Strawberry orphans in need of a new home.

I got the strawberries today. They didn’t short-change me. In fact, I got a few extras. Now I have to figure out where to put them. I’ve got the strawberry pot I found last year, but that only takes care of six plants. I’m leaning toward homemade grow bags made out of black garbage bags. That’s quick and easy. Or I have a tiered raised bed that I haven’t used yet. Or both because there’s so many. Gotta put my thinking cap on because I need to get it done within the next couple days.

The grow bag appeals to me because I like to plant in unusual ways. When I thinned the lettuce I started from seed …

03-23-09_Lettuce started on 3-17-09

I put the thinnings in here…

03-23-09_Lettuce transplanted on 3-17-09

I got about 32 transplants in typing paper paper pots. I tore the paper in half the short way, rolled the paper, left the bottom open, put dirt in the cylinder and stuck the cylinders in the inverted top portion of a two-piece cake cover (another Free Cycle find). Last year I did the same thing and had some nice sized transplants.

Happy Gardening!!!

8 Comments

  1. March 24, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Cheryl…you always get lucky! Not only did I I get overcharged for my strawberry plants, I could have ordered them from a catalog and received twice the plants for less than I paid at my local nursery, I got short changed with only 21 plants instead of the 25 I was supposed to get.

  2. March 24, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    […] gardengoodies put an intriguing blog post on Strawberry orphans in need of a new home. « Cherylâ […]

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    March 24, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Hey! Look at it this way…..Now, you have an excuse to build another garden bed. Heh.

    EG

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 24, 2009 at 9:40 pm

      Great minds are thinking alike again. I started painting the one I built last year but didn’t use. It’s going to be cute.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    March 24, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I’ve got to be honest. Shipping and handling charges usually stop me from ordering stuff. But the buy one get one free and the $25 off $50 won me over.

    Some of the roots feel just a little too soft, but if they don’t make it the extras will balance it out.

    I went to get my mail today. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! for all the heirloom pepper seeds.

  5. March 24, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    You’re welcome! I’m sorry they are so late…like I said, I wanted tiny envelopes with cute little home made labels. Unfortunately, real life got in the way. Next year I’ll do cute. 😉

  6. gardengoodies said,

    March 24, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Don’t worry about it. We don’t plant the warm season stuff until May, so that gives me some time to work with. I’ve got a few things I’m going to send you, but it will take a few days. That real life thing happens around here too.

  7. May 9, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    […] house in a long window type planter.  Some of the lettuce I kept in the long planter and some I transplanted into paper pots , which didn’t work out so well because they never really grew much in the paper pots.  I […]


Leave a Reply

