My (itty-bitty in the city) Bramble Orchard

Who says you have to have a lot of real estate to have a bramble orchard?  Even in a small city lot you can enjoy fresh picked berries.  Berries such as…

Blueberries

Gooseberries

Strawberries (although not a bramble)

You can anticipate picking Raspberries

And blackberries

Did I say bramble “orchard”?  That might be a little misleading.  In a small back yard it would be more accurate to say bramble “corner of the yard.”  Here’s my little micro mini bramble orchard.Four raspberry plants, two blackberry plants (gave one to my mother-in-law),  three blueberry bushes (although twigs might be more appropriate for two of them), and two gooseberry plants.

I fancy myself being a little bit of a plant propagator, so whenever I see the opportunity to get a two-fer out of a plant I go for it.  Here’s Mother (on the left) and Daughter (on the right).Last year I pulled one of the suckers from the mother plant and potted it up.  This year there are a few berries on the daughter plant.

All of the raspberry plants were FreeCycled to me.  Because the plant sends out so many suckers and it’s necessary to keep the number of suckers to a limit for the health of the plant it’s easy to find yourself with extra plants.  The choice becomes whether to throw them away or try to save them.  Since my plants are relatively young, I’m not faced with that situation yet, but I did start some plants last year with some of the raspberry suckers.  I gave all of them away, but I know one of the plants will be producing some raspberries this year.  Easy, inexpensive garden gifts.

Happy Gardening!!!

8 Comments

  1. June 5, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Now, that is just cute. I love potted corners! I should have done that to my two new blueberries last year. I planted mine out, and they died! Both of them! They were replacing three old standbys that I had decided to uproot, as they were getting too old and scraggly…..but darn, at least they had berries and didn’t die on me. I think I was being punished for tossing them aside.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 6, 2010 at 7:32 am

      The Gardening Gods gotcha :’)

      Of course I’m going to get all of a half a cup of blueberries from all three plants, but I’m patient. The plants haven’t grown too much, but considering what I started with for the two smaller ones I’m going to make myself happy(they were in 2 1/2-inch pots and were literally four or five-inch sticks). I don’t know if I could have pulled out big bushes that had even three or four berries still growing on them.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    June 5, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Cheryl – that’s definitely one way to do it! I’ve never had a gooseberry, are they good? I tried raspberries twice with no luck at all. I guess it’s just something that won’t do well here, or something…

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 6, 2010 at 7:37 am

      You and your blackberry syrup made me want to try more berries. I got the blackberries, blueberries, gooseberries and strawberries all at the same time (a b-day present for myself). I only got the gooseberries to make the order total $50 so I could get half off. Last year there were only three little berries on the plant and I tasted it while it was still green. It was so sour. I’ve since read that you’re supposed to wait until they turn pink and then use them. I’ll let you know how they taste when they’re ripe. They’re easy to grow, though, and they have more berries than the blackberry plants. Last year I didn’t get a single flower on the blackberry plants, but they did put out a lot of canes.

      Too bad about the raspberries. So far they’re my favorite.

      • June 6, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        That was MY blackberry syrup recipe! Don’t you dare let EG take credit for it…LOL! You can also substitute raspberries, but the blackberry is by far my favorite.

        My MIL grew gooseberries, and always made gooseberry pie. She picked them green (I didn’t even know they turned pink), and they were so sour. She used tons of sugar in all her pies, but even all that sugar didn’t seem to help the gooseberries. Her family loved them, but I never did develop a taste for those sour things.

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 6, 2010 at 1:23 pm

          Uh-oh. I’m in trouble now. LOL.

          I like fresh raspberries too much to try to save for syrup or jelly or anything else. The few I get a chance to pick get eaten right away.

          I hope I’m remembering right about the gooseberries turning pink (and hopefully sweeter). I’m just looking for something to pick and eat. I’d have to wait three or four years to get enough to try to make a pie.

  3. Toni Parker said,

    June 8, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Wow… potted berry bushes!

    I’m inspired to do the same!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 8, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      Oh, Toni, if I had as much space as you do I’d have a real orchard.


Leave a Reply

