I haven’t perished like the peas.

I’m still alive and well (so is the garden…for the most part).    The first few days of my non-posting could be blamed on me misplacing my camera (again) and wanting to wait until I found it so I could add pictures to the post.  This last week I’ve been swamped with work.   You know that saying When it rains is pours?  Well, I’m experiencing a minor tsunami. 

Here’s a quick update on what’s happening in the garden:

  • The raspberries are down to two or three berries
  • The tallest corn is only waist high but I saw a tassel on the plant today
  • Pulled the bean plants…all12 of them
  • The everbearing strawberries are beginning to fruit…a few of them anyway
  • I’m seeing a few flowers on the strawberries that I thought were June bearers
  • I see two habanero peppers developing
  • All but one of the broccoli plants are heading up
  • I had a couple dozen little blueberries on the nice-sized plant I bought
  • The bushmaster cucumber is loaded with cucumbers…too bad they’re  two inches long
  • I’m expecting to be able to harvest a yellow squash in the next few days
  • We trimmed some of the lower branches of the trees, but the garden is still shaded more than I’d like
  • The bugs have almost completely defoliated the potatoes…I saw two of the culprits today and quickly dispatched them.
  • The bell peppers are perking up, finally beginning to show some flowers.

All right.  That’s enough playing hookey from work.  I’m looking forward to catching up with everybody’s gardens once this storm is over.

Happy Gardening!!

10 Comments

  1. Diana said,

    July 14, 2009 at 6:56 am

    The cool summer, clouds and the flooding rain in June nearly did my garden in. This week we finally have some sun and the garden took off. But summer is short here so I hope all is not too late. Such is gardening hey?

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 15, 2009 at 5:51 am

      Hi Diana,
      Glad your summer has come. I can relate to the rain a little. No floods, but it just won’t stop raining for more than a few days. Good luck with yours. Hope you have many hot days so the plants can catch up before fall sets in.

  2. July 14, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Hi Cheryl! My camera was MIA yesterday… I was lost without it! Then, I realized late last night after I harvested baby gourmet yukon gold potatoes… and 4 bunches of broccoli… that my camera was in the bag I use for church! Sigh…

    I’m glad that I’m NOT the only who misplaces her camera!!!
    Hope you find it soon Cheryl! Looking forward to seeing updates on your garden.

    Have a nice day!

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 15, 2009 at 5:57 am

      Hi, Toni,
      I finally found it…it was in the basket I used to carry stuff out to the garden. I always take the cell phone, the house phone, the camera and it’s easier to handle in a basket.

      I dug around in my potatoes last night trying to find one baby potato. I couldn’t find anything. They never flowered and the bugs have eaten almost all the leaves. My plan was to just dig that spot up today and put in something that has a chance of maturing before it gets too cold, but it’s raining. Just as well. I’m still not quite finished with my work and I don’t need to be playing in the garden anyway. I guess that’s the Big Guy’s way of making me stay put and finish.

  3. July 14, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Well, thank heavens you’re still alive and kickin”. I was beginning to wonder 😉

    Hurry and find that camera….a picture is worth about a million words in the world of gardening.

    Ditto with my raspberries.

    Ditto with my Bushmaster cucumber.

    I’m thrilled with my everbearing strawberries! We actually got enough in one picking to have shortcake last night!

    You would lust over my peppers. If they can withstand the high winds, I’ll have a bumper crop.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    July 15, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Having fresh raspberries was such a treat. When I got them last year, I gave a couple of the plants to my mother-in-law and she let them die (badddd mother-in-law). I’m going have a little mercy on her this year. I’ve pulled a couple of the runners and potted them up. If I can nurse them along into nice healthy plants that she can stick in the ground and they survive on their own, I’ll give them to her…maybe…if I can part with them. Sometimes when I give her plants I feel like I’m putting a child in the house with a child abuser. But she’s got a good gardening heart and she really wants them to grow, so I keep sending my babies over there and hope for the best.

    I think I goofed with where I planted the everbearing strawberries. The hosta plant is now a hosta bush which shades them and the trees have grown taller and shades them. I added sand to the dirt, which I’ve never done, and it seems too heavy. I’ll bet that your shortcake was good, and I see strawberry preserves in your future.

    And, yes, I’m lusting. Last year my peppers did so well that I’ve still got a few in the freezer. This year, I don’t think so. You’re lucky (talented) to have yours doing so well.

    Back to work. I intend to get done and have the weekend to myself. I’ve got to catch up with everybody’s gardens.

  5. Judy said,

    July 19, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I’ve been playing hooky from my blog as well this past week YIKES! It just seems like so many things are going on all at once…. makes it hard to catch up.

    I finally got my batteries for the camera re-charged LOL So I can take some more pics too for posting on the blog. Hopefully things can slow down a bit for us soon!

  6. gardengoodies said,

    July 19, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Speaking of charging batteries…after I found the camera the batteries were dead. I replaced them with the other set of rechargeables, but now I can’t find the charging unit. There’s a little life left in these batteries. Hopefully I’ll be able to take a few minutes too and catch up.

  7. Kate said,

    July 20, 2009 at 6:26 am

    How dare you let real life get in the way of blogging? LOL. I’m glad you’re doing well and that your garden seems to be in one piece! My camera batteries died yesterday and I can’t find the charger now…soooo frustrating. I’m always jealous you have so much still alive! Will drum fingers until you get back to blogging. Hope you catch up on everything and can go back to lazy summer days in the garden.

  8. gardengoodies said,

    July 23, 2009 at 10:11 am

    See how bad I am now. It’s been three days since I checked my dashboard. I got caught up with my work, now I’m trying to stay on top of things.

    Lazy summer days? I wonder if we’ll see many of those. The weather feels more like early fall than the middle of summer. The only thing that’s doing relatively well despite the cool air is the tomatoes…lots of green tomatoes. Now I wish I had planted more beefsteak varieties. One beefsteak=10 cherries by weight. Oh, well, there’s always next year.


Leave a Reply

