A (relatively) quick update

Sorry I haven’t been posting lately.  The garden production has slowed down a lot, so I don’t have too much to post about here lately.  The yellow squash, cucumbers and cherry tomatoes are starting to produce.  Here’s my harvest from Sunday.   A couple of lemon cucumbers, a few cherry tomatoes and a yellow squash.07-26-09 (29)

I’ve been hand pollinating the squash, and so far so good.  The squash is growing up one of the Free Cycle tomato trellises, and it’s working out pretty good.  It’s growing nice and straight up.  I check the plant every morning.  The female blooms get pollinated and the leaves get stuck back into the trellis.  If I had know how well this was going to work out, I would have planted at least two squash plants.  I see I’m way ahead of last year’s squash.  Hopefully the dreaded squash borer won’t find the plant.

I’m sorry I pulled all of my lettuce plants.  The weather’s been so cool I’m sure they’d still be growing just fine.  Plus, I haven’t put anything in their place.  I planted some more bush beans, but the germination rate was two or three plants out of two Dollar Store packs of seeds.  Hmmm.  Maybe the Dollar Store is not the best place to get bean seeds. 

I’ve gone a little pot crazy.  When you don’t have much space you start working on containers.  I’ve repotted three of the four raspberry plants into larger containers since I haven’t figured out where I could put them in the ground yet.  07-28-09 (8)The bugs have been having a field day.  I’ve got to remember to spray them with the garlic/soap/pepper spray.  I can do it now since the berries are gone and I don’t have to worry about garlic tasting raspberries.

Here’s my “berry patch.”   07-28-09 (7)I’ve got three blackberry plants, one gooseberry plant, and three blueberry plants.  I’ve read up on how to prune the blackberries and I hope I’ve done it right.  Hopefully I’ll have some berries next year because this year I didn’t even see a single flower.  I have no idea how to prune the gooseberry plant, so I just tied up the branches to keep them in some kind of order.  I even got three berries off of it this year.  The bigger blueberry had a couple dozen berries on it, and the little ones that started out as twigs have put on a tiny bit of growth. 

The container habanero pepper (grown from saved seeds from a grocery store pepper) is doing fine in its container.  07-26-09 (22)I only picked one pepper from it, but I think what I’ll do is let them all ripen on the bush.  Since I don’t really use them I’m not bothered by the fact that production will slow down once the peppers mature. 

In another pot I’ve got a regular bell pepper that’s doing better than the in-ground peppers.07-28-09 (11)

I stuck what I thought was dill plants into the four corners of the pot a little while ago (experimenting with interplanting).  The dill turned out to be fennel, which I also don’t really use.  The leaves really do taste like licorice.  Maybe by the time the fennel makes a bulb I’ll have found an interesting recipe for them.

Here’s the egg plant with the volunteer tomatoes (and to the left the petunias grown from seeds).07-28-09 (10)I’m sure these were compost tomato seeds.  I figured what the heck, I’ll let them grow and see what happens.  As for the egg plant, it’s been so long ago that I grew one I can’t remember the sequence of how they grow.  It had its first flower a couple weeks ago, but I still don’t see any actual egg plants growing yet.

I got some mint plants from a Free Cycler that I’ve put into four different pots.  I love mint tea.  I’ve read that you can make tea with any berry plant leaf.  I tried it with the raspberry leaves, but it just didn’t do it for me.   But mint tea, love it, love it, love it…but I don’t love it so much that I would plant it in the ground and have it take over.

I’ve got some of the patio basil plants in pots.  07-28-09 (13)They’re cute plants and all but I don’t really use basil.  Maybe I’ll try to make some homemade pesto and broaden my culinary horizon so to speak since I’ve got these and the ones in the ground planted next to the tomatoes.

