Harvest Monday_June 14, 2010

Time to pull out pictures of the produce we’ve picked and join Daphne over at Daphne’s Dandelions for Harvest Monday. 

Grrrr! Only three raspberries

 

Cheer up. Look at what you've already harvested.

 

(Thanks to David, guest harvest artist)  

2010 Harvest as of 06-14-10 

637.2 ounces to date.  That’s 39.824 pounds according to the handy-dandy ounces to pounds converter.  I’ve been religiously weighing everything that gets picked, except the occasional berry or snap pea that gets eaten on the spot.  

Here are a few pics of recent harvests. 

Today I gave up on the turnip greens and pulled them all out.  They’ve been in the ground for close to two months and have the tiniest bottoms.  Out they went.  And some of the lettuce that started to bolt got pulled today too.  The lettuce that had the well spaced transplants are the plants that are bolting, and he lettuce that was broadcast way too thick is chugging right along.  The pea trellis is kind of shading that little section. 

And speaking of the peas…the peas that were supposed to have a compact growth habit. 

Already I’ve picked more peas from this three-foot section than I did last year from the eight-foot double row I planted.  These are definitely on the menu for next year. 

Anyway, that’s it for my harvest.  The raspberries and blueberries are starting to ripen, a few of the bell peppers, jalapeno peppers and egg plants are starting to fruit.  The broccoli plants (3) are sending up puny little side shoots.  The main head were very small when they looked like they were going to flower, so I picked them early.  The strawberries, very sadly, are on their way out.  

And a note to Granny.  I’ve been letting the last few strawberries stay on the plant longer and/or let them sit until they are nice and red, and they are so much sweeter than the earlier ones.  I only wish I had tried it earlier when the strawberries were really coming in. 

Enjoy your harvest and… 

Happy Gardening!!!

****Computing error.  There’s a double entry for the strawberries of 10.7 oz, so the total should be minus 10.7 ounces.

 

6 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    June 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I like it when you use your harvest to make artistic presentations. Hehe…You sure have done well this year!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 14, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      My daughter’s boyfriend saw my happy face and thought it was cute. He came up with the “Grrrr” face, which I thought was cute.

      And I promise I didn’t fudge the numbers. It’s amazing how those ounces can add up to pounds.

  2. Toni Parker said,

    June 14, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    LOVE the art!!!! Very cute! Congratulations on all your garden yummies!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 14, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      Thanks. I even got a chance to freeze a few turnip and mustard greens.

  3. stefaneener said,

    June 16, 2010 at 12:58 am

    What kind of peas are those? They seem to be prolific performers.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 16, 2010 at 10:37 am

      Hi, Stefaneener:
      The peas are Ferry-Morse Taste of Asia, snow pea taichung TC 11. I really like them. I accidentally let one go to seed and the pod was still sweet.


Leave a Reply

