First Outdoor Planting of 2009

The weather was really nice yesterday, and I took a quick stroll through the yard and decided to pull the last four collard stalks that were still in the ground.  My intention was to throw a sheet of plastic over the bed to warm the soil up a little, but when I pulled the stalks I noticed how workable the ground was.  And since some of the packages for the spring crops say you can plant “as soon as the ground is workable,”  I worked it.

I planted:

  • Carrots_Danvers Half Long
  • Peas_Sugar Snap and Little Marvel
  • Lettuce_French Mesclum Salad Blend
  • Turnips_Seven Tops
  • Onions_Evergreen Long White Bunching

It didn’t take any time at all to get the whole bed planted because the soil was so soft and ready to go.  It was soft enough for me to stick my homemade plant markers made from an old blind a full six inches into the soil without a problem.  Then I threw on a thin layer of my homemade compost.

My organic gardening group advocates a no-till approach.  I keep calling it my group although I hardly post, but they’ve got good information.  The moderator feels if you till, you destroy the soil structure. 

They also advocate cutting plants to the ground and leaving the roots to decay and provide food for the soil organisms.  I’ve got to say I think there’s some validity to that concept.  I left a few carrots in the ground last year…accidentally as I was in denial that winter not only was coming but had came and froze the ground.  When the ground was soft enough, I pulled the carrots and found a lot of worm eggs in the immediate vicinity.  Yes, I now know what worm eggs look like, but that’s for another post.  Here’s a picture of the carrots.  The squirrels must not like carrots because these have been laying here for a couple of weeks without the little buggers messing with them.

03-16-09-3

The next project is to improvise on a cold frame for the bed to help the ground stay as warm as possible.  I remember it snowed on Easter one year, so I’m not that much in denial about possible frosts.

 

Skip to midday today….

03-16-09-5

Squirrels…hate ’em.  They must think I’m playing hide and seek with them.  I hide the seeds and they find them.  All right, little squirrels, the battle line has been drawn.  It’s all out war.  Watch out!

Happy Gardening!!!!

3 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    March 16, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Cheryl, you just couldn’t wait any longer, could you? Ha! I love it! Congrats on your first planting of the year. So, you hate squirrels? Those little stinkers can do alot of damage to pears and apples! I’m gonna blast ’em, if I can catch them getting into mine this year…

    EG

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 16, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      I feel like I scratched a big giant itch. Even if it snows next week I’ll be okay with it. I’ll only be out of a few packets of seeds. (But of course I’m hoping to see lots of green growth).

      I think those &#@*^ squirrels are building a nest in one of my trees. I read about a plank and a bucket method of control. They walk the plank and drown in the bucket. Kind of extreme, but…

      • engineeredgarden said,

        March 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm

        OMG, Cheryl….walk the plank? Ha!!! That’s funny..

        EG


Leave a Reply

