Harvest Monday

Here’s my two pounds worth to contribute to Harvest Monday hosted by Daphne’s Dandelions.

This is my entire 4-square-foot corn harvest (plus the one I picked the day before).  A couple of them may have filled out a little more, but I had left the corn too long the last time I planted corn and didn’t want to take a  chance.  So, we have five ears of corn, three lemon cucumbers, a handful of cherry tomatoes, and one pickling cucumber.08-05-09 (5)

Here we have a guest Harvest Artist.  This is my niece.  She couldn’t work the veggies in the bowl into her “artwork.”  So, we have 1 strawberry, a bunch of cherry tomatoes, four lemon cucumbers and two beefsteak tomatoes.08-07-09

Here we’ve got two cucumbers.  Somehow I missed them because I would have picked them before they got so big.  But I’m glad I did miss them.  They tasted so much sweeter and were so much jucier than the ones that I’ve been picking while they’ve been small.08-08-09

And here is today’s harvest:  4 (mini) fennel bulbs, 1 ripe Aztec tomato, 4 green Aztec tomatoes (the branch had bent and the tomatoes were laying on the ground), 1 squash, 1 pickling cucumber, a bunch of cherry tomatoes, 27 (I know it’s hard to see them) habanero peppers, and four lemon cucumbers.  The big, round, orange lemon cucumber was one I missed.  It’s going to be the seed for next year.  Yeah, it’s a hybird, but I’m curious to see what will grow from the second generation of seeds.08-10-09 (14)

Here are two peppers growing on the plant that had the four  fennel plants in the same pot.  08-10-09 (4)I read somewhere that fennel interferes with the growth of  some plants.  Since I don’t really eat them, I just went ahead and pulled them out.  They are pretty plants, though.

Here’s the plant that all of the habanero peppers came from:08-10-09 (2)It’s doing so much better than the in-ground habaneros.  I’m hoping that by removing all of the peppers on the plant it will trigger another growth spurt with more flowers for another round of peppers before it gets too cold.  I gave all but four of them to my mother-in-law and her husband today. 

If you remember the container egg plant with the two volunteer tomato plants, here’s a picture of that.08-10-09I’ve had a number of egg plant flowers, but not a single fruit has developed.  Whatever the problem is, it’s not affecting the tomato plants.   They’re growing and flowering and making little tomatoes.

We’ve had warmer weather the last few days.  Between that and my making a decision to water more I can actually see a difference in the plants. 

Anyway, that’s it for now.  I’ve been up and moving most of the day and I’m just a little too tired to think straight.  So, goodnite, Folks.

Happy Gardening!!

14 Comments

  1. redinthehead said,

    August 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Beautiful pictures!!! I think eggplant needs warm weather before it does anything. I started some from seed this year. They are finally growing after having an extended wet, cool Spring.

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 11, 2009 at 7:51 am

      Thanks. I started these from seed too. It sounds like we’ve had the same weather conditions. This has been just the craziest spring/summer as far as the weather is concerned.

      I only kept two of the plants. One’s in the ground and one’s in the container. The one in the ground is just kinda sitting there. It’s only got maybe six leaves on it. Check back in with me. I’d love to know when your first egg plant is ready to harvest.

  2. August 11, 2009 at 1:13 am

    I just love your harvest pictures! If you wouldn’t put that darned date stamp on about three of these, I’d copy them and frame them for my kitchen 😉

    That Guest Harvest Artist is a cutie, too.

    One of the dogs jumped the fence and uprooted my lilies. I found them in the grass, only slightly chewed, but still in pretty good shape. I’ve moved them to a temporary safe location in a pot. I think it was Annie, because she was barfing that next day.

  3. gardengoodies said,

    August 11, 2009 at 7:56 am

    I put the date stamp on them so I can keep up with when they were taken. My memory card is serving as my garden diary too.

    Oh, no. Poor Annie. I hope she’s okay.

  4. engineeredgarden said,

    August 11, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Good job, Cheryl! I’d say that was a good harvest for the week, especially those cherry tomatoes!

  5. gardengoodies said,

    August 11, 2009 at 8:11 am

    The tomatoes are the only thing in the garden that I’m really satisfied with. They’ve started going over the top of the trellis now, and the trellis is about seven feet tall.

  6. john best said,

    August 11, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    We had a beautiful spring, the problem is the weather never changed and its the 11th of August. Our eggplant looks like crap.
    John

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 11, 2009 at 10:35 pm

      Yup. I always think of August as the hottest month of the year, but I swear I’ve seen a couple of trees with leaves turning color already. Maybe they were hit by lightening or something which caused damage, but this is some really freaky weather.

  7. Dan said,

    August 12, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Your fennel looks excellent! I just planted some a couple weeks ago, I hope it grows well in the fall. I have always wanted to try fennel.

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 13, 2009 at 10:54 pm

      The seeds took forever to germinate and then took another forever to start growing (I’m talking two months). They didn’t really start growing until I transplanted them (thinking they were dill). I just read that they’re “slightly” frost tolerant, so hopefully you’ll get great big bulbs!!

  8. stefaneener said,

    August 26, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Eggplant always seems sort of a hit or miss thing here. Your harvest is just beautiful, as is your assistant!

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 27, 2009 at 7:37 am

      I had visions of this pretty plant with the little shinny black fruit on it. Between the horrid little squirrels and Mother Nature being stingy with the warm weather it’s getting hard to hold out hope for this year.

      My little helper is something else. She’s one of those 40-year old women packed in a 7-year old body. Never a dull moment with her around.

  9. Kate said,

    September 4, 2009 at 9:55 am

    WOWOWOW!! How awesome is that? You’re growing stuff left and right!!! What do you do with the fennel? I’ve only used it in one recipe with fish that is quite delish (nice rhyme). Do you have a favorite go-to fennel recipe?

    • gardengoodies said,

      September 6, 2009 at 5:19 am

      The most I did with the fennel was to break off some of the top growth and pop it in my mouth and marvel at how much it tasted like licorice. I’m ashamed to say that the plants in the picture ended up in the compost pile.


Leave a Reply

