Garden Update

The weather’s been really unpleasant lately. Either too cool for this time of the year or rainy. Yesterday we finally had a little nice weather and I got outside for a little bit.  The harvest for the day was…
06-12-09 (2)

  • 20+ (forgot to count) strawberries
  • 6.1 oz. peas
  • 1 oz. parsley (over-wintered from last year)
  • 7.4 oz. green onions (3.0 from seed/4.4 from bulbs)
  • 5.3 oz. lettuce

(I hope I’m reading my notes right for the totals)

The green onions are trimmings from the seeds planted in the bed that got snowed on and  trimmings from onion bulbs interplanted with the tomatoes.  Still lots of lettuce left.

Since I last posted, the Golden Shower roses came and went (over a 5-day period), the peonies are on the tail end of their cycle…06-12-09 (21)

The lillies have started blooming…06-12-09 (9)

06-12-09 (6)

And  (above left) I found a way to contain the soil for the potatoes planted in the raised bed.  As soon as I find my pruners, I’ll cut the green bamboo poles level with the beige bamboo.  The beige bamboo was a Free Cycle find.  I made a trellis for the cucumbers out of the other pieces.  Love, love, love Free Cycle.

The leaves on the potatoes are being chewed by some bug, but I can’t find anything when I look.  I’ve got some more growing in a storge bin along the side of the garage and the leaves are in perfect condition.  Today was the second (and final) hilling I did.  I hope I wasn’t too late because they’ve grown over a foot since the first hilling.

The corn is finally trying to grow and so is the container squash (?)06-12-09 (28)I thought I was planting yellow squash, but this sure looks like a little cucumber to me.

The bell peppers are pretty much sitting there in stasis, but the habanero is getting ready to flower.06-12-09 (35)

I only kept two of the habanero plants.  The other one is in the “hoop house.”  It flowered about a week ago, but the plant itself is smaller than the container pepper.

The everbearing strawberries are flowering and sending out runners…06-12-09 (15)

On the second tier in the 9:00 position is the extra borage plant I had that didn’t fit into the “hoop house.”  The largest one in the “hoop house” is about 2 1/2 feet tall and is starting to form flower buds.  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll do an update on that bed.

The broccoli is finally starting to grow…the leaves are anyway.  No heads in sight.  I wonder if I’ll be able to pick a tomato before a broccoli head because there are a few little tomatoes starting to grow.

06-12-09 (22)

And, lastly, here’s a pic of some of the developing raspberries…06-12-09 (19)

Can anybody tell me how long before I’ll (hopefully) see a nice red raspberry?

Happy Gardening!!!

9 Comments

  1. Liisa said,

    June 14, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Hi Cheryl,

    Your garden looks wonderful! What a good looking harvest! The raspberries will ripen in about a week or two depending on how much sun they are getting. But once they start it seems like just a day or two and you are picking more. You can tell they are ready by how firm the are. You’ll start to be able to feel when they are ready to pick… oh and they come off the stem really easy 😉

    Liisa

  2. gardengoodies said,

    June 14, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Thanks, Liisa. I’m a newbie at the raspberries, so I really appreciate the advice.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    June 14, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Absolutely beautiful, Cheryl….I always enjoy seeing photos of your garden. Nice harvest, too!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 14, 2009 at 11:46 am

      Thanks, EG. Taking pictures is my way of journaling so I can rememer what was going on when. Eventually I plant to print out a collage with the better pictures. Looking at the pictures is like a pick-me-up when I’m a little down.

  4. June 14, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Beautiful photos of your flowers! Love the peony.

    Looks like a yummy harvest!

  5. June 14, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Looks like our gardens are growing in unison, except for the broccoli…I’m eating ours. My borage has buds and my raspberries look just like yours. One pot of “your” lemon cukes is covered in blossoms, the other one not even a bud! Over all, I’m very happy with the way our gardens are progressing!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 15, 2009 at 12:02 am

      I’ve got three lemon cukes that I know are lemon cukes planted, and they’re just starting to need support. No blooms on them yet, though. The only thing that’s not doing so well (yet) are the peppers. At this point I don’t what’s what. I don’t know which ones are “yours” or which ones I grew from a bell pepper from the grocery store. Last year it took forever for them to start doing anything too, so maybe that’s just the way it is.

  6. Dan said,

    June 14, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Everything is coming along very nicely and that harvest looks great. The peony is beautiful!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 15, 2009 at 12:04 am

      I’ve got to admit, the strawberries were for me, me, me…and they were good.

      The only thing wrong with peonies is that they flop from the weight of the blooms, but they do make a pretty flower arrangement.


Leave a Reply

