Found a Seed Sale

♫♪Seeds, Glorious Seeds♫♪ 

 

I’d been saving my Home Depot gift card from Christmas to use on this year’s garden and decided to buy some seeds and seed starting mix.  I paid full retail for the bottom three rows of seeds: 

  • Organic bell pepper
  • Organic Brandywine tomatoes
  • Organic pickling cucumbers
  • Okra
  • Yellow squash (hybird)
  • Brussles sprouts
  • Snow peas
  • Yard Long beans

There were still a few of what I considered unusual veggies I wanted, and in my search I ran across Neeps Lawn & Garden.  Most of their seeds were marked down to half, they had everything I was looking for (except the mini bells, the yellow tomatoes and the super sweet cherry tomatoes weren’t in stock).  But best of all, their shipping is only $2.00.  

I like the way they have the seeds organized.  You can read the characteristics of each seed and compare the different varieties.  I ended up ordering: 

  • Super sweet early corn (giving one package to mother-in-law)
  • Hales best cantelope
  • Pickling cucumbers (giving to mother-in-law)
  • Brandywine tomatoes (giving to mother-in-law)
  • Blue Lake bush beans
  • Sugarbaby watermelon

My unusuals: 

  • Lemon cucumber
  • Carrot Nutri-Red (high in lycopene)
  • Bright Lights swiss chard
  • Armenian Yard Long cucumbers
  • Southern Giant Curled mustard greens

If there are a few seeds you’re still in need of, you can’t go wrong giving them a try. 

I wish I had remembered to look at the flower seeds so I could have ordered the bicolored marigolds and the nasturtiums.  There’s probably another seed order on the horizon. 

Happy Gardening!!

6 Comments

  1. stefaneener said,

    February 9, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I love lemon cucumbers. They taste very nice and look like flowers cut crosswise.

    • gardengoodies said,

      February 10, 2010 at 1:35 am

      I love any kind of cucumbers. I would cut them so they’d look like lemon wedges, but I bet the other way looks pretty on a salad.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    February 9, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Cheryl, i’ve been wondering about that lemon cucumber myself. It just looks so wrong! Let us know how it tastes.

    • gardengoodies said,

      February 10, 2010 at 1:40 am

      EG, you sound just like my mother-in-law. When I mentioned ordering lemon cucumbers and yard long beans and colored swiss chard she got really quiet. Her silence said more about what she was thinking than her words ever could. I like the novelty, and they really do taste just like cucumbers.

  3. Kate said,

    February 16, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    I’ve killed off two lemon cucumber plants. I think I should kill off a 3rd one this year. I’ll add that to the list – thanks for the reminder. Hopefully I can break my record of a 3-week lifespan this time around.

    • gardengoodies said,

      February 20, 2010 at 9:24 pm

      Hi, Kate. Nope, you can’t fool me. I know how well you can get those babies growing now. If you decide to grow them, they’ll be in good hands.


Leave a Reply

