Garden Blogger’s Death Day

Kate over at Gardening Without Skills is hosting a Garden Blogger’s Death Day.  I’m willing to share my dirty little secrets…so secret that I have no postmortem photographic evidence.

So, here goes.

My tree rose…06-24-08 (7)

…DEAD!!!  Didn’t make it through the winter.  Nor did the rosemary…

12-12-08_Rosemary

…the sage…12-11-08 (3)

…or the fruit tree.09-15-08 (2)

The label said that this plant was cold hardy…08-25-08

What a lie.  DEAD!!!

Everything I started in the soil blocks that started out so well…04-06-09

DEAD!!!   No, put out of their misery…euthanized.  I’ll own up to this one.  Radishes were not the best choice to start with soil blocks.  Not a single one of them made a bottom after they were transplanted.  (The flowers that were transplanted into cups and later transplanted into the garden are alive and well).

Then there’s the radishes, lettuce and spinach I planted where I usually plant the elephant ear…05-17-09 (11)

…this is the one and only radish that made a bottom before they went to seed.   Euthanized.

Oh, my goodness.  I’m a latent plant murderer!!!

23 Comments

  1. Kate said,

    June 1, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Oh boy – that is a sad, sad list of plants DOA. I’m so sorry that you’re able to participate in GB Death Day… but glad you shared your losses so I don’t feel like the only plant killer in the world. Misery loves company, baby. LOL. At least you’ve got plenty of live plants to balance it out… Did you at least get to eat that beautiful radish??????

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 1, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      Oh, yeah. I chopped it up in a salad. It was nice and peppery just like they say it should have been. But whoever said radishes were easy to grow didn’t know me.

      • June 2, 2009 at 12:01 am

        Don’t feel badly. My radishes were a failure, too. I mean, a dozen little marbles from two packages of seed could hardly be called success. I didn’t think to include my dead rosemary in my Death Day post. I guess we’ll all have to have a special picture folder, just in case this becomes a weekly or monthly bloggable.

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 2, 2009 at 7:24 am

          You think we’re the only two folks on the planet that can’t grow radishes? I got so excited when I pulled that first one and it looked like a white carrot, but that was the one and only.

          I sure hope not to have a big enough death toll to post every week, but you never know.

          • Cynthia said,

            June 2, 2009 at 8:27 am

            I must confess that I too can’t grow radishes. But the strange thing is the package said “Radishes in 25 days”. The leave are beautiful, but when you pull them, mind you 31 days later (a little extra time/prayer), nothing but a long root. So disappointed. I was looking forward to cutting them up in a salad with the rest of my greens. I wonder if the leaves are edible. I will have to research that.

            Thanks for answering on my blog regarding the plants I was trying to find names for. You were reading my mind. I just happened to be on a website and it had videos of plants and the leaves on one of their flowering plant was mine. I showed the picture to the person that gave it to me and she said yep that is what hers looks like in bloom. YAHOOO. So excited to finally know how to care for this plant. Thanks.

            • gardengoodies said,

              June 2, 2009 at 2:26 pm

              The lure of something full grown at 25-days hooks you. The tops are edible, by the way, although I can’t really say what they taste like. Just once I chopped the leaves up and threw them into a salad. The taste blended in with the rest of the greens.

              You’re welcome about the plant ID. I love the way they look. Last year I started mine in the house in February and had at least 12 plants growing. This year (because I didn’t store them properly) I only have four. I just planted them a couple of weeks ago.

          • June 2, 2009 at 11:14 am

            I have beautiful radish tops. Too bad I don’t eat tops. I pulled out two icicles yesterday, and one might have had half a chance if I’d left it alone, but the other one had nothing to show. I’m sure our 98F heat isn’t helping.

            • gardengoodies said,

              June 2, 2009 at 2:30 pm

              They put such pretty pictures on the seed packets that you just have to give them a try. My tops weren’t even pretty.

              I just knew it was cold outside yesterday, but my mother-in-law told me that we had a 20 degree drop in 15 minutes. I’ll be sooooo glad when the weather levels out around here.

  2. June 1, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    LOL!

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 2, 2009 at 7:25 am

      You’re laughing now, but just wait. Your turn will come. :~)

      • June 2, 2009 at 3:47 pm

        Oh no Gardengoodies… you’re going to jinx me!

        My radishes should be ready in a few weeks. My husband loves them… so I keep planting them… along the grid line… and tucking them here and there…

        Will let you know how it goes! It’s my first time doing SFGing.

        • gardengoodies said,

          June 2, 2009 at 5:24 pm

          Forgive me. I’m not meaning to jinx you. Sounds like you’re doing with your radishes what I’ve been doing with the lettuce.

          I really hope your radishes do well, along with everything else you’re planting. I’ll keep thowing a few seeds here and there, there’s bound to be somewhere around here that they’ll like to grow.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    June 2, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I think i’ll start a freaky metamorphis vegetable day! I’m pretty sure my tomatoes will win first place….

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 2, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      I just looked at your tomatoes. Yep. You win first place. I’m happy to say I couldn’t give you any competition in that category…yet.

      • June 2, 2009 at 5:28 pm

        EG, they look like ferns! Have you seen ferns as they unroll into new leaves? That’s what your tomatoes remind me of! Sorry!

  4. Dan said,

    June 2, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    This is a funny event. I will have to start taking pictures of the dead stuff.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 2, 2009 at 10:20 pm

      Kate’s got a great sense of humor. I’d be so upset if my garden got flooded like hers did.

  5. stefaneener said,

    June 8, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    I know I’m late to the party, but I have some death to share. Must blog soon.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    June 9, 2009 at 12:06 am

    Share, share, share. Make us feel like we’re in good company.

  7. jbest123 said,

    June 14, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Do plants that you euthanize count?

    John

  8. gardengoodies said,

    June 14, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I would think so. They’re dead too, they were just helped along a little.

  9. Gil Storey said,

    September 15, 2010 at 10:20 am

    So sad to hear that the tree rose didn’t last that long. It would have been an eye catching plant to the garden.

    • September 15, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      I was sorry to it didn’t make it, but this past fall I planted a knockout rose (yellow, my favorite color) and it’s doing fine so far. Every few weeks I get a flush of blooms.


Leave a Reply

