Seedling Sunday

The biggest gardening activity now is trotting plants in and out getting them ready to be planted in the ground (which I get a three-day rain break).   Too bad it would be committing plant murder if you just took them from inside on the shelf to outside in the ground.   This hardening off process is a little tedious.

Anyhoo…here’s a little update on my babies.

Here are the habaneros (picture taken on 4-14).  They’ve been potted in larger cups since this picture.04-10-09-6

Here are the globe basil (planted 3-18, picture taken on 4-4).04-04-09-261

Here they are on 4-17 growing in egg shells and a few Dixie cups.04-17-09-61

And here’s a comparison of the regular basil planted a couple/few weeks before the globe basil.04-12-09-122

Here’s a picture of the peas growing in the “hoop house.”04-15-09-51

 

 Here’s the ginger.  It started sprouting in December, but I didn’t plant it until about a month ago.04-17-09-41

 Here are the peppers from Annie’s Granny, the transplanted California wonder peppers, a couple globe basil, and one borage being grown in a soil block of sorts.  It was the last seed to germinate, and I scrunched the dirt around it and stuck it in with the other plants.04-17-09-81

  Here are the basil and the petunias.  I had good intentions for an Easter post, but what can I say?  The petunias have growth rates all over the place…big, medium and small.04-17-09-101

 Here’s the petunias (again), the California wonders (again) and the cat grass/wheat grass.  It came up really quick, but I should have planted the seeds thicker.04-17-09-131

 Here are some lettuce and broccoli I just transplanted.   I ended up planting them in the ground yesterday.04-17-09-141

Here are the egg plants started in soil blocks on 4-1 (picture taken 4-10)04-10-09-9

And here they are today.04-20-19

And the tomatoes.  I’m only growing three kinds: Generic cherry, generic cherry, generic beefsteak.  I started them in flats as opposed to individual pots, so I’ve been transplanting and pottting up and I haven’t been diligent about labeling them.  I think I can distinguish the beefsteak from the cherry, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to distinguish between the two cherries.  One is prettier and one has bigger tomatoes.  Oh, well.  Next year I’ll do better, but here’s one of the biggest and a couple of the smaller ones.04-20-19-7

And here they are on the growing rack.04-20-19-4

Lastly, the cucumbers:  Lemon, bushmaster and pickling.04-20-19-3

 

04-20-19-9

That’s it for today.

Happy Gardening!!!!

p.s.  All you folks with your plants already in the ground, don’t laugh at my little ones.  They’ll catch up when we get some warm weather around here.

20 Comments

  1. April 19, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Nobody laughing here! I think everything looks great. I was a planting fool today, as our weather was good and expected to stay that way for the next 15 days. At least it was the last time I looked at the forecast. Maybe if I don’t look at it again……

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      Looks like you don’t have to worry about cold weather anymore. I can’t see it being too bad after 15 days of good weather. After our three days of rain it’s supposed to warm up again. I’m hoping it’ll stay relatively warm. As ready as I am to get this stuff in the ground, last year taught me that it pays to wait until the ground is warm. The tomatoes and peppers just kind of sat there until the ground warmed up.

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    April 19, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Cheryl, you won’t hear any laughing from me, because your stuff looks alot better than my stressed plants. BTW, you must really like peppers!

  3. gardengoodies said,

    April 19, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Onions and bell peppers are my favorite. They go into almost everything that I cook. I’m down to my last few that were frozen from last year. Only had to buy a few during the winter for stuff like tuna salad.

    I’ve never been able to grow big onions, so I just grow the green onions and use them in salads and corn bread stuffing.

    p.s. Your plants look fine to me and they’ll be looking even better in a couple of weeks now that they’re outside in the sunshine.

  4. Liisa_RWC said,

    April 20, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I’m not laughing.. your basil looks way better than mine! I had to reseed, mine stopped growing once the first set of true leaves came out.

    Liisa

  5. gardengoodies said,

    April 20, 2009 at 10:17 am

    For both the regular basil and the globe basil it did take a long time after the first true leaves before any more leaves started to grow. Once I transplanted them, though, they took off. The regular basil is really leggy, so I pinched the terminal growth hoping it will bush up. Time will tell.

    **Everything in your yard looks so good, what’s a few basil seeds :~)

  6. Daphne Gould said,

    April 21, 2009 at 7:56 am

    I love your little eggshell pots. They are adorable. Do you crack them open when you plant?

