Garden vs. Wind Storm.

Garden Loses.

First was the raining and flooding, and then yesterday came the wind.  A wind storm blew through here with wind gusts up to 50 miles an hour.  I’m so glad I was home or my poor garden would have really suffered.  I was standing on the veranda (a/k/a my little bitty porch) catching a breeze when I heard a bunch of birds.  I looked up and there were so many of those white birds that are usually at the beach.  I can’t remember what kind of birds they are for the life of me.  Anyway, the birds were flying kind of funny, like they had no control of which direction they were going in.  Then the wind picked up and I saw tree leaves with small branches flying through the sky.  That’s when the wind really picked up.  The potted rhododendron and one of the raspberry plants got blown down, so I figured it would be better for me to lay all my pots down on the ground instead of having the wind knock everything down.

I stayed right there on the porch looking at the trees swaying in the wind.  I honestly expected to see a funnel cloud develop in the sky because the wind was blowing so hard.  As I’m standing there, a gust of wind knocked over a potted tree and continued on through the garden.  I’m standing there looking at the pea trellis going from vertical heading to horizontal.  I tried to use bamboo poles to strengthen the trellis, but then it started raining.  And as much as I love the way those peas have grown, I thought I’d look pretty foolish standing in the rain and wind trying to keep the trellis vertical. 

After the storm when I was assessing the damage, that’s when I saw all the stalks of the newly tasseling corn laying on the ground and the peas doing a gangsta lean.  I was not a happy camper.  Of course, it could have been worse.  There were a lot of trees downed and people actually lost their lives as a result of the storm. 

So, in honor of my fallen (soon to stay risen I hope) soldiers, here’s my first ever YouTube video.  (Yes, I know.    Too much time not doing things I need to do.)

**the video is only about a minute long, the music, one of my favorites, goes longer**

Happy Gardening!!!

9 Comments

  1. June 20, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Meh. That was just a little breeze 😉 We’ve had a couple of 50 MPH windstorms this spring. The broccoli was flattened, but it got back up on its own. Twice I had to straighten my corn stalks and push down hard on the ground around each plant (I’d have stepped on it, but mine are in barrel containers), and it survived just fine. As long as the roots remain in the ground, it all survives. My problem is that onion tops fall over when they’re ready to pull and cure, but the wind knocked mine over weeks ago, so I can’t tell if they are ready or not.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 20, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      The only good thing is that it made me get out there and take a closer look at the plants. I should have staked the brussles sprouts and the broccoil because they’ve grown with a bend in the stalk.

      If only I could grow onions like you do. I read on your blog that you grow Vadalias. I’ll be on the look out for them for next year.

      • June 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

        Nope, I grow Walla Walla sweet onions. You probably read the comment when I told Ribbit she should grow Vidalias. Walla Wallas grow really well here. After all, I’m only 45 miles from Walla Walla 😉

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 22, 2010 at 1:31 am

          Ahhh. Okay. What? Do you order small plants or are you able to catch them at the stores at planting time?

          • June 22, 2010 at 8:58 am

            They are sold at all our local farm stores here, in bunches of 65 for $1.39 a bunch. Sturdy, fresh, healthy plants. I won’t bother with seeding them myself for that price. Same with seed potatoes @ 75-cents a pound. I am shocked when I see the seed catalog prices!

            • gardengoodies said,

              June 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

              That is a great price. I found the onion sets at a feed store for a dollar a pound, which was pretty good compared to buying them in the little mesh bags, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen onion plants anywhere.

              If I could buy seed potatoes for 75 cents a pound I would have tried to grow them. I haven’t had good luck with the store potatoes, and I refuse to pay what the mail order people charge, and when I’m ready to plant them they’re not even available in the stores.

              BTW, the gooseberries are turning pink. At first they tasted a little like a plum, now they’re tasting more like grapes. These I’m going to like.

  2. June 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Ohhhhhhhhh that was a depressing video. All that work and then splat. Ugh. I like the idea of the garden stakes – hope the stalks weren’t damaged and that it works out for you!

  3. gardengoodies said,

    June 20, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    The corn will probably survive. I actually tied the stalks to the stakes this morning, so hope for the best.

  4. June 28, 2010 at 8:52 am

    […] been a lot of rain around here lately.   After the corn being flattened on the 19th (Garden vs. Storm) another storm came through and flattened it again on the 23rd.  A tornado actually touched down […]


Leave a Reply

