Taking a day off.

Shhhh.  Don’t tell anybody, but I’ve been playing a little hookie.

100_0128

 

100_0129

I hope you can tell, but this was a nice sized cat fish.  I caught two this size one after the other.  The rest of the day their grandbabies were the only ones willing to sacrafic their lives for our enjoyment.

After I got back from fishing, I checked on the garden and saw the peas are starting to flower.  Here’s a picture I took yesterday.

100_0130

Granny:  See the X…(playing theme from the Twilight Zone)

Everything’s doing pretty good in the “hoop house.”  I’ll post about it this weekend. 

After watering the garden, a task I felt compelled to do, I was 30 minutes late for the Southeast Gardeners Meeting.  When I walked in they were in the middle of a discussion.  Of course they were.  It’s a meeting.  Anyway, Dina, the moderator/leader, said they were going around the room asking what each person needed for their gardens and what they had to offer.  I had a senior moment.  Duh.  My genius answer was enthusiasm for gardening.  I’m sure they were looking for something more tangible, but it was the best I could come up with.

Greg Bratton and his friend Walter gave a summary of what they learned at their workshop on hoop houses at Growing Power in Milwaukee.  Sounds like one of the most important things they learned is not to put the plastic on on a windy day because they were almost airborne when a strong wind came along. 

They also talked about the circulating system that’s at Growing Power which has a tank that’s used to raise Talapia and Lake Perch.  The water is circulated in a continuous loop fom the fish tank up to plants that are watered with the fish water which is a natural fertilizer.  The video gives you a synopsis of what Growing Power is all about.

Will Allen is the founder of Growing Power.  Mr. Allen won a $500,000 Genius Grant from the MacAuthur Foundation for, among other things, his creative pursuits.  Hey, anybody want to be a creative farmer? 

Gregory was really impressed with the fish tank setup and said they ran into a guy that has developed an in-home version that will allow you to raise fish meat and vegetable plants for a fraction of the cost of a commercial version.

We also had at the meeting Sarah Carlson.  Sarah is a college student filming a documentary.  It’s called The Whole Health Project.

“WHOLE HEALTH PROJECT: DOCUMENTING COMMUNITIES IN SEARCH OF TRANSFORMATION 

The current system of healthcare in the US is in crisis, and fails to relieve many of the contemporary illnesses plaguing people. This leaves many dependent on food and healthcare systems that fail to meet their needs.  In search of relief and armed with the guidance of peers, online resources, and the historical legacy of America’s relationship to the land, many  seek a healing path that leads us to a more direct relationship between ourselves and the food we consume, the environment we live in, and the communities we are a part of.”

Sarah was also at the Green Summit and got a lot of footage for her film.

Lastly, what meeting is complete without parting gifts?  One of the gardeners (please forgive me, I’m terrible with names) brought some wood ash to share with us and, of course, free seeds.

Happy Gardening!!!

 

 

 

 

10 Comments

  1. May 14, 2009 at 11:55 am

    WOW! Those are some impressive catfish! And you are so lucky to be able to attend those meetings. I haven’t even gone to look at our local Master Gardener gardening demonstration….bad me.

    Your peas are way ahead of mine. Of course, I’ve been feeding mine to the birds 😦

    I planted the last of the icicle radish seeds this week, then told Daphne I’d planted the seeds she sent me. Yep, I’m losing it! Mr. H has decided he loves radishes, and seeds are on sale for half price today…I’m off on a shopping trip! Oh, cutworms got all but three or four borage plants, so I did a little trick I read on Daphne’s Dandelions. I put little sticks all around the stems of the remaining plants. I hope it works.

  2. gardengoodies said,

    May 14, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    It was fun. I love fishing. Even the small ones give me a little thrill.

    I read about the attack of the birds. Maybe they were just pinching out the growing tips for you so your plants will branch out.

    Sorry to hear about the borage. I won’t tell you how much mine has grown under the cover. :~)

    • May 14, 2009 at 12:52 pm

      We’re expecting 30 mph winds again today. That’s mild compared to some of the wind we get here! I really wonder if I could even keep the plastic on a hoop house. Maybe I could put clear panels on the dog pen and have a hoop kennel? I’m seriously thinking of enclosing it in bird netting and using it strictly for the greens and peas!

      • gardengoodies said,

        May 14, 2009 at 1:27 pm

        Yesterday my mother-in-law told me that that they were predicting high winds for last night. I made a special trip to Home Depo to find some more 2-inch clasps. I had un-attached the plastic on the long side of the bed so I could get in there and was holding the plastic down with bricks. I knew the bricks wouldn’t hold the plastic, and I didn’t want the plastic flying through the neighborhood. The clasps were only a dollar a piece (not like what Sin found. I think he found some that were six for a dollar at The Dollar Store). The winds weren’t as bad as they predicted.

        A hoop kennel. I like that idea. I’m not sure how it’s configured, but maybe you can recycle an old shower door or some old storm windows to use as panels. Do I hear Free Cycle?

        • May 14, 2009 at 1:55 pm

          Actually, just some thick plastic sheeting would work. I would still have to install some PVC to the top, as it couldn’t have a flat “roof” for water to pool in. It would be doable, and there is all that chain link that the plastic could be attached to. Right now I have a lot of the fencing peeled back so it’s open to both gardens, but that could be replaced. The gate could be plastic covered, so I’d have walk in access…hey, I think I just envisioned a cheap greenhouse!

          • gardengoodies said,

            May 14, 2009 at 2:05 pm

            Sounds like you’ve thought it out. Looks like you’ll be adding more square feet to your already huuuuge garden.

            • May 14, 2009 at 5:05 pm

              Not in the near future. With the new garden shed yet to be built, I think that’s all I can handle this year…except I will build a shady lettuce garden area and try a bucket or two of cantaloupe. I got a bunch of seeds for half price (way under $1 a pkt.), most of them for a fall crop. Mr. H picked out the pkt. of cantaloupe and 3 pkts. of radishes.

              • gardengoodies said,

                May 14, 2009 at 9:46 pm

                You’d better watch out. You might have Mr. H out digging and planting with you (instead of just eating the enjoying the end product).

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    May 14, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Nice catfish, Cheryl! I hope you had a nice day away from work!

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      You’re a fisherman, so you know that I did.


Leave a Reply

