A pleasant surprise

Yesterday morning I was pleasantly surprised when I found this:

I was just talking about the fact that I harvested a warm weather squash before the cool weather peas, so I was giddy when I saw the snow peas hanging there waiting for me.

I harvested (clockwise from the top) lettuce, mustard greens, parsley, strawberries, green onion tops, my little handful of snow peas, chard and two (count’em) two squash, one regular size, one baby.

Lots more squash to come…

Here’s something else coming along…Jalapeno peppers grown from seed from Annie’s Granny. (Thanks!)  This is my first time doing jalapenos.  I’m having visions of pickled peppers and homemade salsa.

Happy Gardening!!!

8 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    June 3, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Wow, you’ve got alot of squash maturing. I don’t have any yet. 😦

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 3, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Well, we know what crazy lengths I went to to get them: Building the cold frame, covering the cold frame, putting bottles of hot water in the cold frame at night. Honestly, though, I think it’s because they’re hybirds. Ooooh, that pains me to say something good about hybirds instead of naturally pollinated breeds, but I’ve already matched my prior years’ squash harvests and the season just started.

  2. June 3, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Oooh, summer squash (love, love, love) and those strawberries! I’m getting a few berries now, but my day neutral variety always starts piddly and the berries are small, then they improve as the season goes on. They do taste terrific, even if the harvest is sparse in the beginning. I do hope my volunteer squash are yellow crooknecks. Maybe I shouldn’t have taken the chance and let them grow. Lord knows I don’t need another hill of butternuts!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 3, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      I’ve got to admit that these are not the sweetest strawberries I’ve ever tasted. I thought it might have been because I was picking them too early, but I let the last batch stay on until they were good and red and they still weren’t too sweet. Thank God for sugar. The last couple batches I put a little sugar on and let them sit for a little bit before I froze them. I froze a batch of bananas today too. I know my daughter is going to wipe the strawberries and bananas out in a couple of days with her smoothies.

      Frozen bananas may sound strange, but once they’re really ripe, that’s the best time to freeze them. They’re sooooo sweet. I got a whole crate of “over ripe” bananas once for $2. They were the base of many a fruit smoothies.

      • June 3, 2010 at 7:17 pm

        Try letting your strawberries sit out at room temperature for a few hours before washing and serving them. Their color deepens and they get a bit more sweetness. There’s a name for this, but I’ll be darned if I can remember it, and Google isn’t helping me. Anyway, I pick my berries early in the day, leave them on the counter until dinner time, then give them a quick rinse and prepare them or lay them out on paper towels to air dry and then freeze them.

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 4, 2010 at 11:19 am

          I’ve been washing them and sticking them in the refrigerator if I didn’t eat them right away. I’m going to let today’s batch sit out and see if that helps with the sweetness. Thanks for the advice.

  3. June 4, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Nice harvest!!! My squash is petering out each time… something strange is going on. Yours looks like you’ll have more than you know what to do with! Awesome!

  4. gardengoodies said,

    June 5, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Over the last couple of days I’ve had to throw away three or four squash that failed to grow. They look like they weren’t pollinated and died. I’ve been trying to assist nature along with hand pollinating. I think from now on I’ll find a way to mark any that I pollinate myself and see if they’ll grow. I’ve also removed a few of the leaves so that the blooms are wisible to the bees and anything else that wants to help the boy and girl pollen get together.

    You might want to try hand pollinating. It defintely won’t hurt anything.


Leave a Reply