And then there’s that which needs to be in a pot.07-28-09 (16)I think plants have a drive to live and prosper that matches us humans.  This is the mother bulb from my elephant ear last year.  I tried something different this year, which was to separate the two bulbs.  Notice the flat surface on the top of the bulb?  There was another bulb on top of that with a few leaves growing on it.  I planted that into the usual spot, and three days later all the leaves were laying on the ground.  I don’t know if it was the squirrels or something else.  I see one more leaf coming on, but the plant is nowhere near where it was this time last year. 

I just transplanted the bell peppers out of the little blue SWC in back of the elephant ear.  I guess I’ll just stick the elephant ear in there.  It seems kind of cruel not to give it a real home instead of a plastic bag.

More catching up next time.

Happy Gardening!!!

10 Comments

  1. July 28, 2009 at 11:49 am

    My, what a happy harvest! It has a big smile on its face, and that put a big smile on mine 🙂

    Your plants are looking good and healthy, while mine are beginning to languish in the heat. I see you planted a few things you don’t really use. I did the same. I’m kind of a salt and pepper girl, not real big on herbs other than parsley, chives and a bit of basil. I promised myself I’ll do better next year and not waste the space on things we just give away.

    My dollar store beans out performed the pricier ones. Three packets (50-cents worth) produced over ten pounds of beans, and would have given me more if I hadn’t ripped them out to give the raspberries more room.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      Then I’m going to blame the bean fiasco on the squirrels. I’ve got two that treat the back yard like their personal playground. You’d think they’d get tired of having rocks being thrown at them, but they don’t. So far they’ve left the tomatoes alone.

      My Master Gardener friend (Gregory) had asked me to start some herb seeds for him, and the only thing that grew was the fennel, which I though was dill. When I emptied out the little containers the fennel was only a couple of inches tall after being in the containers for close to two months. I transplanted them thinking they wouldn’t grow. Surprise!

      Your plants deserve a rest…they’ve been producing and producing and producing for you.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    July 28, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Cheryl, You sure did make a funny presentation of your recent harvest!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 28, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      I was happy to finally be able to get something out of the garden. The lettuce is gone, the peas are gone, the beans are gone, the raspberries are gone, the strawberries are gone, the broccoli is gone.

      I had good intentions to do like Mel Barthalomew said, which is to keep plants growing so that when you pull one plant out you have something to plop in the empty space. Nope, didn’t do it. Oh, well, live and learn.

      • July 28, 2009 at 5:46 pm

        Never works for me either, Cheryl. If I try to start plants mid summer, I forget about them and they die. I can only seem to make it work by direct planting when I have an open space…and I opened up a space today, must figure out what to put in it!

        • gardengoodies said,

          July 28, 2009 at 11:20 pm

          If I can remember to plant the seeds, I think I’ll plant more lettuce or turnip greens. I’ll be checking to see what you end up planting.

          • July 29, 2009 at 12:18 am

            I planted some lettuce a couple of weeks ago. The germination wasn’t very good, but I did get a few heads of Romain. I transplanted them to another area of the garden (dumb move, but seemed to work). The other varieties that came up are rabbit feed, but i think I’ll be transplanting those too…the spot they are in is perfect for a row of bush beans. I already sowed beets and carrots 30 days ago, and this week put in a dozen green onions to grow up for fall. I think I’ll do buttercrunch and red Romaine lettuce in my newly cleared out 2′ x 4′ bed.

            • gardengoodies said,

              July 29, 2009 at 9:03 am

              I see a little spot by the stairs that I’ll throw some lettuce seeds on and hope for the best. I like your green onion idea.

              • July 29, 2009 at 10:29 am

                I just checked my seeds, and I have both green and red Romain, Red Sails and Buttercrunch. Sounds like a salad to me! Also some bush beans that can fill the soon to be empty potato bed. I think I’ll get another three bunches of green onions at the store, as they are on sale at the grocery store. Oh, and spinach! My best spinach last year was seeded in August!

                • gardengoodies said,

                  July 29, 2009 at 10:40 am

                  You just made me change my mind. I love spinach and it’s more expensive than lettuce in the store. That’s what I’ll put in the empty space.


Leave a Reply

