  Honestly, I felt guilty when I couldn’t compost my wastes. 

All those trees we cut down last year have sent out new growth along the trunks and the second time I had to remove the foliage is when I put the new “composter” to work. 

Let me stop you if the thought occurred to you that:  Wouldn’t it be easier if you cut the tree trunks down?  Well, that was the plan, but I’ve been reading (too much knowledge can be a dangerous thing I know), and some of the books talk about growing your own compostables.  So, when I saw all those lush, vitamin and mineral enriched leaves sitting there, the thought occurred to me that I could have a steady supply of greens for composting.  So, as of now the trunks stay, they’ll live to sprout another day.

There are about nine trunks along the side of the garage.  What I did was I chopped all the foliage on the trees and put it into the leaf bag.  When I was done it was about 75 percent full.  As I was going along I layered in the stuff that I had dropped on the ground instead of throwing in the garbage that had started to dry out.  In about three days when I gave the contents a little flip, even though it was warm outside, I saw steam rising out of the container.  If I had another spot to start another pile I’d stop adding to this one and let it finish, but I don’t, so I keep adding, adding, adding.  I’m missing my earth machine now, but at least the sweet potato vines growing in it are looking pretty.

Anyway, here are a few pictures of what I’ve been able to harvest since my last Harvest Day post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What have you been harvesting?  Pop over to Daphne’s and link up with her so everybody can see the glorious goodies growing in your garden.

Happy Gardening!!

14 Comments

  1. Allison said,

    July 12, 2010 at 11:33 am

    how lovely to have corn to harvest!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 12, 2010 at 10:48 pm

      Peeling back the husk looking for nice filled in kernels is as exciting as digging in the dirt for potatoes. I was way happier with the corn than I’ve ever been with any potatoes I’ve grown.

  2. July 12, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Oh, man….now I have corn envy! Trade ya some onions for some corn!

    I hear you on those $&^#* earwigs. My silks are just forming, I hope they don’t ruin the corn crop. I found a live earwig in a bowl of ice yesterday. I know it didn’t come out of my freezer, so it must have fallen off of ME!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 12, 2010 at 10:52 pm

      I wish I was your neighbor so I could take you up on your offer.

      The earwigs are just crazy this year. After they ate the silks, they started in on the tips of the corn cobs.

      I was out in the yard every morning shaking the stalks and brushing pieces of the tassles onto the silks. Who knows. It may have helped.

  3. meemsnyc said,

    July 12, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    That’s quite the harvest! We didn’t try growing corn this year. We’ll try next year in a raised bed.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 12, 2010 at 10:57 pm

      You really should try it if you’ve got the room. This was a small variety. Next go round I’ll try for a bigger ear variety.

  4. July 12, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    You did a good job on the corn, considering the earwigs got to it. Last year I planted a space about 4-6 times that big and got nothing…nada…..bumpkis….so this year, no corn. Maybe next year, maybe. Nice squash!
    ~~Lori

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 12, 2010 at 11:02 pm

      It’s the squash that keeps on coming. I’m so squashed out now. I’m eating it fresh, I’ve frozen some, I’ve given some away. Next I want to try dehydrating to add to vegetable soup in the winter.

      Sorry no corn for you last year. Hopefully next year will be your year.

  5. Daphne said,

    July 13, 2010 at 7:19 am

    I’ve had earwigs totally ruin a crop too. This year I’m just not growing corn, but maybe I’ll risk it again next year. Even with the spotty pollination corn is a treat.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 13, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Earwigs seem to be bad everywhere this year. I’m keeping little piles of dead leaves in spots hoping that they’ll concentrate of the dead stuff and leave my alive and growing stuff alone.

      Risk it, risk it…especially if you’ve got the space.

  6. engineeredgarden said,

    July 13, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I think the corn looks great. I always have a few kernels not form on a few ears, too.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      Well, then, I’m in good company 😉

      This is the third time I grew corn and the first time I thought it was good enough to share with anybody. The first year I think I waited too late and/or it had some kind of disease, last year I think I picked it too early not wanting to make the mistake I did before. This time I actually read up on the approximate times between tasseling and silking and if the juice in the kernel is white you’re too soon, if it’s milky and grainy it’s just right, if it’s dry you waited too long. I’m slowly learning.

      Just kinda wish I had planted a bigger eared variety like yours, but that’s the plan for next year.

  7. thyme2garden said,

    July 13, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I always thought corn was one of those “farm” vegetables that you had to have acres to grow. But reading these veggie blogs proved me very, very wrong! You’re giving me corn inspiration!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 13, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      Then my job is done. I’m always happy when some crazy thing I do or say gets somebody thinking. I say go for it. EG grew his in storage bins, a/k/a self-watering containers. I think the biggest thing small garden gardeners have to do is plant in blocks instead of rows and you’ll be okay.

      Love your name by the way.


Leave a Reply

