Forecast in the Forties!!

Forecast in the forties.

Hot diggity dog!!!

That’s enough to make me come out of my hidey hole

and post something on my blog.

Yes, I’ve started just a few seeds,

some lettuce, some chard…no beans, no peas.

But thoughts of  sunshine on my face

puts me in a happy place.

Am I thinking of spending time with my spouse?

No, gosh darn!  I’m thinking of a hoop house!

It’s the sound of music to my ears:  Major thaw; Temps in the 40s…maybe even 50s.  Beautiful, beautiful words, especially with snow on the ground.  Sincerely, I’m constructing a two-bed hoophouse in my head and just waiting for the weather to warm up a little so I can put it into action.  If all else fails, though, I’ll do a repeat of what I did last year with the individual covers on two beds.  Soooo exciting.

As good as the weatherman made me feel, my daughter‘s boyfriend, David,  (who sells health products), was feeling the exact opposite.  He felt so bad, in fact, that he wrote her a little poem:

Haiku of a Breaking Heart

I lie in bed and want to hurl

because I can’t find my girl.

I look and look and have no luck,

I stand and shout what the (word deleted for tender ears…or should that be eyes?)

He misses my daugher and he writes poetry.  What more can a mom ask for?  I think David and I will get along just fine.

Happy Gardening!

4 Comments

  1. Kate said,

    March 3, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Oh Cheryl – the 40s is warm for you? That makes me sad – LOL. That’s frigid, man, frigid! That was an AWESOME poem! I’m a big fan of fun poems – not the strong, serious stuff – and LOL on your daughter’s bf’s poem – LOLOL.

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      Me thinks they lied!!! It’s still in the thirties. Thirty anything is not warm. The 40s, that’s a different story.

      I have to admit to a little cheat. I used to have a spouse, but that was the only word I could make work with house.

      David is pretty cool. They dressed as Roger and Jessica Rabbit for Halloween. They were really cute.

  2. March 8, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Completely the wrong place for this comment, but your email addy got lost in my reformat! Just wanted you to know, all of the lilies are coming up…all of them! I just noticed today 🙂

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 9, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      No problem at all posting here. I’m so happy the lillies are growing. Yay!


Leave a Reply

