Being at the right place at the right time.

Yesterday, I stopped by Home Depot.  I wanted to pick up some wave petunia plants.  The petunias I started from seed are not growing fast enough and I want a little color for some containers.  Anyway, I didn’t see what I wanted, but I noticed some packages of frost covers on the ground.  The packages were looking kind of grungy, so I figured they must be on sale. 

 06-05-09 (4)

I got in the line behind a customer whose card wouldn’t go through.  I started to leave, but I figured I’d grab a bag on bone meal.  I got out of line, walked over and discovered they didn’t have what I needed.  So, I got back in the line behind a couple of customers.  When it’s finally my turn, I asked the girl to check the price for me.  Guess what?  It’s not in the system.  So, she calls for a price check.  Great.  I wait a couple more minutes for the guy to come and do the price check.  Since he was looking at the package as if it came from another planet, I told him I could show him where I got it from.  On our way there, he gets stopped by another customer whose item didn’t scan at the sale price.  And since they’re fussing and asking themselves why they even came to this store, when he gave me that look, I told him yeah, it was okay to go ahead and take care of them.

While I’m waiting for him, I see this lady rushing past me with the other two packages of frost covers.  Then it clicks.  The reason it wasn’t in the system is because they don’t sell it.  I had seen the words XXXXX Farm written on the packages.  I just figured that’s where the store got it from.  You know how they have the distributors come into the stores to maintain displays?  This lady was probably there working on the displays. 

Anyway, once I realized what was up, I yelled to get the lady’s attention and told her that I had her other package, I thought it was for sale, and that I was having the store do a price check.  She said, “That’s frost cover, you know.”  I said, “Yeah, I know what it is.”   Then she surprised me and said, “Just go ahead and keep it.”  

All those delays put me at the right place at the right time to see her getting ready to leave the store so we could have that conversation.  You know what that means, right?  I have to buy a lottery ticket to see if my luck is still holding up.

Happy Gardening!!!

14 Comments

  1. June 6, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Awesome! Great find! Your patience was generously rewarded!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm

      That little incident made my day.

  2. susan said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Oh you lucky girl- I just love when that stuff happens….Im so happy for you – let me know what you win in the lottery…you are on a roll!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 6, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      Well, I forgot to buy the lottery ticket. That either means I wasn’t supposed to buy it today or I blew it.

      Many years ago I had a dream where a three-digit number had significance in it. (I can’t remember what the numbers were anymore). When I woke up, those same three numbers were on the clock. Later that morning the numbers showed up again. I forgot to buy a lottery ticket, and that evening those numbers were the winning numbers for the lottery. (playing theme from the Twilight Zone).

  3. June 6, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Seems as though you are always in the right place at the right time! I’ve just been to Home Depot and Lowe’s, looking for a less expensive siding. We found it at HD in Arizona for about $15 a sheet (4×8), but all they carry up here is the $25 cement board type. For the back of the shed, where it gets no water and cannot be seen. The shingles we bought at Lowe’s on May 31 went on sale for 10% off 3 days later. That would be equal to one free bundle 😦 I need some of your luck.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 7, 2009 at 12:05 am

      I wonder if Lowes has that price match thing where if it goes on sale within 30 days they’ll match the price. If they did, you could at least get that ten percent back.

      I’ve been known to talk to the manager about stocking certain items that I didn’t see in the store. I know you want to get the shed finished and this might not work in time for you, but Home Depot is Home Depot and they should have similar products in all their stores.

      • June 7, 2009 at 10:15 am

        Well, I am going to check on it. It always ticks me off when I buy something and it goes on sale the same week. I’ve spent right at $1000 at Lowe’s in the past couple of weeks, so it would be nice to get back that $22.80 + tax! We’ve decided painted OSB at under $6 a sheet will be just fine for the back of the shed. I mean, you saw the neighbor’s fence…why should I spend $175 on siding to impress them?

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 7, 2009 at 3:25 pm

          Lowe’s must love you guys. Hope you can get back that 10 percent. Good move on the OSB. I’m always for economizing whenever you can.

  4. Kate said,

    June 6, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Karma baby.

    Gardening Karma.

    You do good things for the garden and good stuff happens to you!!!

    What a great day!

  5. gardengoodies said,

    June 7, 2009 at 12:12 am

    You know what? It was a good day. I got absolutely nothing done in the house, but I repotted some stuff this morning and cleaned up the garage. I used a little of my homemade fish emulsion on the transplants and it didn’t kill them.

    Did I say that stuff had no odor? Oh, yeah, it does…not a fish stink, but a sickenly sweet smell.

  6. Ribbit said,

    June 7, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Woohoo!! That’s perfect.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 7, 2009 at 7:39 am

      My sentiments exactly!

  7. Melissa (Mrs.Ruiz) said,

    June 18, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    My my aren’t we lucky !! The economy could use some of your luck 🙂 happy gardening dear!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 18, 2009 at 5:27 pm

      Ahhh, Mrs. Ruiz. Long time no hear from. Things must be going pretty “peachy” on your side of town. Other than the luck with the frost cover, things are going pretty “peachy” around here too.


Leave a Reply

