The Peas Have Perished

In keeping with Garden Bloggers’ Death Day hosted by Kate and Crew over at Gardening Without Skills I give you …

The Peas05-30-09 (11)March 16, 2009 – June 21, 2009

We’re saddened to have to announce that The Peas have passed on.  The Peas started life under trying circumstances, but through it all they persevered.  It is said, “That which does not kill you makes you stronger,” and despite being exposed to snow and freezing winds and even a hail storm, The Peas grew strong and tall.06-21-09 (14)

However, looks can be deceiving.  In recent times, The Peas had stopped producing their beautiful blooms.  The plant was in a virtual coma and the outlook for The Peas to recover and start producing proflic pods of succulent snow peas or snap peas was bleak.  The hot weather had taken its toll on the poor Peas.  So, on June 21, 2009 the decision was made to harvest the last few pods that The Peas had to give of  themselves, and the plug was pulled.

The Peas will live on, however.  The bodies were donated to the compost pile.  In a little while, the spirit of The Peas will be scattered throughout the whole garden…the circle of life continues.06-23-09 (14)

(OR)

I get a whole lot more string beans per plant compared to peas, so out they went so I can plant some more beans.

Happy Gardening!!!

16 Comments

  1. Kate said,

    June 30, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Cheryl – I am bowing my head and saying a few words in remembrance of your peas. They fought a tough battle and will always be remembered for their strength. At least you were able to get some peas from them, right? It’s the whole Lion King “Circle of Life” thing going on in the garden huh? LOL. Will you try peas again or go with a different variety? I’m determined to grow some to the point of production next time around, but I’m looking for a super hardy variety.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    June 30, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    It seems many of us are beginning to remove some veggies, and replant with new ones. My beans are getting the axe this weekend.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm

      Kate, thank you for your condolences. I planted peas for my daughter, but as it turned out the time she was here and the time the peas started producing wasn’t in sync. I think next year I’ll try to do more spinach. I wish string beans were cold weather crops instead of warm weather crops because those I really like.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 30, 2009 at 5:31 pm

      EG-You must have planted bush beans too. My aunt likes the pole beans because they can go all summer. Are you going to do another round of beans or do you have something else in mind?

  3. Dan said,

    June 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    I can’t wait to get my peas out, one more picking and they are compost. It is always nice to start fresh crops in the garden.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 1, 2009 at 9:45 am

      Now that I’m looking at so much bare ground, I kind of miss the greenery from the peas. I’ll keep an eye out to see what you replace yours with. I’m still up in the air on what I’ll re-plant other than the beans. Decsions, decisions.

  4. July 1, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I killed off my early bush beans today. Ripped them right out without a qualm. Peas go tomorrow. RIP, early crops.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 1, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Murderer!! Murderer!! You sound like you’re having just too much fun. :~)

      So, what’s your plan for Round 2?

      • July 1, 2009 at 10:13 am

        Bush bean removal cleared up the raspberry bed, so they can sucker out for a BIG crop next year….in fact, I think this year’s indeterminate tomato bed will be raspberry bed #2 next year. I want enough plants for jam and freezing. I may use the cleared out space for some lettuce and fall spinach, as the dogs keep digging out the new bed I made for those crops. The snap pea removal gave me a corner for a hill of zucchini. I have four empty squares from beet removal that I haven’t decided on yet. I think a cherry tomato plant is growing out of bounds and will fill up the soon-to-be-empty pea bed.

  5. gardengoodies said,

    July 1, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    You had me at raspberry. We’re going to call it Justifiable Homocide or Planticide. I’m sure mine are nothing but roots in the pots they’re in and need to go into a bigger container or the gro6und. I’m kind of surprised at how many canes they’re sending out even though they’re pot bound.

    Picking your own berries is really nice. We’ve got an overgrown mulberry tree that’s dropping berries all over the ground. They actually taste pretty good. When I get a little time (which hopefully it will be before they all drop to the ground) I’m going to gather a bunch of them. My grandmother used to make mulberry wine.

    Despite the fact that I haven’t had much success with the spinach, I’m going to try to plant it for the fall too.

    • July 1, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      I just blogged about the raspberry/bean bed, with photos. You can see how much happier the raspberries must be.

      • gardengoodies said,

        July 1, 2009 at 11:01 pm

        I’m popping over to take a look.

  6. July 2, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Cheryl, you’re quite the story teller! Loved it!!!!

    My peas are looking a little sad as well. More on Toni’s Video Friday…

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 3, 2009 at 3:29 am

      Hey, Tony. The weather’s finally warming up so the peas will start to slow down. I know I read someplace that you can but back the plants and they’ll send out new growth, but I can’t remember if that was peas or beans.

      I’m looking forward to the video.

  7. stefaneener said,

    July 5, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    It’s just time. The peas had no quality of life left anyhow.

  8. gardengoodies said,

    July 6, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    So true. Now if I could muster up some enthusiasm to plant something in it’s place.


Leave a Reply

