Garden Goodies from the Garden Tour

I tried to root a piece of lemon balm that one of the gardeners brought to one of the garden meetings, and it was a complete failure.  But since Thea, one of the coordinators for the group, mentioned that she had a lot of the lemon balm, I asked her if I could have a piece.  She ended up bringing enough to the tour so that everybody could have one.  

Thanks, Thea.  The lemon balm is happy in its new home.09-07-09

And, Flo, your water lilly is doing fine…even has new roots.  I’ll have to read up on how to take care of it.09-06-09 (24)

The day after we talked about having the tour, I got a bunch of plastic cups and stuck my strawberry runners in them.  By the time of the tour, they had all (minus the two that I forgot to put holes in the cups) produced roots that were growing out of the bottom of the cups.08-30-09 (30) - StrawberriesThat was my gift to the group, strawberry plants, sandwiches and carrot cake…healthy carrot cake. 

I baked up another batch Sunday, and my daughter helped me decorate the cakes. 09-06-09 (36)09-06-09 (35)

Here they are after my daughter snazzied them up.09-06-09 (37)

She did this one herself.  Too cute.09-06-09 (34)

The original recipe came from Sparks Recipes, submitted by Pastor David.  I did tweak the recipe just a little.

I didn’t have apple sauce, so I used the vanilla yogurt I had in the fridge.  Instead of 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour, I used close to a 50/50 mix.  Instead of using 6 egg whites, I used 5 egg whites and 1 whole egg.  I added a couple tablespoons of granulated sugar.  I didn’t use raisins, only because I just never did before.  The only other change I’ll make next time is to add the dry spices to the flour and then mix as opposed to adding them to the liquids.

I like to make the carrot cakes on the thin side so they’re not so mushy in the middle.  This recipe yielded two round layers and two loaf layers.  If you’re looking for a healthy carrot cake recipe, you might want to give this one a try.

Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. September 8, 2009 at 11:29 am

    What a good idea, with the plastic cups and strawberries! I was procrastinating, and some of my berries have rooted in the pathways. I never thought to use cups, I was hoarding little plastic pots.

    Those carrot cakes are adorable! That’s Mr. H’s favorite cake.

    • gardengoodies said,

      September 8, 2009 at 3:15 pm

      I read on somebody’s blog that that’s what they did with their strawberries…maybe not the plastic cups, but they rooted the daughter while she was still attached to the mother. I hadn’t been payng too much attention to the strawberries and didn’t realize that there were so many runners. Maybe that’s why I didn’t get a second crop??? All the runners came from my free strawberries. The ones I paid money for are still just sitting there.

  2. September 9, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I love carrot cake!!!! They are decorated so pretty!

  3. gardengoodies said,

    September 10, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Thanks, Toni. I’m discovering a few hidden talents my daugher has.

  4. stefaneener said,

    September 27, 2009 at 1:02 am

    What a thoughtful idea with the strawberries! I’ll have to remember that.

    • gardengoodies said,

      October 4, 2009 at 6:41 am

      Forgive me for replying so late. Anywho….the first batch worked out great. They rooted in a couple of weeks. I started another batch later with the cut off runners and they haven’t rooted so well. I think it’s a combination of the weather being cooler and the fact that they were separated from the mother plant. Next year I’ll catch the daughter plants earlier and get a batch of new plants and then cut off the runners so that the mother plant can stay strong. Experiment, experiment, experiment.


Leave a Reply

