Time to play catch-up.

Sorry I haven’t been posting lately, but I’ll try to catch up a little.  If I tried to catch up on everything that’s happened over the past three weeks I’d be writing a novel, so here’s a few highlights.

I missed Kate’s Garden Blogger’s Death Day even though I had some sorry looking cucumber plants that have been euthanized.   Most of the lemon cucumber plants were full of mold or fungus or whatever it was, so they got pulled.  They were really cute and made nice crunchy pickles, so I’ll be growing them next year.

And I missed Daphne’s Harvest Monday even though I had a few things I harvested.

Cherry tomatoes and cucumbers (I got so excited about making pickles that I forgot to take a picture before I used the cucumbers).  Very tasty pickles indeed.  Lemon cucumbers on the left and pickling cucumbers on the right.   (8-12-09)08-12-09

2 lemon cukes, 4 pickling cukes, and lots of cherry tomatoes. (8-16-09)08-16-09

3 lemon cukes, 2 beefsteak tomatoes, 4 Aztec tomatoes, and lots of cherry tomatoes (8-18-09)08-18-09

One lemon cucumber, one pickling cucumber and cherry tomatoes.  (8-20-09).08-20-~1

A few kale leaves (top), a few broccoli raab leaves (bottom), three bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, Egyptian Walking Onions…that didn’t do any walking. (9-3-09)   *I missed taking pictures of a couple harvests of tomatoes and cukes.*09-03-09 (2)I have been waiting all summer for these onions to make the tops with the little onions on them.  I only had a couple that made the tops, which I re-planted the little baby onion bulbs.  They’re still alive, just not growing much.  Looks like another trip to my aunts house to beg up on some of her bulbs.  This year I’ll actually plant them in the fall instead of leaving them in a plastic bag outside all winter and then planting them in the summer.  I should be happy they grew at all with the abuse they went through living in a plastic bag all winter.

And here are a few radishes, one carrot, four cukes, a few string beans, green Aztec tomatoes, a few habanero peppers and my total harvest of bell peppers.  (9-4-09).09-04-09 (4)

Just look at that carrot.  That’s the best carrot I grew this year.  This was a second planting of carrots in one of the empty squares.  The others are still in the ground, but they don’t look like they’re growing too big.09-04-09 (6)

Between the squirrels rediscovering my garden and inviting their friends over for the smorgasbord, I made a decision to pick the few bell peppers that grew.  Other than the cherry tomatoes and the lettuce at the beginning of the season, I haven’t been too happy with the garden production this year.  After seeing some of the gardens in the Garden tour I went on last Sunday (more on that tomorrow), I have come to the conclusion that it’s the trees.  By 1:00 or 2:00 the vegetable garden is completely shaded out.   Getting those trees gone is on my to-do list.

Providing a playground for the squirrels is another reason to get rid of the trees.  Squirrels…the bane of my existence.  I grew my egg plants from seeds.  I only kept two of them.  One went into a pot, one into the ground.  I’ve been nursing these babies along since April waiting all summer for the first egg plant.  Finally, a beautiful bloom…06-15-09

A couple weeks later, the egg plant cometh….Forgot to set the date on the camera (3)

And the next morning the egg plant goeth…The Next Day

I thought it was something exotic like the possum that got the egg plant, then I realized it was the @%&#ing squirrels when I found little nibblets of cucumbers and tomato peels on the ground.  Not only did they take the developing egg plant, but they decided they like the egg plant blooms too.   The little #%$%*#s got my one watermelon that set.  It was only the size of a gumball and it probably wouldn’t have matured, but, dang it, it was my watermelon. 

Then they really crossed the line.   Take a look at this.Ripening Raspberries Pre-SquirrelsRound 2 of ripening raspberries growing in containers.  I stuck the bamboo canes in the four corners of the containers and tied the canes with string to keep everything nice and neat looking, and two days after this one of those little @&^$#^s  had eaten the raspberries and I’m seeing raspberry leaves on the ground.

THOU SHALT NOT MESS WITH MY RASPBERRIES!!!  They just don’t know.  Their days are numbered.

Happy Gardening!!

4 Comments

  1. September 6, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    OMG, I’d trap the little suckers and move them a hundred miles away! I have squirrels running across my garden fence all day long, but they never bother anything in the garden. I guess they are too well fed by the neighbor’s walnuts. I thought I had a big problem with sparrows decapitating my peas and lettuce, but that’s nothing compared to what you must put up with. Maybe you need to surround your entire garden with chicken wire, including over the top, and put in an entry gate. I’ve seen a lot of gardens like that in Arizona, because of the rabbit population.

    • gardengoodies said,

      September 7, 2009 at 4:00 am

      My solution for those little suckers is less time-consuming than trapping them. It’s a shame such a little creature can made one think such evil thoughts. Me and the birds get along just fine. They’ll come around mostly in the morning, probably to catch a few worms. The biggest problem I ever had with them was them eating the grass seeds. I thought about the chicken wire for the egg plant in the container. If I see another bloom developing that’s exactly what I’ll be doing.

      I can picture what you’re talking about with the chicken wire. I’m remembering a picture of one of EG’s beds that he covered to stop the deer, I think. That’ll take more talent than I have and more expense than I really want to put into it. My solution is cheaper.


Leave a Reply

