I snagged a squash before I could pick a pea.

My little squash experiment has worked out fairly well.  There are many blooms and small squash on the three plants inside the cold frame.  The squashes aren’t growing quickly like they do in the heat of the summer, so I figured I’d pick one of them to maybe jump start the plant.  So, here’s Squash No. 1

I gave it to my mother-in-law.  I shared my first lettuce harvest with her and the lettuce is doing great.  Maybe I’ll have the same luck with the squash.

I realize that I haven’t posted too much on the overall garden, so here’s my update.  Between the squash cold frame, the perennials I got from the Great Perennial Divide this past fall, the strawberries growing like crazy and taking over their bed, and my FreeCycle plants, I lost a lot of growing space.  I got rid of the square foot twine dividers and I like the beds better without them.  It makes accessing the ground much easier.

This is the north bed.

On the trellis are the snow peas I planted the same day as the squash.  They’re finally showing a few blossoms but no pods yet.  These were supposed to be peas with “short compact growth” “not requiring trellising,” but they’re already three feet tall.  It seems a little weird that there aren’t any blooms on the lower part of the plant.  I hope I’ll get a few peas before it gets too hot for them.

Here’s a closer look at the north bed.

In the front of the north bed are Stella D’Oro daylillies that I got from a FreeCycler.  There was one big clump that I divided into eight smaller clumps and transplanted one per foot.  There are a gazillion buds on each plant.

I also stuck some of the plants from the Great Perennial divide into this bed.  A couple of them didn’t make it, and the two in the middle there are about to bloom.  Once they bloom, I’ll decide where to move them.  Of course I don’t have the plant tag to even know what they are. 

This one…

And this one…

Anybody have any guesses on what they are?

Also stuck in this bed are a couple of broccoli plants that are beginning to head up, some flat leaf parsley, a few rainbow swiss chard, turnip greens, one Brandywine tomato, the lettuce/chives/carrots/radish mix I planted, a couple of the asparagus plants that I grew from seed that are still hanging on, and a couple of volunteer potatoes.

I ended up digging out a couple of the parsley plants and the majority of the swiss chard because when the iris and the lillies and the volunteer potato started growing those plants were shaded out. 

Here’s the middle bed.

Mmmmm….straaawberiiiies

This bed started with three FreeCycle strawberry plants.  Well, they came from three pots buried in the ground at the FreeCycler’s yard, but when I got them home I separated them and got maybe five or six plants.  But these have multiplied like crazy (did way better than the ones I bought).  This year I even broke off some of the runners before they got established so they won’t take over the planet.

With the strawberries are some onions interplanted with the strawberries that I break of the tops for green onions, a couple of broccoli plants…

At the top left of the picture (below)  is a brussles sprout, lettuce and swiss chard that I just stuck there when I was planting lettuce around the cold frame, some collard plants, and in the upper right with all the little yellow blooms is another Great Perennial Divide plant.  It’s a Lady’s Mantle.

Lady’s Mantle is an herb with some interesting properties: “The major belief of the early herbalists regarding the lady’s mantle was that this herb was possessed of such strong contractile powers, that it was thought capable of “restoring” lost virginity to women and was believed to bring on a new firmness to flabby breasts in older women.”  Hmmm, wonder if it works on cellulite.  I think I’ll look into that.

But, I digress.  Here’s the south bed.

From left to right:  Onions, two rows of mustard greens with a cherry tomato in front, two more rows of lettuce, a couple of brussles sprout plants, another row of lettuce and a row of swiss chard and a pepper in front and onions interspersed wherever I could find a little spot.

Here’s a closeup of the squash in the cold frame…

I pulled the overwintered swiss chard from the area at the top of the cold frame and stuck in these sugar baby watermelon plants (upper middle) that I got from Mr. Gregory.

I’m still getting lettuce galore from this bed.  I like to harvest the side leaves from the lettuce when they’re about palm size.  These plants (in the picture above) are growing in pure compost and new leaves seem to shoot out of the plants.  I wonder if it has something to do with the fact that these plants are literally under glass when the cold frame is open.

Anyway, lest this post becomes an epic novel, I’ll save the rest of the garden update for the next post.

Happy Gardening!!!

7 Comments

  1. Liisa said,

    May 29, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Everything looks great!

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 31, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Thanks, Lisa:
      Most everything is doing fine, but something’s munching on the turnip leaves.

  2. May 29, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I have lettuce envy *sigh*

    I suppose I need to find a lettuce that grows in a sauna.

    Your strawberry plants look great! Again. jealous….

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 31, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Hi, Kate:
      I’ve read that deer tongue lettuce is supposed to do better in the heat. You might try containers growin in the shade.

      Yep, I’m in strawberry heaven right now. I’m even freezing a few for my daughter’s smoothies.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    May 29, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Cheryl – your squash experiment sure is gonna pay off! I bet you gained a months time with it.

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 31, 2010 at 9:35 am

      Hey, EG:

      I just wish they’d get bigger quicker. They’re taking up a lot of space for those itty bitty squash, but I learned it can be done.l

  4. June 3, 2010 at 8:06 am

    […] was just talking about the fact that I harvested a warm weather squash before the cool weather peas, so I was giddy when I saw the snow peas hanging there waiting for […]


Leave a Reply