  7. gardengoodies said,

    April 21, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I’ll plant in anything, but I think I’m settling in on egg shells and soil blocks for seed starting. Even though I’ve read that you can plant the whole egg shell and it will degrade, I wouldn’t do it. Last night I repotted a couple of the globe basil. I did take the whole shell off and saved the shells for the compost bin, but I think next time, I’ll just crush the egg shell up as much as I can and put it in the cup too.

  8. April 21, 2009 at 10:48 am

    I put most of my eggshells in an old blender container and keep it under the sink. When it’s full, I add some water and crush them before pouring it in my compost. Some are dried and ground to a powder that I’m going to sprinkle into the planting holes of my tomatoes. Some say it works to add calcium, others say not, I say why not…it doesn’t cost anything to try. I’ve only planted one tomato so far, and I forgot to add it. CRS

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 21, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      My grandmother kept egg shells in a water picther to water her plants. They looked great.

      I can’t remember if I did that last year with the egg shells. I know I put something in the holes with the tomatoes or the peppers. I’ve got some now I’m collecting for the yard – not enough for the compost too.

      CRS?

  9. April 21, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Can’t Remember Sh*t

  10. gardengoodies said,

    April 21, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I think it’s contageous.

  11. Dan said,

    April 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    HI! Your plants look great and you have lots of them. What does the lemon cucumber taste like or have you tried them yet? They kind of freak me out.

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 23, 2009 at 9:14 pm

      Thanks. I just can’t plant jut a few seeds, and everything (luckily) has been germinating pretty good. My mother-in-law has a big yard, and I’m going to give her some. She’s so excited this year about getting going.

      I haven’t tried the lemon cucumbers yet. Nah, they didn’t freak me out. I thought they were kinda cute.

      • April 23, 2009 at 9:38 pm

        I’m not a cucumber eater, they taste like watermelon rind to me, but my father’s very favorites were the lemon cucumbers. That was the only variety he would ever grow. Mr. H and all my grandchildren love them, so they will be impressed with the lemon cukes. Thank you for the seeds, Cheryl 🙂

        • gardengoodies said,

          April 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm

          Right back at ‘cha for the pepper seeds. I’ve been rearranging the plants and discovered I’m absolutely terrible about labeling them. I think I’ve got ten of the peppers growing that you sent (I tried to cut the lable a little differently to distinguish them). I lost the permanent marker and I can’t remember to pick up another one when I’m out. CRS :~)

          Looks like at least 10 of the 12 lemon cukes have germinated. I like the way they taste. When they’re growing I’ll grab a couple on my way to work and munch on them in the car.

  12. Emily said,

    April 24, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Cheryl,

    Your ginger looks great! I’m not sure mine is going to sprout. I dug it up a few days ago and it was soft, but no shoots.

  13. gardengoodies said,

    April 24, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I got this from the grocery store and kind of forgot I had it. When I looked in the plastic bag it had started growing. This was back in November, maybe December. I kept sprinkling a few drops of water on it until I finally got around to planting it in about March. Sometimes I’d forget. It never really dried out (or got soft), and I finally kind of laid it on top of some dirt…oops, soil and pushed it down a little. It’s been doing fine since then. It smells soooo good.

    Did you get yours from the grocery store too?

  14. Rob said,

    September 1, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Wow your habanero plants are looking nice. Can you explain in detail how to grow habaneros as lush as yours? I have intermediate knowledge on the subject, but I need a more thorough procedure to follow. Thanks!

    • gardengoodies said,

      September 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Hi, Rob:

      Honestly I didn’t do anything special to get them going. The seeds came from a ripe store-bought pepper that I purchased I think in November. I removed all the flesh from the pepper (wearing latex gloves) and left the seeds intact. After the seeds dried, I removed them from the stem and put them in an envelope. I’m thinking it was in March when I planted the seeds. I used Pro-Mix container soil for all my seedlings this year. I did keep the plants on one of those heat pads for seedlings for a while and I kept them very close to the tube lights. I ended up keeping only three of the plants for myself. One I put in a 10-inch square planter. For the first few weeks I erected a plastic cover around the plant and brought it inside every night. That plant has done so much better than the other two that I planted in the ground. When I picked the peppers from the plant I got about 27 peppers off of it in one picking. The plants in the ground (two of them) are not nearly as large and hardly any peppers to speak of. I’ve kept the container plant well watered, no chemical fertilizer, only compost, blood meal and bone meal, just a tiny bit of fish emulsion occasionally.

      Hope that helps a litttle.

      Oops. I almost forgot the most important thing. Compost, compost, compost.


Leave a Reply

