Garden Blogger’s Death Day

Today is Garden Blogger’s Death Day with Kate and Crew over at Gardening Without Skills.    Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, I don’t have any deaths to post about.  Thought I was going to for a minute. 

I like to train my tomatoes to a single stem, but I figured this year I’d try letting one grow the way it wanted to grow.   After it sent out three branches, I couldn’t handle it any more, and I started pinching out all the suckers again.  Well, right in front of the tomato was the four borage plants (four in one square foot).  They were shading the tomato, and since I like to eat tomatoes more than I care for the taste of the borage leaves, I decided to pull the borage plants up.  When I got to the biggest one, I bent down and started pulling.  I was thinking as I was pulling it that, gee, this one has deeper roots than the other three. Maybe that’s why it’s bigger than they are.  As soon as I pulled it out of the ground, I realized that it was the tomato plant…the tomato plant loaded with little tomatoes.  I stuck it back in the ground and watered it …and watered it…and watered it.

Oh, wait a minute.  I just thought of something.  Let me go out and take a picture.

(Me going outside in the dark taking a picture of dead plants…neighbors wondering what my problem is)

That “watered…and watered…and watered” reminded me that I forgot to water this:07-31-09 (6)

These are some lettuce plants I transplanced and stuck in the shade in anticipation of the weather warming up.  I noticed the plants were starting to bolt, and then I kinda forgot about them.  They died due to my negligence.  Call the Plant Police.  I’m guilty of neglect.  Throw me in jail and throw away the key.

Maybe I can get time served since I’m taking good care of the tomatoes’ siblings and their cousins, the cucumbers.

(Today’s Harvest)07-31-09 (5)

Happy Gardening!!!

Toni’s grasshopper pic just reminded me of something.

Is this a grasshopper?07-26-09 (26)

Now…Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. July 31, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Plant murderer.

    The seed packet came back to our PO box today 🙂

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 1, 2009 at 5:51 am

      I dropped some bills in a mail box once that I forgot to put stamps on. It took almost a week for them to come back. They were at the back of a bundle of mail that I just dropped in the box. I’m sending out a big Thank You for your efficient postal service.

  2. Kate said,

    August 1, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Oh Cheryl – I’ve done that before! (big surprise, right?) but I’ve been pulling up an evil plant only to discover that the massive roots are from a well-loved plant. That’s the worst feeling, for sure. And LOL on the neighbor’s seeing a crazy lady with a camera and some dead plants at night. Wouldn’t you love to be a fly on the wall when they discuss THAT with their spouse? At least your post ended with a happy face of productive yumminess! Looks awesome! Thanks for participating in GBDD!

  3. gardengoodies said,

    August 2, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    It was not a pleasant experience when I realized the mistake I made. I forgot to say that even though the tomato is not as tall as the others, it’s still alive.

    I’m quite sure I’ve been the subject of some interesting dinner conversation around here.

    “See you” next month. I’m sure I’ll have killed something else by then.

  4. Daisy said,

    August 8, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I love how you’ve created artwork with your veggies. Great pics.

    • gardengoodies said,

      August 10, 2009 at 8:46 pm

      When your harvest consists of 1.0 ounces and others (who shall remain nameless, you know who you are) are pulling hundreds of pounds out of their gardens it makes you do strange things.


Leave a Reply

