Green Fest at Navy Pier

I’ve got to be honest, this was not something I would have been happy to have had to pay to attend. All the community organizations had free passes to the event and a lot of the people I’ve met through the gardening groups were going, so I went too. Of course Greg Bratton was there and Stephanie, one of the faithful volunteers for Healthy South Chicago. I saw a couple of people who were at The Green Summit (Naomi Davis and LaDonna Tittle).   Dominique Bowman, Executive Director for The Green Lots Program was there.  I got a chance to meet the proprietors of Black Oaks.

The theme was about eco-friendly products.  There were clothes made out of recycled plastics, the eco-friendly tankless water heater.  They had book signings. 

There were only a few exhbits that caught my eye.

These guys sell paper made with elephant dung, a perfect addition to any compost pile after you’re done with it.100_0154

This guy was selling yard art and plant stands made from twigs. They were actually reasonable priced too.

100_0155100_0156

The best thing for me was we found some free seeds.  You know me and my free seeds.  I’ve got a fair collection of the usual seeds, so now I look for the unusual. 

 100_0161100_0162

41 inches long and 70 pounds.  That’s a pretty big squash.  Or maybe the company is fudging a little bit.  Gourmetseeds.com says they average 20 inches and 15 pounds, but that’s still impressive for a squash.

Anybody out there in the blogosphere have any experience with this particular squash?  How’d yours do?

4 Comments

  1. Dan said,

    May 18, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    That is one huge squash, I wonder what it tastes like. I have only ever grown pie pumpkins before. This year I am trying Red Kuri & Delicata.

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 19, 2009 at 12:37 am

      I did a quick search on the ones you’re growing. They’re both pretty vegetables. The package says the squash is “delicious and “sweet.” I hope it tastes good.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    May 19, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Cheryl – paper, from elephant dung? Cool! That is one freaky looking squash, good find on the free seeds.

  3. gardengoodies said,

    May 20, 2009 at 12:47 am

    It was funny. They were passing out samples of the paper and a lot of people wouldn’t even take it.

    If I was thinking right, I would have gotten a couple of packets and I could have shared some of the seeds. When I found them, I just handed them to Gregory. He’s got much more space than I have. (we’ll see if we can grow something to match your giant watermelon :~)


Leave a Reply

