Marigolds Moving On Up (and) More Monsanto Misery

For some reason, 40 degrees didn’t feel so cold today, so I took a few of the plants outside to start hardening them off…although the way I had them wrapped up, they were probably warmer outside than they were inside. 

So, the first babies to prepare for leaving the nest were:

  • Broccoli
  • Collards
  • Kale – still pitiful looking.  I’ll probably throw some seeds in the ground
  • Marigolds
  • Petunias

If you’re up for a little light reading  (did you hear the sarcasm?) here’s a link to more on the Monsanto GMO issue.  It seems some of the corn from their GMO seeds that were planted in Africa produced corn with no kernels.

Things really do work better when man lets nature do her job.

Happy Gardening!!!!

Article link thanks to Gloria at Gardening Organically

5 Comments

  1. April 7, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I set my seedlings on the tailgate of the pickup, and backed it slightly out of the garage….then left town for the entire day. Luckily it was overcast, because our temp soared to near 80F, and a fairly good breeze came up. Although the soil seemed a bit dry (especially the blocks), it looks as though the plants held up quite well. Everything got a good watering and put back into the greenhouse for a cool evening in the dark. I really think the back of the pickup will be a great place for hardening off everything. In another week or two, I may just put everything out there and leave it day and night, just driving in and out of the garage!

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 8, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      I read that you’re supposed to do an hour one day one and increase the time outside as the days go on, but that sure is a lot of trouble.

      80 degrees. How I dream of 80 degrees. How cold are your overnight temperatures? I would think (sometimes a dangerous thing to do) that if you have 80 daytime temps that you can’t go anywhere near freezing. But you never know.

      • April 8, 2009 at 7:28 pm

        Yes, I have been setting them out on the front porch for nearly a week now, I think they like the heat radiating from the concrete. I upped them gradually from an hour to nearly six hours, and they get a little sun but mostly filtered shade. I think they were ready for a full day, but today they are back under the lights…it’s warm, but quite windy, so I’m not putting them out. I could carry them out to the back, where it’s sheltered from the wind, but they are really getting heavy now, and I’m afraid I might drop them!

        We’re still in the mid to high 30s at night this week, but expecting to go into the mid to high forties next week. I won’t even chance leaving them over night until I know it will be 45 or higher. I do have them in a cold garage at night now.

        • gardengoodies said,

          April 8, 2009 at 10:30 pm

          I guess it’s just my wanting the cold weather to be over. I’m surprised you’re still getting such low temperatures.

          My tomatoes are still pretty small. I’ve transplanted most of them into the 9-ounce cups from the little paper pots. They really start growing when you pot them up.

          I remember dragging plants in and out last year. That was no fun.

  2. April 8, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    May 1 is our average last frost date, so I usually plant my tomatoes then with a bit of protection…too many this year, so will probably just put my determinates out that early and wait a week or so to plant the indeterminates. I won’t put the peppers out until the 15th. Our problem is that it goes from cold to extremely hot, really fast.


Leave a Reply

