My attempt at a “hoop house.”

Today was a beautiful and productive day.  I got some work-work done, I attended a very informative gardening meeting, and my son and I constructed our “hoop house.”  I guess more accurately it would be our 4×8 raised bed house.  There was just one other thing I wasn’t able to slip in, but I’ll take care of it ASAP.Raised Bed Cover_03-17-09

I’ve seen so many nice, pretty plans on the internet, but this (hopefully) will serve the purpose.  I had a 10-foot 1-inch pipe that I cut into eight pieces.  I cut the pieces on an angle.  I took the eight pieces and pounded them in the ground inside the bed:  four on each side of the 8-foot side of the raised bed.  Then we bent  a 10-foot 1/2-inch PVC  pipe and stuck each end into the 1-inch pipe, four of them.  I then pounded a length of pipe that reached the top of the arch in the middle of the 4-foot side of the raised bed, threaded a length of pipe through the four arches and used L connectors to connect the three pieces together.  (Hope that’s clear).

After we got the PVC pieces together, we then wrapped the frame with plastic.  Here’s the end result…

Finished Raised Bed Cover_03-17-09

Now, if only my boys were as talented as Granny’s and could make me a cute little greenhouse in the garage.

The weather was unbelieveable.  It got up to 70.  Tomorrow it’s supposed to be 20 degrees cooler, so I’m glad we were able to get it finished.

I learned something new at the meeting I want to pass on, but I’ll save it for tomorrow. 

Happy Gardening!!!!

12 Comments

  1. Liisa_RWC said,

    March 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Cheryl,

    Your hoop house looks great! When do you start planting in it… or have you already started?

    Liisa

  2. gardengoodies said,

    March 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I threw some seeds in the ground Sunday (all early spring stuff). Maybe they’ll germinate, maybe not. It just felt good getting outside.

    Gotta admit, seeing all your plants all over your yard with the different frost protection made me want to get something done in my yard. Even if the seeds don’t germinate, I’ll be able to harden off the stuff that’s inside.

    Isn’t gardening fun!!!

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    March 17, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    That should work fine, Cheryl. I still haven’t got mine finished. There’s just too much to do around here…

    EG

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 18, 2009 at 12:30 pm

      There’s so many other things that I could have been doing (and probably should have been doing), but the weather was too nice to not be outside.

  4. March 18, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Liisa has a way of getting us to get our rear ends in gear, doesn’t she?

    I love your covered wagon! …er, hoop house! My little greenhouse is already full and the plants have overflowed to the laundry room. I need a second shelf and two more light fixtures! Mr. H bought me a 10 cubic foot dump cart yesterday. It can be pulled behind the lawnmower.

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 18, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      Now that you mention it, it does look like a covered wagon. Then again, maybe I saw it on an subconscious level. I was in Big Lots this morning and they had yard furniture with a wild west theme. The chairs had wagon wheels on the side and the table top was madee with a wagon wheel. It would fit in the yard perfectly.

  5. John Walters said,

    March 19, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Your hoop house looks good!
    You or your fellow gardeners may like to consider an alternative plan that has worked well for us. We use 1″ black irrigation poly pipe for the hoops and support them with a length (about 18″) of galvanized rod inside them. We push the rods into the earth to leave about 6″ above the soil and the poly pipe slips over. There is enough rigidity in the pipe to stay upright and not require end to end bracing which makes them nice and easy to erect or move around the garden as required. There is a picture of one on our web site, here is the url: http://www.veggiecare.com/howto.html
    PVC pipe is easily available but unfortunately it is not UV resistant so it will tend to break down after 2 or 3 years.

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 19, 2009 at 7:30 am

      Hi, John

      I saw the black pipe when I was at the store, but I didn’t know the difference so I went with the cheaper one. But if the black lasts longer, it will save money in the long run. I’ve got one more raised bed I think I want to cover, so I could try it with the rod and compare the two.

      And thanks for taking the time to comment.

  6. June 11, 2009 at 7:33 am

    That looks great!

    I need to make some more hoop houses for my beds… I hope to extend my growing season into October… if the weather stays nice… by covering my beds.

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 11, 2009 at 11:39 am

      Thanks, Toni. We had 70 degrees in March and right now almost mid June it’s 55. This weather is making me seriously worry about our global weather situation. But…in my micro-climate under the “hoop house” all is well. The evening temps keep going down into the 50s, and as long as they do, I’ll keep it covered. The plants have only had a few nights without the cover.

      As for you and your millions of growing boxes (I’m soooo jealous), if you can keep those babies going into the cooler season, you’ll have enough food to feed an army.

  7. June 11, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Hi there! Our weather seems to be very similar. I’m here in northern Wyoming… zone 4… I think.

    We have about 3 acres here of really wild country space… it’s NEVER been farmed or anything… it’s just the way God left it! So… we have lots of work to do!

    I ended up putting all my beds out front of the house because that’s where it was most level. Looks like a pretty serious set up when the beds are covered!

    I’m so excited about this SFGing! It’s been sooo much work to set up… and it cost a bundle too… but.. I’ve only pulled 19 weeds so far… which is soooo awesome! And I’m beginning to see the fruits of my labors.

    Well, have a wonderful, sun shiney day! Toni

    • gardengoodies said,

      June 12, 2009 at 8:08 am

      I think we’re Zone 5 or 6. I keep looking it up and forgetting it. These days it really doesn’t matter anyway.

      You’re going to really love it next year when it’s time to plant and all you have to do is throw in some compost and plop down your transplants or scatter your seeds and keep on going (plus no big $$$ to spend).


Leave a Reply

