Garden Blogger’s Death Day_April 2010

Okay.  I know it’s May 2010, not April 2010, but what I don’t know is how I missed Gardening Without Skill’s  Garden Blogger’s Death Day, the place where you get a chance to commiserate with others who have also had foliar follies.

As you can see here in this picture, we’ve had fallen soldiers  in the old garden. 

The two dead soldiers you see in the black pots are my hardy jasmine plants, which, as it turns out, weren’t so hardy.  Last winter I brought them in the house for the winter because I wasn’t sure if they were hardy.  But this winter when I found the plant label and it said they were hardy, they stayed in the garage near the window.  I don’t want to say never trust plant labels, but….

The jasmine had more Comrades that met the same fate and didn’t make it through the winter.  All the overturned pots at one time had healthy happy plants in them, but they are with us no more.

And this one (the rose near the stairs)…

…the part of the rose that I paid for is dead.  The fact that the root stock is still alive is of no consequence.  This one goes on the death roll too.  After I dug it up I had a little more respect for that root stock.  It was growing despite the fact that there were no feeder roots and the roots that were left were starting to rot.

Other than the occasional accidental seedling decapitation or the strong winds blowing a styrofoam container full of potted seedlings off the porch railing, things around here are doing fairly well.  (Sorry, no picture.  Had to save the babies).

Happy Gardening!!

2 Comments

  1. May 9, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Oh Cheryl – the carnage! LOL – I scoff in the face of the word “hardy” – LOL. I can un-hardy anything at this point. Poor Jasmine plants – I do love how they smell – when they’re not dead of course. Thx for participating in GBDD!

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 11, 2010 at 3:46 am

      You’re so welcome, Kate. I may already have my next victim for the next Death Day.


Leave a Reply

