Garden Blogger’s Death Day_May 2010

It’s the end of the month again, time to join Kate and Crew over at Gardening Without Skills to hang out your dirty plant laundry.  Who’d you kill? 

 

Gratefully I don’t have too much death and destruction to talk about this month. 

These guys are in critical condition and the outlook is bleak. 

 

Some little bug has been munching on the turnip green leaves all the way down to the stems.  I think I’m going to leave the plants in the ground, though, for two reasons.  One, just to see if the bottoms will still grow without a lot of top growth and, two, maybe the bugs will be happy with the turnip greens and leave the other stuff alone.   

Marigolds are supposed to repel insects, right?  Not this one. 

 

The bugs ate every single leaf and bud of this marigold overnight.  The day after I transplanted one of the bush bean all the leaves were gone.  What I’ve been doing (when I remember anyway) is putting collars around the newly transplanted seedings, and we’ll see what happens. 

Now, the jury is out on the last yellow squash plant.  We had a little accident.  I was adjusting the shop lights and it slipped from my grip and fell right on top of the squash plant. 

May 31, 2010_broken squash

 

 The botanical equivalent of a broken neck.  We need a doctor in the house!!  In comes Dr. Cheryl, Plant Medicine Woman. 

05-09-10_Squash after surgery

 

 The fracture was set and immobilized and here’s the patient today.  

05-31-10_Squash after surgery

 

Not growing a whole lot (probably because it’s still in this cup waiting for me to figure out where to plant it), but it’s not dead yet.  Maybe she’ll be in next month’s edition of Garden Blogger’s Death Day. 

Happy Gardening!! 

8 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    May 31, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Cheryl, to answer your question on my blog – I just don’t know what would eat a marigold. Maybe a mouse, rabbit, or squirrel? I don’t think it’s a bug…

  2. gardengoodies said,

    May 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Thanks, EG. Something was nibbling on the okra plants and the borage too. I doubt it’s the squirrels. They’re having too much trying to get to the strawberries. And I haven’t seen a rabbit this year. Last week I did see a tiny mouse flit through the yard. And now that I think about it, it was right where the turnips were. You just might be right. I didn’t even think about that.

  3. May 31, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Dr. Cheryl, you’ve done a great job with your patient! I’ll bet she pulls through. I’ve had my marigolds stripped bare before, and I don’t have mice. I really think it was earwigs. I blame everything on earwigs 😉

  4. gardengoodies said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Earwigs and sow bugs I’m seeing EVERYWHERE. I’ve read that the sow bugs only eat dead stuff so I wasn’t too worried about them, but I don’t really know too much about the earwigs. Any suggestions on how to get rid of them?

    • June 1, 2010 at 10:04 am

      I’ve heard rolled up newspapers, left in the garden overnight, are supposed to attract them. I haven’t tried it, I’d rather moan, groan and complain about them 😉

      • gardengoodies said,

        June 1, 2010 at 8:52 pm

        “moan, groan and complain.” Oh, my God!!! We’re twins separated at birth

        • June 1, 2010 at 9:54 pm

          LOL, my bachelor buttons are gone, and it wasn’t birds (I put netting over them). I saw LOTS of pill bugs (I said sow bugs, but I found out they are not the same…pill bugs roll up into a ball, sow bugs don’t). I read up on them, and they do feed mostly on decaying matter, but will also eat young plants. I’m considering Sevin, since they are not near any food crops. I want bachelor buttons 😦

          Love,
          Your twin, Granny

          PS: My lilies are in full bloom today…so very pretty, thank you for sending them.

          • gardengoodies said,

            June 2, 2010 at 9:00 am

            I guess mine are pill bugs too (maybe both because there are so many), but when I try to step on them they do roll up into a ball. I’ve been spraying the plants with a garlic/soap/cyanne pepper spray. I’ll see if that helps. I also saw a little cabbage worm, so I’ll start inspecting all the leaves a little closer (gotta to remember to bring my glasses out in the mornings).

            Glad the lillies are growing and blooming. I just love yellow blooms.

            Love,
            Your twin, Cheryl


Leave a Reply

