Harvest Monday_June 28, 2010

It’s Harvest Monday hosted by Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelions.   Post pics of your produce and leave a link at Daphne’s Dandelions so everyone can see what’s growing in your neck of the woods.

I picked my first bell pepper yesterday.  It was the Big Bertha I bought from Home depot the day I also bought the Stevia plant.  Big Bertha is living up to her name.  Too bad she’s a hybird, otherwise I’d definitely save the seeds.

Here are a few pictures of her progress:

 

All that pepper on that little bitty plant. 

There’s been a lot of rain around here lately.   After the corn being flattened on the 19th (Garden vs. Storm) another storm came through and flattened it again on the 23rd.  A tornado actually touched down in Orland Park (I think I have that right), one of the Chicago suburbs.

No fear, though.  All is well again.  The corn is on its way!!

This time I will not remove the stakes.  If another storm comes through, it’s going to have to work a little harder to flatten the corn.

Here’s my updated harvest tally.  835.7 oz  converts to 52.23 pounds of garden goodness so far. 

Around the garden, I pulled most of the lettuce and planted bush beans.   The strawberries are gone.  The snow peas are still producing a few pods since they got all tangled in the bad weather on the 19th.  The raspberries are probably 75 percent finished.  All 20 blueberries are gone.  I still haven’t planted my pickling cucumbers.  I have planted Armenian cukes, but the label says they don’t recommend them for pickling.  They’re growing fine with lots of male flowers on them.  I had the first flower on the yard long beans.  I made mint tea with some of the stevia leaves and it actually sweetened the drink.  It had a slight aftertaste, but for zero calories I’m willing to work with it.

Anyway, here’s a slide show of some of the pickings since my last Harvest Monday post on the 14th.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy Gardening!!!

18 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    June 28, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Wow, Cheryl – that corn sure did rebound nicely from the wind damage. Nice weekly harvest, too!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      Thanks, EG. Now I have to worry about the earwigs. Yesterday I saw some actually up on the corn. I’ve read they can eat the silks and ruin the corn. I’m still hoping, though.

  2. June 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Nice harvest! I always enjoy your cute photos. I’m still waiting for my first yellow crookneck squash, but I think the first zucchini might be picked today.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm

      I’ve got six squash in the fridge right now that I’m going to give to my mother-in-law. She loves them, I’ll eat them because I know you need a variety of fruits and veggies to be healthy. If I could just grow potatoes and nice big onions like someone who shall remain nameless 😉

  3. Allison said,

    June 28, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Nice harvest! That’s a big pepper!!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      I’m going to try and have some restraint with the next one and see how big it will grow. One of the other plant has one that’s about 4 inches tall already.

  4. Robin said,

    June 28, 2010 at 11:20 am

    That sure is a big pepper on that little plant! I really like your slide show..nice idea

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      The slideshow is a WordPress thing that I didn’t even know existed until this morning. When you upload a gallery (a series of photos), you get the option of saving it as a slideshow. I couldn’t figure how to delete some of the photos, so that’s why some of them are duplicated.

  5. villager said,

    June 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I’ve grown Big Bertha before and it does get amazingly big. Looks like you are getting a nice mix from your garden!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      I’ve read that people have grown them over six inches long. That would be too cool.

      The yard is pretty small, but I’ll stick as much stuff in as many places as I can.

  6. meemsnyc said,

    June 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Wow, that pepper is large! Nice work!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      I could use peppers and onions every day, so I’m glad Big Bertha is true to her name.

  7. June 28, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    It just gets more and more exicting – food wise – thsi time of year. I like your berries and veg pictures and of course the ‘Big Bertha.’

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      I guess you can tell I like to play with my food.

  8. debiclegg said,

    June 28, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I love your artisctic creations with your harvest!!

    I harvested my first Big Bertha bell peppers (about 5 inches long) but I was surprised how thin they were. I am thinking that maybe I harvested them too early but they still tasted great!!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2010 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks, playing with food is fun.

      I was reading up on Big Bertha, and a lot of the comments said the pepper was longer than most bell peppers.

  9. Daphne said,

    June 29, 2010 at 7:21 am

    lol I love the mosaics you create with your veggies. It looks like you have been picking quite a bit.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 29, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      I hope my numbers are right, but if pennies can slowly add up to dollars, I guess ounces can slowly add up to pounds. And those squash plants are really putting out now. I just picked two more today. I think I’ll try sauteing one of them with onions and some of the Big Bertha. Onions make everything taste good.


Leave a Reply

