You know folks think you’re gardening obsessed when…

…when you offer them some compost tea and they think you’re offering them a cool beverage to drink.

Or…when you hand them a tomato sucker and tell them, “Take a broom stick and make a hole about a foot deep and stick this (the tomato sucker) in it.  Water it and firm the dirt around it.  You should get a new plant,” and somehow they take away from that that you’re telling them to plant a broom stick.

Well, I can think of worse things to be “obsessed” with:  Lying, cheating, stealing, booze, drugs, gambling.  So, as obsessions go, this is a pretty innocuous one.  You get free food (unless you’re growing that $100 tomato), free exercise, free meditation time.  Nope, I don’t mind being obsessed.

And you learn to get free plants EG style.  After watching his video on rooting and pruning tomato suckers, about a week ago I stuck four tomato suckers that I pruned from my cherry tomatoes into the ground and ended up with three growing tomato plants.  Here’s a photo of the largest one looking sung and cozy.

So, is it just me or has anybody else had somebody say something like that to them? 

Happy Gardening!!!

4 Comments

  1. July 1, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I rooted a Sungold sucker for my neighbor, and it’s growing great guns.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 1, 2010 at 9:19 pm

      I tried to do it before and they always died. I was lucky.

  2. Toni Parker said,

    July 1, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    No funny gardening stories… but I enjoyed yours!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 2, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      It gets to be loads of fun around here sometimes.


Leave a Reply

