Lettuce, lettuce and more lettuce.

Today was a good lettuce day. 

I harvested 1 lb. 8.6 oz from the nice and neatly planted lettuce (these are all after photos).  There’s somewhere in the neighborhood of 50 plants.06-03-09 (16)

8.8 oz from the bed planted in March that got snowed on.  It’s planted tooooo thick and the leaves don’t have a chance to grow as well as the nicely spaced out lettuce (more transplants to go to my mother-in-law’s garden).06-03-09 (18)

And lastly I harvested 2.5 oz from the lettuce plants that were transplanted into a self-watering container that’s waiting for it to warm up so I can put in sweet potato slips.  There’s 15 plants in here.06-03-09 (15)

And a mere 1.7 ounces of kale.06-03-09 (11)

Did I ever say the kale was coming along quickly?  This stuff is almost three months old.  The only reason it’s still in the ground is because it’s still cool outside and this is supposed to be a cool season crop.  I picked some of the leaves hoping that it would give the plant a jump start.

I found a cabbage worm and her eggs.

06-03-09 (9)

Yesterday I realized I was a latent plant murderer.  Today I proudly admit I’m a blatant bug murderer.

Happy Gardening!!!!

14 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    June 3, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Cheryl – I really mean it, when I say that your garden is beautiful! Wow….all of those colors make it look like a painting. Thanks for the eye candy!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 4, 2009 at 9:22 am

      Thank you, EG. I think I’m blushing a little bit. “Eye candy.” I like that.

  2. Dan said,

    June 3, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Your mixed lettuce looks great!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 4, 2009 at 9:23 am

      Dan-Thanks. It tastes pretty good too.

  3. June 3, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    Your lettuce looks fantastic. Can’t wait till I have lots to harvest! Until then… I’ll dream of a lettuce bed like yours…

    Those yucky cabbage bugs…

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 4, 2009 at 9:37 am

      Toni-Thanks. I guess this time my impatience paid off by starting the lettuce so early. I’m waiting to see how many bushels of tomatoes you’re going to harvest with all those plants.

  4. June 4, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Your gardens look so neat. Mine are quickly becoming a jungle. I’m afraid I’ll have to start ripping stuff out before it’s time to harvest. I’m thinking I like my raised bed ROWS better than SFG jumble.

  5. gardengoodies said,

    June 4, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Granny-Thanks for the “neat,” although I see plenty of junk in the background. The two beds with the lettuce and greens are easy to keep up with, I just pick the outside leaves when they get big enough. The real challenge will be trying to keep the middle bed from becoming a “SFG jumble” when all that stuff gets to growing. Right now it’s still under the cover since our weather won’t stay warm, but the plants seem to be loving the extra heat.

    p.s. I’d trade a litte not so neat for lots of space any day.

  6. susan said,

    June 4, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Cheryl…Your lettuce looks terrific- can’t wait until mine looks like that!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 5, 2009 at 5:39 am

      Thanks, Susan. Going outside and grabbing a few items to make a nice salad for lunch or dinner is the greatest. I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer.

  7. Ribbit said,

    June 4, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    WOW! You’ve inspried me to grow different kinds of lettuce than I’m used to. Way to go!

  8. gardengoodies said,

    June 5, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Ribbit, I’m happy to be an inspiration. The salad mix seeds made it so easy. (Thank you, Jewel Foods for selling them).

    I’ve still got some Deer Toung lettuce to plant. It’s supposed to be a summer lettuce that’s slow to bolt.

  9. Kate said,

    June 5, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Man – I misssed out on growing and killing lettuce this year. For some reason it wasn’t on my “to-plant” list. I did well growing lettuce last Fall, but I guess I didn’t realize I could grow it in the Spring. Hmph. Probably better that way. Double hmph. Yours looks GREAT though!! I agree with Ribbit – next time I’ll grow more different kinds of lettuce instead of just one kind.

  10. gardengoodies said,

    June 5, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Kate, I’m too cheap to buy the “gourmet” lettuce from the store. The most exotic kind I’ll buy is romaine because it’s relatively cheap at Aldi’s. Getting all this variety for next to nothing is making me really happy. I literally could eat salad all day every day and would be satisfied. I throw the kitchen sink into it, though. I start with a sprinkle of seasoned salt and garlic powder. Then I throw in boiled eggs, onions, chives, cheese, giardiniera peppers, grated carrots, bacon if it’s around, lunch meat if it’s around. I’ll be glad when the cukes and tomatoes are ready so I can grab them out of the yard too. I may or may not use salad dressing.

    Do you think it’s too late to get some going? It grows great in containers.


Leave a Reply

