Help!!! I need an intervention!!!

I have a serious case of plant-a-seed-aholism. If I have a seed, I have to plant it–them–many, many of them.

It starts off so innocently. You have this cute little packet of seeds with the beautiful picture on the front.

03-25-09-14

You don’t even eat basil, but, gee, that’s a pretty plant. I’ll learn some dishes to use basil in. Let me plant just a few seeds.

A few seeds sprinkled on some soil becomes quite a few seedlings.

03-19-09-62

So many seedlings, in fact, that you decide to share the wealth. You have this Master Gardener friend who is starting seeds in a greenhouse and you think, gee, wouldn’t it be cool to have my little babies mixing it up with other seedlings in a real greenhouse. So, you decide to give some seedlings to your Master Gardener friend. But between the time you leave home and you get to the greenhouse, you give them away to your classmates because you’ve been given some plants and you want to give back a little (sorry, Gregory).

Of course, plant person that you are, you save a few plants for yourself.

03-25-09-5

They’re on the right-hand side. You also got some cute patio basil.

03-25-09-13

You think these are way cuter than the regular basil, so you start a few of those seeds. They’re in the egg carton on the left. Those “few” seeds grew into 20 plus potential plants. And still, I don’t eat basil.

I do, however, eat tomatoes and planted a few tomato seeds.

03-25-09-4

Just a few seeds planted in a row down one side of the window box. Just a few.I still have just a few more to transplant.

03-25-09-6

And since a few more seeds could be planted with the tomatoes in the window box, I planted just a few pepper seeds. Which now reside here…

03-25-09-15

… so I can make room for more pepper seeds of the heirloom variety (thanks, Annie’s Granny). I’ll have to admit to a severe case of plant-a-seed-aholism here because I only had 12 pepper plants last year, and I still have peppers in the freezer.

Oh, yeah. I can’t forget about the habaneros.

03-25-09-3

Exactly 12 plants of the hottest peppers on earth, which I don’t use. My father-in-law does and I grew these plants from a store-bought pepper which I saved the seeds and planted the seeds. Just a few more seeds.

A few petunia seeds…

03-25-09-2

…seeds that are slightly larger than dust particles.

A few collard, lettuce and broccoli seeds (seriously in need of transplanting)…

03-25-09-7

And, of course, a few marigold seeds…

03-25-09-8

But plant-a-seed-aholism is a benign disease with beneficial side effects.

  • You scratch the gardening itch while it’s still too cold to plant outside
  • You save money…which I can’t say too many times
  • When the weather warms up and you can finally transplant, you get an instant garden

On second thought, no intervention needed. I’m willing to live with my disease.

Happy Gardening!!!

18 Comments

  1. Liisa_RWC said,

    March 25, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    LOL great post! You are not alone. I had to really force myself to plant only want I had room for in the SF beds. Well… I did start eight pumpkin peppers that were not in the plan… I have no idea where they are going and two extra container bush tomatoes (all the seeds germinated) that I don’t have room for. I think they may go into my sisters garden… unless….. well we’ll see.

    Liisa

  2. March 25, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    You are me.

    I had to go buy some boards yesterday to extend the garden. You see, I have planted so many seeds I have no room to put them. I have to make room. Lots of room. I need a farm.

    Granny

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 26, 2009 at 12:17 am

      Granny – I hear you. I’ll be so glad when it warms up enough to start hardening them off.

      Compared to my back yard, you do have a farm.

  3. gardengoodies said,

    March 26, 2009 at 12:06 am

    Liisa – Nice to know I’m in good company.

    I’m learning about some pretty interesting veggie seeds. I looked up pumpkin peppers. Never heard of them before. They’re the cutest things. I’m sure your sister will be glad to get them.

  4. March 26, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Pssst, Cheryl.

    Do you think we should plant some of those cute pumpkin peppers?

    *whimper*

    Granny

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 26, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      They really are too cute. If I could find the seeds in the store you know I’d get them.

  5. engineeredgarden said,

    March 26, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Yep, you’re sick! Ha! You sure do have alot of stuff under lights now, cheryl! I hope my marigolds do as good as yours.

    EG

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 26, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      Sick, but in a good way. 🙂

      I’m sure your marigolds will be fine. I think they’re one of those plants that if you threw the seeds up in the air and they landed near dirt they’d grow.

  6. Liisa said,

    March 26, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Cheryl and Granny,

    Don’t plant them pumpkin peppers yet. If mine grow true to seed… I’ll be more than happy to send you seeds for next year. 🙂

    Liisa

  7. gardengoodies said,

    March 26, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Thanks, Lisa. I know Granny thanks you too.

    • March 26, 2009 at 3:09 pm

      Yes, Liisa…Granny thanks you too. Five varieties are probably just plenty for me this year.

      Granny

  8. suemac said,

    March 30, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I can really understand where you are coming from. We used to have a Frank’s Garden Store near me. I went crazy in January. Had to give some seeds away. Limited myself to just a few seed packets this year.

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 30, 2009 at 11:50 pm

      Isn’t it hard not to go crazy? You end up with enough seeds to plant a farm. I’m sure the folks who got your seeds were glad you went crazy :~)

  9. roundrockgarden said,

    September 16, 2009 at 10:37 am

    You made me laugh! I’m not quite as big of a junkie as you yet, but I do have seedlings and cuttings all over my windowsills! 🙂 it seems the more i get into gardening, the more i find myself saying, “Oh, I should grow THAT, too! Why not give it a try?!”

    It’s alright to develop GOOD addictions, and gardening (or, plant-a-seed-aholism!) is one of the best I can think of!

    • gardengoodies said,

      September 25, 2009 at 7:50 pm

      Hi, Roundrock:

      That was an exciting time. Flash Forward to today (guess what premier I’m watching on television tonight?) not enough sunlight and pesky squirrels have dampened my enthusiasm a lot. But….I found a large raspberry that the little boogers didn’t get, so that made me feel a little better. I hope everything went well with your babies.

  10. MJI said,

    April 28, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    LOL! So true. This year I planted Luffa seeds and we don’t even have a long enough growing season to get those sponges grown and harvested here in MN! (let alone enough space for the vines to grow.)

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 29, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      I sure hope the Luffas work out for you. They’d make great Christmas presents.

      This year I was able to exercise a little self-control and didn’t plant nearly as much as I did last year. I guess I’m “on the wagon.”

  11. May 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    […] I gave one to my mother-in-law.  However, I feel  like I’m getting close to a flare-up of plant-a-seed-aholism.  I’ve already started in the house and planted into the garden lettuce, peas, turnips, […]


Leave a Reply

