What a difference a day makes…24 little hours.

This is what I woke up to on Sunday morning…03-29-09

I was checking to see how much rain we had. Instead of rain, we had snow. The big bad wolf had huffed and puffed and blew my house down during the night. All the sheeting was laying on the ground between two of the raised beds.

I found this little guy after I got the plastic sheeting back over the frame.

03-29-09-21

I can honestly say I’ve never seen a worm cruising along in the snow. I guess the little crittersfelt like they were vacationing in Arizona on the inside of that raised bed because the soilsurface was actually warm to the touch the last time I checked the temp. Yay!! Looks like the worms have found their way into our yard after all.

I was surprisingly non-bummed out when I looked at all that snow on my recently germinated seeds. I just took the broom, dusted the snow off as best I could without ripping my seedlings out of the ground and put the cover back on. This was around 9:30 in the morning, and by 4:00 in the afternoon, all of the snow had melted on the floor of the raised bed and you could see a little condensation on the walls.

Today, Monday, at about 2:00 the inside temperature is…

03-30-09

…a balmy (almost) 60 degrees. The seedlings still look okay. We’ll see how well they doover the next few days.

And the frozen tundra? Just 24 little hours later it’s almost back to normal.

03-30-09-5

Gardening is an experiment. My experiment is no longer how much of a jump I can get on the season with a “hoop house.” My experiment now isto see how newly germinated frost tolerantant seedlings fairwhen they get snowed on.

Happy Gardening!!!!

7 Comments

  1. March 31, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Good attitude, Cheryl. If something goes wrong, fix it. If you can’t fix it, deal with it. It’s disappointing that the snow came and collapsed your hoop house, but now you get to see if the seedlings survived, and if they didn’t you have the challenge to replace them and still get a great garden. I love challenges! The old saying “If life gives you lemons…..”. I’ve had a few “lemonade” gardens in my lifetime 😉

  2. Kate said,

    March 31, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    WOW! How crazy!! I can’t imagine getting snow this time of year. It looks like everything recovered nicely though!

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    March 31, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    That’s the way the snow we had a while back did…..there today/gone tomorrow. It’s really difficult to keep the plastic from coming off.

    EG

  4. gardengoodies said,

    March 31, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    ANNIE’S GRANNY-I think that the fact I have stuff growing in the house makes it not the most terrible thing in the world to have happened. Now, if I was to lose all the stuff in the house, that would be a different story. And trust me. I’ve had my share of lemons, in and out of the garden.

    KATE-There’s a saying about Chicago weather: If you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes. It’ll change. Very kooky weather we have.

    EG-To be honest, I’m surprised it’s stayed on as long as it has. At first I didn’t secure it at all, just laid a heavy log on the plastic that overlapped. The first time it came off, I only nailed one side down thinking it would be easy to get in there and harvest (sometimes I’m the eternal optimist). It’s raining now. Once that goes away I’ll secure both sides.

  5. May 9, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    […] May 9, 2009 at 9:14 pm (Gardening Experiments, Planting seeds before last frost, Square Foot Gardening, Using hoop house for frost protection) Five weeks is all it took to go from this… […]

  6. June 30, 2009 at 5:05 am

    […] saddened to have to announce that The Peas have passed on.  The Peas started life under trying circumstances, but through it all they persevered.  It is said, “That which does not kill you makes you […]

  7. March 2, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    […] up a little so I can put it into action.  If all else fails, though, I’ll do a repeat of what I did last year with the individual covers on two beds.  Soooo […]


Leave a Reply

