Do you know what this is?

This plant was in the yard when I got here. (The red colored plant).

04-12-09

The first year we were here I let it grow just to see what it was. It didn’t bloom, it just had leaves. Since then I’ve cut it down before it got big. I don’t even remember what the leaves look like. I’m hoping somebody out there will see it and say, “Oh, yeah. That’s a (insert proper name of plant).”

Anybody?

Happy Gardening!!!

I may have answered my own question.  I was going through pictures from last year and ran across this one…

04-24-08-10

This is a picture of a few peony transplants just as they were comingout of the ground.  They look similar to me. 

And this I saw on Flicker…

peony

Time will tell.

8 Comments

  1. April 12, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Beats me! Good luck, I hope you identify it.

  2. gardengoodies said,

    April 13, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Hey, that’s the wrong answer. You were supposed to say you had one growing in your back yard. :~)

  3. Dan said,

    April 15, 2009 at 10:46 am

    It’s Peonies 🙂

  4. Dan said,

    April 15, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I just loaded the large version and it looks like a tree peony, as it is growing from old growth. I don’t think you are supposed to prune tree peonies but I am not totally sure. Should be lots of info on them online.

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 15, 2009 at 11:56 am

      I sure hope that’s what they are (and that I didn’t do too much damage when I wacked them down the last two years). Why somebody would plant peonies at the base of an evergreen tree I’ll never understand.

      Thanks for helping me out.

  5. suemac said,

    April 17, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    It looks like peonies to me too. My bush is getting nice and big and I am missing it bloom since I had to fly out to Austin.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    April 18, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I sure feel like a nut-butt for not knowing what this was, especially since there’s a regular peony four feet away from it.

  7. May 6, 2009 at 7:49 am

    […] 6, 2009 at 7:18 am (Square Foot Gardening) A little while back I was looking for help identifying a plant.  Well, Dan at Urban Veggie Garden Blog was one of the folks that said it was a peony.  Three […]


Leave a Reply

