Returning after my little hiatis.

For some reason, I just haven’t really felt like taking the time to post, but I got a chance to catch up on my blog reading and I’m inspired to play catch-up now.

Starting where I left off last post, lillies make beautiful cut flowers.06-21-09 (22)

The borage plants are blooming.  The one in the raised bed that had the second “hoop house” over it is a good four feet tall, the one in the raised strawberry bed and the one in a pot are both about a foot tall.  Here’s a pic of the one in the raised bed.   This is the bloom at the very top of the plant, and now it’s sending out side shoots that have blooms on the tips.06-23-09 (2)

The broccoli started heading up (all six of them).  Maybe it was the hot weather we had for a few days straight, but this one started flowering when the head was about the size of an orange and I picked it today.06-23-09 (8)

I’ve been picking string beans every day (3 squares/4 plants per square).  I planted both yellow and green.  I like the taste better of the yellow, but the green produces more.  I keep threatening to plant more because I like them so well.  No more excuses.  I went to the store and bought some today.06-23-09 (5)

Here’s the bed with the tomatoes.  I’m using my Free Cycle stakes, but as you can see, it won’t be long before they outgrow the stakes.  So….06-20-09 (2)

Out with the Free Cycle, in with last year’s model.06-26-09 (4)I don’t know if you can tell, but all (or most anyway, some might be light peeking through the leaves) of the yellow dots are tomato blooms.   I did a lot of pruning and took the time to tie the tomatoes to the trellis.  The trellis is seven or eight feet tall and the vines are halfway up and it’s not even July.  I’m going to have to come up with a way to keep them growing past the trellis because I don’t want to cut the top of the vine back.

Looks like the majority of the tomatoes will be this kind…06-26-09 (10)

The strawberries are down to the last berry waiting to ripen, but it’s sending out lots of runners.  I hope I can remember to get little pots and put the runner tips in them like I saw somebody posting about on their blog (forgive me for not remembering where I saw it).

Most of the lettuce is bolting and with the hotter weather coming I know the peas are about done, so I went from this…06-21-09 (14)

To this…06-23-09 (13)

To this…06-28-09 (12)Those are double-decker Free Cycle stakes.  My thought was to plant pole beans down the middle and the stakes would support them.  I don’t have any pole beans in my little stash, so I’ll stop by Home Depot or Menards to see if they have some.  If not, I’ll do cucumbers there or just go with the bush beans in that spot.

All the scraggly bushes belong to my neighbor, but I don’t have the nerve to say anything to her about it because the trees along the side of the garage are growing so much they’re almost knocking on her back door.  I wish I had just bit the bullet and had everything taken out at once when I first got here.

The best news is the raspberries have started ripening.  They not huge or plentiful, but they sure are good.06-25-09 (2)

06-27-09

06-28-09 (5)These are from my Free Cycle raspberry plants I got last year.  They’re in four different pots, but I like being able to pick my own raspberries so much that I want to find a permanent place in the ground for them.  I’m going to really have to think on this one.

Anyway, I’m feeling the call of nature.  The weather is absolutely beauitful with a nice breeze blowing.  I’m going to go out and give my parched plants a drink of water.

Happy Gardening!!

6 Comments

  1. Liisa said,

    June 28, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Cheryl,

    Your harvest looks wonderful and so does your garden. I really want to try and grow broccoli some time.

  2. gardengoodies said,

    June 28, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I think the harvest looks pretty too…puny, but pretty. As for the yard, too much vegetation along the fence and too, too many trees.

    Broccoli is actually a pretty efficient plant. All parts are edible: The leaves, the stem, and the head. And when you cut the main head, you get little side shoots, kind of like a mini head. My hope is to plant for a fall harvest. I think you’re supposed to do the transplants sometime in July. I’ve got broccoli raab to try this time. Give it a shot and see what happens.

  3. June 28, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I love those lilies! They are such a gorgeous shade of yellow. The harvest looks pretty good, too. I don’t get many berries yet, so I toss them in a bag in the freezer until I have enough for a smoothie. This morning I had a strawberry smoothie with a piece of toasted oatmeal bread and peanut butter…mmmm, good!

    I missed you!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 28, 2009 at 10:20 pm

      Oh, the berries. I’ve got no will power. They get washed and munched.

      Now why’d you have to go and mention food? Now I want a peanut butter and homemade strawberry fruit spread sandwich with a nice cold cup of milk.

      p.s. It’s nice to be missed.

  4. June 29, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Enjoyed your post!

    I just love lilies!!! Everything looks so good!!!

    My garden is coming along. We’ve been harvesting radishes and salad greens so far…

    Just back from giving all my beds a good drink.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 29, 2009 at 6:37 pm

      The lilies were nice while they lasted. There’s just a few blooms left. I see my neighbor has some blood orange ones in her yard. It would be nice to have different varieties blooming all summer.

      I’m down to my last few lettuce plants (boo-hoo).

      It’s time to sit back and have a nice cup of tea after doing all that watering.


Leave a Reply

