Tell me why…

Why would anyone purposely plant midget vegetables?  I wish I had asked myself that before I planted “Danvers HALF LONG” carrots.  What was I thinking?  Now I’ve got no right to complain about my 2009 Round 1 Carrot Harvest 10.2 oz (minus tops and tap root).

100_0397

Next go round I’ll look for a variety with a name like Giant, Mamoth, Big Daddy, Jumbo, Collosal, Massive, Huge.   It’s just cruel to have a carrot top that’s 18 inches tall and a one-inch carrot.

Well, the good news is the light bulb turned on (although so, so late) about choosing a large variety of carrot and I’ve got composting materials. 

13 strawberries today.  There may be just a few more on the plants now.  I’m making, depending on how well it sets up, jelly (or) jam (or) fruit spread with these.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed these strawberries via Free Cycle plants.  The purchased ones have got a lot of catching up to do.

Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. June 22, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Oh shoot Cheryl… that’s the variety that I planted for my carrots too! I thought that they’re supposed to get 5-6″ long??

    Well, hope that they’re tasty anyway! Congrats on the strawberries… we’ve started picking a few here and there… they’re sooo good!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 22, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      If you include the tap root, they’re longer than 5-6 inches. They taste all right, but it’s so little to work with. Oh, well. Next time will be better.

      I just picked two of the last four strawberries. I’m sure going to miss them. I don’t think the everbearing plants are going to do this well.

  2. June 22, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Cheryl, I’m upset that the “Chantenay” carrots I planted look exactly like that! They are supposed to be a 7″ long tapered variety, but every one of them is about 1-2″ long. The are in the same bed as my other carrots, which are growing normally. These were a package of seeds sent as a freebie from a seed company. You wouldn’t think they would be mislabeled. They’re only good for feeding the rabbit….I want a REAL carrot for eating! In the future, I’ll stick with my good ole standby Imperator. It has never failed to please.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 22, 2009 at 9:45 pm

      Imperator, Imperator, Imperator. I’m trying to commit it to memory so I’ll know which ones to get when I go to the store.

      I don’t know what I was thinking. With a carrot that’s supposed to be big, you can just pick it early and still have a good sized carrot. I really want to grow some nice sized carrots.

      I guess the seeds companies do make mistakes. While I was clearing out the lettuce, I saw one swiss chard plant.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    June 22, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Cheryl, that’s kinda the same as I did last year with the sugar baby watermelons (not worth the trouble)

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 22, 2009 at 9:49 pm

      How’d they do? I figured with the little bit of space I have that the sugar baby would have the best chance of success. I gave my mother-in-law a couple of plants and hers did really well. They were actually large for a sugar baby. I’m waiting to see how big your monster watermelon is going to get.


Leave a Reply

